We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don´t expect a Palace”
Review of The Palace Ao Nang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Ao Nang
Ranked #74 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Gavle, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Don´t expect a Palace”
Reviewed 22 January 2011

The best thing about The Palace Ao Nang is the location, which is excellent - close to the beach, shops and boats to the Islands.

The Hotel itself is very basic and It's a bit worn. We had a room with a pool view. The room was not very clean, the beds were unbearably hard and the balcony is small with only stools to sit on. What bothered me the most was the smell from the toilets between the reception and the pool area. Breakfast was ok with a good selection. The Palace is a good example of "you get what you pay for".

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sun010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    34
    42
    29
    33
See reviews for
18
60
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

You really cannot get more central than this, literally 2 mins to the beach & ferries.
Very friendly and helpful staff, due to my bad knee they upgraded me from a third floor front room to a first floor rear/pool view.. Nice touch is they have their own poolside spa center for massages.
Breakfast was good, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. It's by no means luxury but good value for your buck.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed there 2 nights during our South-East-Asia-Trip in February. We used Ao Nang as a base for visiting nearby islands.

We choose this hotel for it`s central location in Ao Nang. It is about 50 m from the beach, where the Longtail- boats leaving for Railey and Tonsai. Kepp in mind that the beach in Ao Nang is not really suitable for swimming, because all the boats leave from there. Ao Nang fits perfectly as a base for exploring the surrounding area an islands. If you want to spend a day on the beach, take a 10 minutes boat ride to Railey, where you will find one of Krabi`s most scenic beach!

Arriving at Ao Nang Palace was very easy. We took a "songthaew" from Krabi bus station, which needs about half an hour and deposed us 20 m from the hotel. Check in was fast and easy, but i didn`t accept the room we where given, because towels, sheets and even the tea cups where dirty, so we where moved to another room, which was at least not dirty but it turns out that the basin was leaky resulting in a constantly wet floor in the bath. Due to the reason that we have booked this hotel only for 2 nights, we decided to spend the rest of our stay in Ao Nang definitely at a other place, so we kept this room.
Another reason why we booked this hotel was it`s pool, but it turns out that the water temperature was about 30° so it was no refreshment at all.
The included breakfast was also poor for the hotels price. It was served in a tent in the garden!!! What you get is Toast, Yam, Eggs, something which should be coffee, the cheapest black tea available and if you lucky there are a few fruits left.

My advice: Skip this hotel! We payed 1800 bht per night, but finding another place on site with the same facilities except the pool for 500-1000 bht per night was no problem at all, even we where there in high season.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -Man0nTheMove-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Perfect location. Simply the best staff. Nice breakfast. Big rooms. Nice garden and pool.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
Thank Chris_Apelqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I planned a three night stay but only stayed one night. The water stopped working at 5pm, and never came back on. Also the air con broke so had to move into a different room at midnight. They started fixing my air con and then just gave up and left all their tools in my room and on the balcony. Couldnt use the toilet, shower or basin bec of lack of water. Then they wanted to charge me for all three nights when I said it wasnt good enough. Had to phone my travel agent to get a refund of the two nights that I hadnt stayed. If the water was running and air con worked then the rooms would still have been overpriced. Looks much nicer in the photos! I chose to avoid this one like the plague!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MR_AND_MISSUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 km away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#73 of 108 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
0.1 km away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#56 of 108 in Ao Nang
272 reviews
0.0 km away
Rooms Republic
Rooms Republic
#66 of 108 in Ao Nang
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#46 of 108 in Ao Nang
290 reviews
0.2 km away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#41 of 108 in Ao Nang
396 reviews
0.2 km away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#22 of 108 in Ao Nang
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Ao Nang? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Ao Nang

Property: The Palace Ao Nang
Address: 208 M.2 Ao-Nang | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,026 - ₹ 4,487
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palace Ao Nang 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Palace Ao Nang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
The Palace Ao Nang Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing