We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great last minute replacement”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buri Tara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buri Tara Resort
Ranked #48 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great last minute replacement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed here as other pre-booked accomm in Ao Nang was unacceptable. Very pleased upon last minute enquiry (5pm) . Were shown the rooms before we decided to stay, very clean, good size and well appointed. Pool was great and refreshing and the on site massage was reasonably priced and quality. Breakfast was just on average, but good enough, except the last morning when some of the bread was a little moldy, but it is the tropics. Free upgrade to deluxe rooms, to accommodate our desire for inter-connecting rooms with our kids and still only $80AUD/night! Staff were very helpful, polite and pleasant and nice decor.

Room Tip: higher floors have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesnDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    170
    82
    20
    22
See reviews for
37
155
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I traveled with my sisters and we stayed at Buri Tara. Check in was a breeze. The ladies at the reception were friendly, helpful and very informative. Our room was cleaned everyday. We even requested for extra towels, and an adaptor at no extra costs. They even helped us arrange for transport as we didn't want to really trust any cab or tuktuks.

I did not know what to expect as the hotel is not 5 star or anything. But the room had everything we needed. Even a TV, fridge, complimentary tea, coffee and water, & safe deposit box. The bathroom was very clean too. there was the choice of a shower and a bathtub too.

Wifi is not available in the bedrooms and only in the lobby. This was the only downside.

The swimming pool was not huge, but good enough to do Laps and relax. Can't comment on the hotel food as we didn't dine there. The resort is situated a good 10 mins walk to the centre of Ao Nang where all the good food and shops are located.

The Beach is walking distance and beautiful. It is small and Not as suitable for tanning nf swimming as compared to the other beaches on the islands.

Overall, my sisters and I enjoyed our stay at Buri Tara. And we definitely would come back if we were to go to Krabi again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank najat264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel was as pretty basic as you could get. We booked the superior room off of hotels.com for a price of $37 a night. The staff was friendly & they were helpful when we had questions. We arrived at the hotel 3hrs prior to check-in time. They allowed us to check in early. They greeted us with a glass of OJ. 2 employees walked us to our room. Along the way they pointed out where the amenities were. A one point we needed a Thai translator to help us speak to our travel agent. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful & helped translate our concerns about our travel arrangements.

Positives:
-Free breakfast (edible, but not great)
-Short walk to town
-Near Aong Beach
-Friendly/helpful staff
-1 American cable station that showed movies (our travel was during monsoon season, so it was nice to have movies on to watch when we didn’t want to venture out in the rain)
-It's near a small restaurant called “The Kenneth”. The staff was friendly & the food was delicious and inexpensive.

Negatives:
-Bathroom had a weird smell & there was a little mold in there
-Bathroom shower curtain was stained
-In order to use free WIFI you have to sit in the lobby and connect there
-The WIFI connection kept going in and out
-There were stains on bed sheets
-We visited during monsoon season so; the power kept going in and out. You’d think they have generator when power goes out

All in all, our stay here was ok. =/

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for a few nights and were very happy with the choice. Unfortunately, it was raining quite a lot while we stayed there, so we had to spend more time than we would have liked inside the hotel. Fortunately, we chose this place though since it was really clean and really nice in our room. The bed was very comfortable as well. We chatted a lot with the ladies down at the reception, and they were incredibly friendly. They gave us great recommendations about where to eat for cheap (Ao Nang can be a little pricier than some of the smaller towns).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

From the outside the Buri Tara looks great. From the inside it didn't live up to our expectations. We were offered an upgrade on arrival by the reception staff, a room overlooking the pool. However it also overlooked the road and was noisy, so we asked to see another room. The lady wasn't particularly helpful but did eventually turn up with another key and showed us the 'only room left'. It faced another building, was small and dark and so we elected to stay in the original room. The bed and foam-filled pillows were very hard and the air conditioning noisy, with one temperature, cold, and only one speed. The first night was very hot and uncomfortable without the air-con, so it had to be switched on. The bedroom and bathroom were small but adequate.

I've stayed in Ao Nang, Krabi on many ocassions and really wanted to stay at my usual hotel but found it was being re-bulit, so the Buri Tara was a last minute booking. I wasn't impressed I must admit. The breakfast was average with little choice unless you liked eggs and toast. On the way back up to the room, the four girls on reception were lounging about, with one asleep, head on desk. They paid little attention to arriving guests and were surly and uncommunicative. When we returned after a day out, they tossed the key across the desk without a word. Totally unprofessional and discourteous. During our four night stay we never saw a manager. However, after a staff shift change on day three, the four new girls were far more friendly and helpful, so I guess it would be unfair to describe them as all the same.

Ao Nang itself is changing rapidly, becoming much more of an up market resort. It was originally a quietish family styled place with little shops and restaurants, but many of these had disappeared in November 2011 including my favourite fish restaurant. We did find another lovely place to eat, the Aning Restaurant, which served brilliant Thai food, but places to eat traditional food weren't plentiful and the McDonalds-type places seemed to be increasing in number, giving the area an air of a cheap seaside resort. I suppose it's progress but thought maybe that if the redesign of this relatively small town wasn't done with proper planning and a thought for the environment, it could be ruined very easily.

There's plenty to see when staying in Ao Nang and as all the boats leave from the main beach, it's a really good location to see all the islands from. Noppharat Thara beach is a 30 minute walk to the west and is a lot quieter with extensive beaches and lots of room. A new market along the road was interesting and sold all the usual craft wears plus traditional Thai snacks such as cickets and grubs, which are just like eating crisps. To the east there is Krabi Town with all it has to offer including a thriving fish market and a tropical mangrove boardwalk. At night there is an area of scruffy bars close to the Buri Thara but across a bridge over the river, and they sell cold beer and you can get a game of pool if that's what you want. However, it was very quiet when we visited with no other customers.

I wouldn't stay here again. I looked around and found better, cleaner hotels for the same price or a little more, with professional, friendly reception staff who actually smiled.

Room Tip: I personally didn't see a good room, so I can't comment. The pool view rooms on the upper fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.0 km away
Ananta Burin Resort
Ananta Burin Resort
#44 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.2 km away
Aonang Buri Resort
Aonang Buri Resort
#61 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 km away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#46 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#15 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.1 km away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 km away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#28 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buri Tara Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buri Tara Resort

Property: Buri Tara Resort
Address: 159/1 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,927 - ₹ 6,039
Hotel Class:3 star — Buri Tara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buri Tara Resort is conveniently located on the beautiful Ao Nang Beach, just only 150 meters away from Ao Nang centre and the stunning Nopparattara Beach and was in a walking distance from just about everything you needed. All rooms are modern decorated and furnished with full equipped provide a comfortable and luxurious base for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buri Tara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buri Tara Hotel Ao Nang
Buri Tara Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing