We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buri Tara Resort
Nearby Hotels
Krabi Tipa Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 72
US$ 40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
US$ 58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peace Laguna Resort and Spa(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$ 72
US$ 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Krabi Resort(Ao Nang)
US$ 89
US$ 76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pakasai Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$ 65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 94
US$ 92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 239
US$ 178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Phra Nang Inn(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$ 58
US$ 49
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
74
184
86
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
184
86
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsao nang beachfree wifinice hotelfamily martpineapple juicewalking distancesized poolkrabi airportother hotelsfood stallsthe main roadstayed in this hotel for nightsdeluxe roomroom numberpool accesspool view roomhotel is located
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I traveled with my sisters and we stayed at Buri Tara. Check in was a breeze. The ladies at the reception were friendly, helpful and very informative. Our room was cleaned everyday. We even requested for extra towels, and an adaptor at no extra costs. They even helped us arrange for transport as we didn't want to really trust any cab or tuktuks.

I did not know what to expect as the hotel is not 5 star or anything. But the room had everything we needed. Even a TV, fridge, complimentary tea, coffee and water, & safe deposit box. The bathroom was very clean too. there was the choice of a shower and a bathtub too.

Wifi is not available in the bedrooms and only in the lobby. This was the only downside.

The swimming pool was not huge, but good enough to do Laps and relax. Can't comment on the hotel food as we didn't dine there. The resort is situated a good 10 mins walk to the centre of Ao Nang where all the good food and shops are located.

The Beach is walking distance and beautiful. It is small and Not as suitable for tanning nf swimming as compared to the other beaches on the islands.

Overall, my sisters and I enjoyed our stay at Buri Tara. And we definitely would come back if we were to go to Krabi again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank najat264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel was as pretty basic as you could get. We booked the superior room off of hotels.com for a price of $37 a night. The staff was friendly & they were helpful when we had questions. We arrived at the hotel 3hrs prior to check-in time. They allowed us to check in early. They greeted us with a glass of OJ. 2 employees walked us to our room. Along the way they pointed out where the amenities were. A one point we needed a Thai translator to help us speak to our travel agent. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful & helped translate our concerns about our travel arrangements.

Positives:
-Free breakfast (edible, but not great)
-Short walk to town
-Near Aong Beach
-Friendly/helpful staff
-1 American cable station that showed movies (our travel was during monsoon season, so it was nice to have movies on to watch when we didn’t want to venture out in the rain)
-It's near a small restaurant called “The Kenneth”. The staff was friendly & the food was delicious and inexpensive.

Negatives:
-Bathroom had a weird smell & there was a little mold in there
-Bathroom shower curtain was stained
-In order to use free WIFI you have to sit in the lobby and connect there
-The WIFI connection kept going in and out
-There were stains on bed sheets
-We visited during monsoon season so; the power kept going in and out. You’d think they have generator when power goes out

All in all, our stay here was ok. =/

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for a few nights and were very happy with the choice. Unfortunately, it was raining quite a lot while we stayed there, so we had to spend more time than we would have liked inside the hotel. Fortunately, we chose this place though since it was really clean and really nice in our room. The bed was very comfortable as well. We chatted a lot with the ladies down at the reception, and they were incredibly friendly. They gave us great recommendations about where to eat for cheap (Ao Nang can be a little pricier than some of the smaller towns).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

From the outside the Buri Tara looks great. From the inside it didn't live up to our expectations. We were offered an upgrade on arrival by the reception staff, a room overlooking the pool. However it also overlooked the road and was noisy, so we asked to see another room. The lady wasn't particularly helpful but did eventually turn up with another key and showed us the 'only room left'. It faced another building, was small and dark and so we elected to stay in the original room. The bed and foam-filled pillows were very hard and the air conditioning noisy, with one temperature, cold, and only one speed. The first night was very hot and uncomfortable without the air-con, so it had to be switched on. The bedroom and bathroom were small but adequate.

I've stayed in Ao Nang, Krabi on many ocassions and really wanted to stay at my usual hotel but found it was being re-bulit, so the Buri Tara was a last minute booking. I wasn't impressed I must admit. The breakfast was average with little choice unless you liked eggs and toast. On the way back up to the room, the four girls on reception were lounging about, with one asleep, head on desk. They paid little attention to arriving guests and were surly and uncommunicative. When we returned after a day out, they tossed the key across the desk without a word. Totally unprofessional and discourteous. During our four night stay we never saw a manager. However, after a staff shift change on day three, the four new girls were far more friendly and helpful, so I guess it would be unfair to describe them as all the same.

Ao Nang itself is changing rapidly, becoming much more of an up market resort. It was originally a quietish family styled place with little shops and restaurants, but many of these had disappeared in November 2011 including my favourite fish restaurant. We did find another lovely place to eat, the Aning Restaurant, which served brilliant Thai food, but places to eat traditional food weren't plentiful and the McDonalds-type places seemed to be increasing in number, giving the area an air of a cheap seaside resort. I suppose it's progress but thought maybe that if the redesign of this relatively small town wasn't done with proper planning and a thought for the environment, it could be ruined very easily.

There's plenty to see when staying in Ao Nang and as all the boats leave from the main beach, it's a really good location to see all the islands from. Noppharat Thara beach is a 30 minute walk to the west and is a lot quieter with extensive beaches and lots of room. A new market along the road was interesting and sold all the usual craft wears plus traditional Thai snacks such as cickets and grubs, which are just like eating crisps. To the east there is Krabi Town with all it has to offer including a thriving fish market and a tropical mangrove boardwalk. At night there is an area of scruffy bars close to the Buri Thara but across a bridge over the river, and they sell cold beer and you can get a game of pool if that's what you want. However, it was very quiet when we visited with no other customers.

I wouldn't stay here again. I looked around and found better, cleaner hotels for the same price or a little more, with professional, friendly reception staff who actually smiled.

Room Tip: I personally didn't see a good room, so I can't comment. The pool view rooms on the upper floors are probably best but the lower rooms at the rear of the hotel looked dark and claustrophobic.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

It was my second visit to Krabi and choosing Buri Tara as our resort was one goof choice. The resort is situated near the beach and walking distance to the restaurants and shopping areas.

Upon arrival we were given drinks right away and our room was upgraded to pool view without any cost. The staff are very friendly and very accommodating. I made some requests and they attended to it right away.

The resort also provides tours which are affordable and we got some discounts too. Credit are are acceptable too for the tours but with additional 3 %.

The breakfast was okay and staff were very nice too however staying for 5 days and eating the same food for breakfast was kinda boring. I just hope they change it from time to time. We tried their restaurant for dinner and food were served fast and delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soblessed0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews