We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“NO PRESSURE, NO PROBLEM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“NO PRESSURE, NO PROBLEM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed 5 nights in Feb 2012. Stunning location. You don't have settings like this in many places in the world. It was absolutely breathtaking. I thought it was just as nice if not better as our excursion to the Phi Phi islands. The "Beach" was loaded with 5,000 Japanese people!!

Only Europeans were there at that time, but all the UK people we met were great! Virtually no American or Thais.
We signed up for the club when we got there, which turned out to be a great deal and good way to meet people and socialize.

I thought that the food was great. The liquid nitrogen coconut ice cream was to die for. Considering the only land access is the "monkey trail", the quality was hard to believe.

Yes, it is expensive there, but if you are concerned about the money you should not be staying there.
Yes, the service can be a little slow at times. Reminds me of Jamaica- No pressure - No problem. You are in paradise. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the surroundings. If you want your water glass filled every 30 seconds, go to New York or Chicago.
Yes, you have to schedule boat trips back to the mainland. But why would one want go to see cheap T-shirt shops when you can enjoy nature at finest.

It is not a place for people with disabilities. It is also not for people demanding of Bangkok 5 star hotel service, rooms, or food such as you get at the Mandarin Oriental.
It is for someone who wants to relax in tropical oasis and forget about the rest of the world.

NO WORRIES, MON

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pqwcxzop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,622
    914
    367
    177
    131
See reviews for
730
1,883
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

After traveling around thailand and Vietnam for almost 2 weeks we stayed at the grand centara getting in fairly late we were unfamiliar with the layout of the resort and went for dinner and in our view were charged the equivalent of $60 australian dollars for 2 soups 1 pad Thai a singha beer and a Mai tai which on the mainland would have cost $15
. The first night I felt isolated and trapped and thought what have I got myself into but the next morning we worked out how to get around the area using the speed boat or the monkey trail to go to Ao Nang. After that night everything was fell into place and we had a great time at the resort. The resort is beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful and you can book tours at the desk. We stayed in an ocean view room and it was large and clean with a large balcony we sunbaked on which also had magnificent views. Breakfast was similar to other resorts in thailand but in all the resort is beautiful . A word of warning though when you go to bed keep your doors locked and your personal belongings inside as in the morning the monkeys may be unwelcome visitors in your room and if you can't stand frogs don't go as they are very loud at night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed here for a week in January and no question that this is a beautiful place but frankly we were a little disappointed with the whole experience. The property was generally cleanish but there were several issues regarding resort maintenance. In particular the wooden walkway from the 2nd to 3rd tier roads had hand rail ropes missing or hanging off. There were broken tiles that were chipped and missing that could trip you and also issues with surface or spring water running out onto walkways making them slippery. There was the most vile sewage smell coming from the toilets at the back of the beach bar that welcomed everyone coming into the reception area. These are H&S issues that must be addressed but were not in the whole time we were there. The standard of restaurant food was generally good but overpriced, I guess because they have a captive market. If you don't eat in, you have to take a boat journey to Ao Nang. We went to the Chinese NY beach buffet to welcome in the year of the Dragon, which was frankly, very expensive and guess what, not a dragon to be seen!.

Certain members of staff were a delight but others couldn't be bothered. In particular, if you wanted something that they did not have at the beach bar they would not offer to fetch it from elsewhere on site which is not what you would expect from truly 5 star service. We opted for a deluxe room which unfortunately was very tired with chipped furniture but OK. We also had the clubroom package for snacks, drinks and nibbles during the day and I have to say that the offering was very poor in terms of choice. The management should go to their new sister hotel in Phuket to get some idea of what Centara customers expect.

Overall we enjoyed our stay as the hotel is in a glorious location and the weather was superb just a shame that some issues let it down.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe rooms, high up into the hillside but beware of monkeys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnnieholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had an amazing time over Xmas staying here. The staff was extemely helpful and very hospitable allowing us to have complete privacy and relaxation.
This is a very beautiful location allowing you to visit the most picturess places within Thailand with ease.
The staff at this hotel during our stay did everything the could to make our honeymoon the best. We totally recommend here!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg0304fitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

In summary:
Hotel looks tired
Rooms are deteriorating
Service is at best average
Hotel food is poor
Beach water is dirty due to numerous taxi boats.
What more can I say. Very disappointing and without doubt far better options available in the south of Thailand.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JARS-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
1.1 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
2.3 km away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
11.8 km away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
2.2 km away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,299 - ₹ 21,076
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Expedia so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing