We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place for joy in Ao-Nang”

Crazy Gringos Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 270 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Mexican, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The most authentic Tex-Mex food in Ao Nang! Extensive menu with live music.
krabi
2 reviews
“The place for joy in Ao-Nang”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

If you find some where to dinner International and Thai food with best service mind and nice music here is the place you look for in Ao-Nang

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    123
    62
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to hang out”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Fantastic place to hang out with great live music. Extremely good value now with half pric cocktails.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bloody fabulous all round”
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

Where to start. Looking for something to eat and was recommended by a fellow traveller who had just dined.
Jumped in the tuk tuk and off we went. Easy to find, two ways of getting in from different parts of the street.
Well lit, lots of fans (tis really humid this time of year). Greeted by a happy bubbly staff member who seated us promptly. Drinks menu on the table and different drinks being explained. Helpful, smiling and super friendly.
We selected the Thai sangrias and nachos to start.
Drinks on our table quick, smart and nachos hmm maybe ten minutes if that. Great drinks to wash down our stunning nachos. Really good and recommend these to all. Good size/serve for two hungry Australians.
Next we had the ribs (to die for) and the fajitas. Again good serve size with fries (my ribs) and the fajitas were fabulous as well. One sangria rolled into another. We chatted with staff, Thai and European.
The food was great, the staff all friendly, great service and smiling lots. Smiling staff indicates a happy work environment.
To the people who have submitted 'the food was cold', what planet are you from and what utter garbage, this is a licensed premises if you have nothing nice to say don't bother commenting. Or were you moaning so much your food went cold after your ten minute delay to eat it?? And the other comment, cheese slices, please, the cheese is grated, anyone can see that. You should have your eyes checked!! This place employs chefs, trained, qualified chefs!
We own a fine dining restaurant (my partner, executive/owner 20 years experience) and the food is up to par with other Mexican restaurants we have eaten in internationally. Chefs are the greatest critics, and my partner found the food, flavours and presentation great. The food was so good we ate her three nights in a row, tonight being the third.
To all the staff at Crazy Gringos, we thankyou for your warm hospitality, the great food and drinks. We will definately be back visiting your establishment in six months time when we roll back into Krabi.
A fabulous night with lots of fun.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carli Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Crazy gringos”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Fresh food, variety, clean toilets, tables and cutlery. Extensive drinks menu. Australian manager was very approachable. Had to wait over an hour for our entre due to them being so busy, but it was very nice food. Not cheap by Thai standards, but you are guaranteed to be full and not get food poisoning, so probably worth it in my eyes!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank allieandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Come for the drinks and stay .... well, with the drinks”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We went to CG's at least 5 or 6 times during a recent 3 week stay in Krabi. As advertised there were wonderful icy cold draft beer at great prices as well as a selection of mixed drinks, though really not enough alchohol to easily distinguish from a purely fruit concoction (in the case of the signature margarita). We also ate once there but, though the food was not bad, it was certainly not memorable, at least the burger and burrito plates we tried. But this is a general problem with Ao Nang, where a good meal is hard to find. Despite the rather non descript setting and the constant blaring of Aussie rugby, the very friendly and helpful wait staff and live music from 8 pm, made CG's a great place to start the evening.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Genius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crazy Gringos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Gringos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing