We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It Suited Us”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Alice

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
front view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
Pool
front view
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Krabi Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
AngelaQue...
Queensland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It Suited Us”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Being an older couple who due to work commitments rarely see one another, we chose the villa for space, privacy and our own pool. Compared to the hotel prices in the area, it was the right decision.

Simon was extremely helpful and patient. Our flight was delayed 3 times from Bangkok not arriving at the villa until midnight. Simon therefore showed us around the next day in more detail and took us grocery shopping to stock the cupboards....this was a huge help to know the 'lay' of the land.

Simon arranged vehicle pickup and drop off with the same young fellow (Karim), who was fantastic and we used the phone Simon left with us to call him. Note: A little expensive when only 2 of you at AUD $20 return trip Into to Ao Nang.

We thoroughly enjoyed a day out with Krabi Castaway Tours.this was a definite highlight.during our stay in Ao Nang. More expensive than the others but well worth it!

The villa is showing a little bit of wear in places, but if you look past that and you are a group or family this villa would well suit your needs. Excellent air conditioning in the main bedroom.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azhar_Yeo
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable yet amazing place!”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

You can't believe what you'll get for this price! The villa is huge, bedrooms & toilets are clean and spacious and the view is amazing! The entertainment system is amazing. Huge sony bravia with a media station that is filled with movies and tv series. Perfect for those days that you just want to relax doing nothing. You can't hear any noises from any of the neighbours or traffic around except for those noise generated from you. This means you can either party till dawn or enjoy the absolute calmness there.

We rent bikes from a shop that simon knows (250thb/day) and it was a good idea since we will venture out to town looking for food and shopping but a bit of warning. Those who have no experience in riding, it can be a scary experience. Tailgates, illegal u-turns from others are a norm. If you're not confident, you're better off with a tuk tuk service but I still would recommend riding a bike to explore.

However we did hit a little snag. Not sure if this is the case, but I believe that since the villa is not connected to a water main, they have their own water tank and we found that the water tank depletes every 2 days or so, but mind you my party have a total of 10 pax including me so thats ALOT of water usage for bathing,cooking & drinking, not to mention the number of times we bathe after a fun swimming session in the pool.

Also the internet in the villa was having some connectivity issue but yet again everywhere in ao nang having connectivity issues!

To sum this all up, this villa is GREAT, PERFECT, AWESOME for those who seeks calamity, tranquil, be-one-with-nature kind of things & a group of 10 young guys who just want to have fun!

Thanks simon! Will definitely recommend this place to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedrooms and toilets are spacious and clean! Plus the villa is huge!
Liked least: The internet connectivity issues and the empty water tank :(
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AU_KatyKe...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A unique rental in an incredible, private location.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We chose Villa Alice as we wanted privacy away from the crowded villas & hotels - and it definitely delivered on that front! Firstly, the photos don't do it justice. The house is hidden away and surrounded mostly by forest, with a spectacular mountain view. Lush & private! Was a welcome change of pace away from the touristy Ao Nang centre.

We found the house had everything we needed in terms of amenities, and was even serviced every second day which we weren't expecting. Private pool was a real luxury too - well maintained. The master bedroom is a step above the other rooms, with a half-open ensuite with a huge open shower, and giant outdoor bath.

Location - it is away from the main Ao Nang strip, which suited us. We'd recommend hiring a scooter as it's a short and enjoyable ride, and you won't come in to contact with any major roads. This just makes you more flexible to holiday with no schedule (particularly good if you happen to be there in rainy season, as you can hit the beach as soon as the sun comes out). Simon was a great help, and dropped us to the best scooter rental that doesn't take your passport, just a scan. If you're comfortable on a scooter definitely do this - it's so cheap, and so fun!

Only inconvenience we had was the lock-up process leaving the house each day, as there are so many doors - but this also makes for great air-flow so can't really complain. Other than that the only regret is not staying longer!

Eat at Krua Thara Restaurant.
Day trip to Railay & Phra Nang Beach.
Hike to the look out & secluded lagoon from Railay if you're feeling brave.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobohonho...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb villa in a fab spot”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Me and the family just came back from a superb holiday in Krabi. We are very happy to have found this pool villa, it effectively cost us less than half if we had stayed in a hotel and here we had our own pool, a tropical garden with full privacy and views over the limestone peaks this region is so famous for. The villa is in a residential part of Ao Nang ( the beachcommunity of Krabi ), you ring up the villa's taxi guy to get you to the beach & town center or other destinations. A phone was provided during our stay, and the taxi guy was very attentive & quick. I recommend choosing the option to visit a local market with your own Thai cook, choosing the ingredients with her, and cooking a true big Thai meal at the villa at least once, it was great fun and so tasty. All about herbs and spices ! The villa was spotless throughout our stay, and very comfortable. The most surprising thing was the price, which is absurdly low for what you get. It's like, when we arrived, we spent the first coupla days waiting for the catch, but there wasn't one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The help from friendly Simon and his team
Liked least: was a little out the way but that was also so clearly its charm anyway
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrymark...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice location”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in February 2013

I like to give you some feelings about villa Alice. The villa is located about one mile from the busy Ao Nang. The villa distinquishes itself by its perfect beauty, not only the house but also the flowery garden with its blue coloured pool. The special beach of Nopparathana, un usual relaxing with its shadowy trees is in walking or cycling distance (I know nobody walks in Thailand, you will have a motorbike, but sorry I am dutch and dont't ride a motorbike, but cycle). Romance is another feeling I have about this villa: clean aircon bedrooms; you get rid of your jetleg in one night. Other nice memories: Endless lingering around the pool making yourself a delicious thai dinner in the kitchen with its good cooking facilities (of course take-away dinners are easier and very cheap) Other feelings I remember is the perfect stillness, no noise at all, which feels very good after a busy day climbing, snorkeling, or sight seeing. The owner Simon can recommend you all the adventures in this area. But first of all the villa is the perfect way to get rid of the stress and the busy life you will probably have and really enjoy your stay in Thailand. Have a good time, I miss this villa, and will be glad to come back next year. I stayed in the villa the week before Christmas 2013 with 8 people, plenty of space!!! Have fun, bye Thailand, thanks Simon, till next year. Truus, back in the cold city of amsterdam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing