We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant”
Review of Krua Thara

Krua Thara
Ranked #31 of 274 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was one of the nicer restaurants we went to. The seafood was fresh. The thai food was authentic. The atmosphere is nothing special. The bathrooms are nice by Thai standards. For two people, Six big prawns, fried rice, soup, snails, squid plate, rice, one glass of wine and water was a little over 1000 baht or $32.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrJoeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    202
    61
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“One of the best seafood dinners in Thailand.”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Reviews below and other websites said this place is packed with locals, false! Or maybe I just went on a non-local night?

Tuk tuk drivers should know where it's at. If not, it's located right at the entrance to Nopparat Thara park. 40B/person tuk tuk ride from Ao Nang beach area.

Service was impeccable. Very friendly, attentative and helpful with selecting dishes. Every dish was amazing! We tried the steamed white snapper in lemon and chili sauce (asked for it to be cooked a medium spicy but came out spicier - still good!), fried mantis shrimp with garlic and pepper (yum! expensive though. each one is about 2.5 grams at 200B per gram), grilled tiger prawns in garlic and pepper (good but not as good as the shrimp. A little too much garlic) and venus clams in chili paste (so good! the sauce goes great with steamed rice). Add a water, steam rice and 2 beers, total tab was about 2,000B or ~$60USD. Yes, it's pricey compared street food and other crappy "international" cuisine restaurants in the area but well worth it. They also have great live music!

TIP: It's hard getting a tuk tuk leaving this place so just ask the servers to call one for you. Awesome group of ladies.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Seafood, Casual Thai restaurant, Yum!”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Like a lot of the reviews I perused on TA, we also returned for a second trip to this restaurant, located on the next beach over from Aonang Beach (name pending) where there are mainly just Thai people hanging out. The restaurant was about 50/50 tourist and locals. It is pretty large and their selection of fresh seafood is excellent! The picture menu at the front door is a help to non-Thai speakers too. My friend and I proceeded to pick out fresh fish from the bins by the entrance each night. Large tanks contain shellfish too. The fish is weighed so the dish can be priced. You can pick as much or little as you want.
Both nights our selections were excellent! And the meals ran around 1,000THB ($33US) for the two of us. Perhaps a bit steep for locals, but inexpensive for travelers. The place is more local Thai decor - nothing special and open air, with no A/C and simple tables. Service good. The dishes were prepared exquisitely and we enjoyed great fresh seafood as it should be. Some dishes can be very spicy (as is usual in Thailand) so be sure to specify if you cannot eat spicy ("Mai Ped"). Our meals left us stuffed and feeling great. We were also grateful to our hotel for recommending this place since we wanted good food without a fancy and pricey decor. This place fit the bill!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SalsabyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, good service, good food”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We visited this restaurant two times when we celebrated X-mas in Ao Nang. Very Nice restaurant with superb location. Good service (All five of us got the dinner at the same time; which we found out was a rare expeience) and nice tasting food.
Both Sea Food and the other dishes we tried was nice and tasty!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbeitnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby in Ashfield
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Lovely restaurant overlooking the beach. Very comprehensive Thai and Italian menu and we ate there 3 times during our holiday. Often in a 'seafood' restaurant, the quality of other food is not so good but not here, we had 3 curries and they were excellent. Service was also very good and prices very reasonable.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Krua Thara also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Krua Thara? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing