We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,167 results
Traveller rating
636
381
99
38
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
381
99
38
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every hour hourly shuttle poolside villa tuk tuk shuttle service hill side rooms are huge limestone cliffs swimming pool main town relaxing stay quiet location the hotel offers baht per person sun loungers nice pool island tour
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,167 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Room: The resort has small cottages. Our room are absolutely huge, absolutely clean and very comfortable ! For such a huge room the air con was very effective. The bathroom was very modern and was huge as well. Our check in experience was very smooth. They gave us an early check in which we were very thankful for. Welcome drinks are offered during check in.

Location: It is a bit far from the beach, but they have a free hourly shuttle service from the hotel to the middle of the market. The beach is a 5-10 minutes walk from there. The last shuttle from town leaves at 9:20pm for the hotel. The road to the hotel seemed a bit lonely at night, so we made sure that we did not miss the last shuttle. If you need to use the shuttle, before the assigned time you will be charged 100 baht per room

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shruti_Nautiyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

I stayed here with my husband and our three friends, in three separate rooms. I was pleased that they put us next to one another but that was probably the extent of my happiness with this resort. I found this was a case where the photos make it look luxurious and new, but in-person it was a bit sad and in need of updating and better training for employees. The wooden deck shown in photos is actually peeling and old looking. There is no AC in the lobby and it's very dimly lit, so much so that the employees held a flashlight as we filled in our check-in paperwork. Not a huge deal, but felt odd. Wifi in this hotel is basically non-existent. The resort is a short shuttle away from town, however the shuttle only runs every hour, and only picks up from town every TWO hours...this is strange. If the pickup spot is the same as the drop-off, why can't you bring people back on each trip? An hour is also a long time to wait, even though the resort seemed at low capacity and there were employees standing nearby while we waited in the lobby. With such a short drive it seems 30 minute intervals or an as-needed shuttle would make more sense. Our room was relatively nice (very large and clean) but there were mosquitos inside and no mosquito net for the bed. The breakfast was the worst part. The food did not look fresh, and the cold case had condensation on the inside that did not look healthy...I felt this resort was WAY overpriced for what you receive. We have stayed at more remote hotels that had better wifi and food options.

With better employee training, shuttle logistics, and a revamp of the dining and pool area, this hotel could be very nice. It has an amazing view of the cliffs and a nice property.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Thailand, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear our beloved guest,

Thank you for your review.

For some other services that did not meet your expectation, we felt bad we could not give what you were looking for. Please, however, give us this space to explain or give you our side of working.

Our hotel is not brand new. We have opened since 2009. The latest renovation was in 2014. However, we are going to plan to renovate some areas in this coming low season 2018. However, please to be noted for one thing that we are temporary southern style and most part are real woods. Thus the woods will not forever leave the same pattern as the very first date we built the Villa. With your information, we will try our best to make most of the Villa back to the same way of our first date. Thank you again for your information.

For staff training, we schedule training courses for all of our staff and trainees in this year in order to improve and serve guest in properly way and professional manners.

For AC at Lobby, sorry for not having AC. Since it is resort style in jungle and also our ceiling to too high. So, AC is definitely not available. If you are very hot, please inform our receptionist They will assist you by bring a fan for you while you are at the lobby.

For lights at lobby, we will bring this issue to management and make it better lighting for our beloved guests.

For picking up the guests back to resort, the reason is not every hour because we may not go out every hour. It depends on guests who are waiting for our shuttle bus in each hour. If we have our guests waiting for every hour, we will go out to drop guests off at McDonald. You may get on our bus back to resort but it cannot be promised. Why? if we have no guests, we won't go out.This is the way we can save our energy and world.
For 5 times per day to pick guest up back, we promised to be there according to our pick up time back to resort. No need to reserve a seat in advance.

For wifi issue, our staff tried his best to solve this problem by bringing this issue to our technician and also manager. After trying to reset the system many times for 1-2 days by our technician, we have been reported by internet provider (CAT telecom) that there was technical problem at that time and must be fixed at least 1 week. So, some areas can be used as lobby, restaurant and some rooms. However, speedy of the internet is subject to no. of users at that moment as well. At this stage, please accept many apologies this issue.

For mosquito in room, if you find it in room, please do not hesitate to contact our receptionist. They can assist you by lending a mosquito electric or net.

For breakfast issue, we will investigate and improve it according.

All in all, we are sorry we are not what you looked for. Some are our mistakes that we will take them to improve. Those comments surely help us to strive to provide you with the very best customer services. Some are our characters that make Aonang Phu Petra Resort stand as it does today. We are different but what we can guarantee to you and all other beloved guests are our dignity, honesty and sincerity in giving the best hospitality with Thai charms and smiles to you and all of our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Wonderful resort and great staff, we stay here 6 nights, I am so glad I choose here to stay. Great foods, you must try the baked Rice with pineapple served in a pineapple. they are the best!! (we tried it every where and found they are best!!)
We really don't want to leave, strong recommend!!!

Before I went to there and read some review said the view is not like what show on their website, but I think it is the same, only the tree is higher than before...
the close to swimming pool the room is great.

The thing I wish they will improve really soon, the deck for swimming pool and some
Cottages is getting old due to the strong sun, and need add the shelter for kid swimming pool will be wonderful

Room Tip: family with young kids, friendly staff,nice pool
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Our family of 4 stayed for 6 days, 5 nights at Aonang Phu Petra - - -

Good - - -
o Reservation process was good. Mr. Nat who was answering our e-mail inquiries was quick to respond, and response was clear and accurate.
o He also handled our dinner reservations for several restaurants very well. Thank you very much! For that we give him specifically 5 stars.
o Breathtaking view (really nice and relaxing)
o Clean, warm pool
o Spacious room and bathroom
o Very friendly reception staff
o Breakfast was ok (though limited choices, understandable though based on the number of guests the resort can accommodate). Bacon was cooked perfectly. Several kinds of bread were served. Juice options were very good. Fruits served were sweet and tasty. They also serve cereals and desserts.
o Location was far from the center, but that was good for us, as it was more serene and quiet.
o Free shuttle to the center. Driver was friendly and always smiling.

Needs improvement - - -
o Bed was quite hard.
o Aircon was noisy (and was old).
o Other staff are unable to communicate properly, and some of them (especially in the restaurant), if they don't understand what you're staying, they turn away without excusing themselves or at least give signals (so you won't know if they are acting on your request).
o Food taste (dinner) needs improvement. It's good we have decided to take majority of the meals outside of the resort which were more delicious and value for money.

We also encountered two incidents.

(1) As part of the package we got, one dinner for the family was included. We were a party of 4, but they only served 2 rice cups. I would surmise that the viands served were also for 2. I called the attention of the server, and we were more than half-way through with our food, and resolution was to no avail. They served additional 2 rice cups after we were almost done, which of course we didn't accept anymore, as there was very little viands left. Besides, the food was below expectations.

(2) We requested for late check-out way in advance, and I understand their e-mail reply that they can accommodate subject to availability. So, on our last day, I asked if they can heed to our request for a late check-out. The reply was sure, you can stay till 1:30PM (instead of 12NN), which was absolutely great. Unfortunately, when we came back at 12:30, we were informed if they can already store our luggages near the reception area. The reason we came back early was to finish packing the remaining stuff and to take a shower before our flight. Intent was to wrap things up in time for 1:30PM check-out. BUT, guess, we had no choice but to rush and vacate the room before 1PM. We could have planned otherwise if they have given us the correct reply.

In this latter incident, Phu Petra was good in receiving guests, but in terms of sustaining a good experience till the end (sending off guests), it was unsatisfactory.

Note though that improvement areas are meant to help the resort, and not to put the resort down.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SherryKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Thailand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear our beloved guest,

First of all, let me thank you for your feedback in tripadvisor. We are so appreciated for the chance you give us to serve you. Please be noted that we already took your every comment into discussion in a team member.
We are sorry to know that you felt not so happy during your stay with us. I will go from each according to what you reviewed for us.

Bed was quite hard.
A: For a hard bed that you mentioned, it really depends on our guests' preference. Most of our guests love our bed; however, there are some of our guests think it's too hard. In this case, please do not hesitate to contact our staff at the front desk, they will support in every possible ways to resolve and find the best solution at that moment for you

Aircon was noisy (and was old)
A: Well noted. We will check and fix it accordingly. However, please do not hesitate to contact our front desk staff. They are ready to help/assist you for any cases.

F&B staff are unable to communicate properly.
A: Thank you for this issue. Please be informed that there are 2 trainees at our restaurant. Both of them really cannot speak English very well. We will however train all of them about English skill as well as practice them more about service in order to serve our beloved guest in properly way.

Food taste (dinner) needs improvement.
A: Thank you for your information. We will improve our food quality and also food taste in order for us to satisfy and get good experience about our Thai food.

(1) For dinner package problem.
A: Please accept many apologies for food quality and our service at our restaurant. We will definitely bring this issue for improving our service process.

(2) For late check-out problem.
A: This issue was happened because our receptionist (a guy) didn’t check in our system before confirming back to you. This is unacceptable way for not giving correct answers to our guests. After 10 minutes later, he just realized that there was a new check in booking in your room. Once you came back, he suddenly asked for the room which was confirmed for late check out until 1:30 PM. We are extremely sorry for this situation that happening on that day. It won't happen it again in the future. Thank you for your information.

Thank again for your review. We will make our best attempt in regaining your confidence in our property. In addition, we will further evaluate how we can prevent these problems from occurring again in the future. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. The room was huge, spotlessly clean and nicely appointed. The hotel has a small pool but is perfectly fine for the number of guests. The restaurant and breakfast were very good and all staff were so friendly (as in most of Thailand). Ao Nang is easily walkable but the hotel offer a free shuttle hourly but if you want to visit the town under your own stream a tuk tuk is only 100 baht. Ao Nang itself is nothing to write home about but convenient for island hopping and the airport which is why we chose it.

Would highly recommend this little resort hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews