We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
61
99
69
50
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
99
69
50
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bala's chalet afternoon tea english tea english cottage beautiful garden reading room indian food tanah rata town strawberry farm nathan fireplace flowers environment development retreat camerons jungle
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We spent two nights. The building is old which could be nice if properly maintained. The windows could not be closed. Water was leaking from the cieling. This was quite cold and very humid. The room was big. We did notify The leak on The cieiling to The management and nothing has been done. The outside are very nice with a beautiful garden. Our kids have enjoyed The breakfast and The pancakes however The parents did not.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Crapmail1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piyadarshini, Public Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Crapmail1979,

Thank you for your review and comments. We are extremely sorry for any inconvenience faced by you and your family during your stay with us. We are in the process of rectifying the issues at hand and it is through your reviews that we are able to improve and hopefully see you again for a much better experience. Have a good weekend ahead.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Spend 2 nights here. The place is beautifully maintain for a old building. Mr Bala was nice n warm. When he saw my father has difficulty in walking, he change my father room to the lower floor.
We had a lovely tea in the terrace. Mr Bala your Teh Tarik is sooo Sedapp.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kamsani_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piyadarshini, Public Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Kamsani,

Thank you for your review and comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon for another cup of teh tarik. Have a great week ahead.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

On arriving at the chalet we were taken away by how picturesque it was. It really is a beautiful building, with some interesting history behind it. The grounds are reasonably well maintained.

And that's about the end of the good stuff...

Place smells of mold and damp. From the rooms to the bedding. WiFi was non-existant. But the real issue was the food. Terrible, and overpriced. Fried chicken was bleeding, tomato soup was just pasta sauce with cream! The scones had cream that had never seen a teat!!! Shocking for the prices.

If you do stay there, and don't mind the damp, waking up to bird song and the crispness of the weather is nice. Just don't waste Ur time with the food, head down to Kumar's in Tanah Rata!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank kazuya p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piyadarshini, Public Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Kazuya,

Thank you for your review and comments. First and foremost, we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused to you. We would definitely make a note of your complaints and rectify them. We hope to see you again at our place for the chance to serve you better. Have a pleasant day.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

I found this as a best place to stay in Cameron as the hotel had been built up in hill area with a beautiful British Indian architecture. You will have to spend a day at hotel itself to explore its beautiful serene, Hill Top view, plantations in and around, awesome vintage collections and the food.

I would strongly recommend for the ppl looking out for a calm place to enjoy the cool weather of Cameron.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FazilA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piyadarshini, Public Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Fazil,

Thank you for your review and comments. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again soon. Have a wonderful week ahead.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

This place is really a lovely place for a couple to enjoy their vacation. We did enjoy the view from outside of our room. Beautiful Garden but do need some lil work to make it more colorful. The staffs are really friendly although I did not have chance to speak to few of them but overall treatment is really great.

The dining area setup is really nice with the calmly environment. The food menu is great as well but slightly expensive.

Our room is perfect! No complaint about the room. Its clean, well maintain, and spacious as well. British room design.

The only thing which I find it a lil discomfort was the construction sound from the next building since our room is near to the internal construction site (some plumbing works i guess) where we can hear some noise which was not really a quite stay for the first two days. After 2 days, there was no more sound already. I guess, this is just a temporary work only.

Definitely not regretting staying at this place & will come again in future.

Location is in the middle of Tanah Rata.

5mins drive to Tanah rata town and 10mins drive to Brinchang.

Lastly, just an advice to the Management, please try to talk a lil not loud since I could hear loud speaking voices from my room :-)

Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Soma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piyadarshini, Public Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Soma S,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the other matters, we would like to apologise for any inconvenience that you faced during your stay. We will look into the issues and rectify them. We hope to see you once again soon. Have a good day.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews