We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 29 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2015

My wife and I stayed here three nights. We booked a private double room with an attached bathroom. Room No. 7, in which we stayed, was of a fair size. The bed was comfortable and the linen was clean. However, one of the pillows under the cover was filthy. The bathroom was a "wet" type. There is no separate shower area and the whole bathroom including the WC gets wet when showering making it messy to use for a few hours until it dries up. You definitely need bathroom slippers. These are also handy as you have to leave your outdoor footwear at the entrance door of the guest house.

The water heater was either faulty or simply could not cope. The heat control knob was missing and the only way we could get some tolerably tepid water for a shower was reducing the flow to a trickle.

The guest house is generally, quite clean and the staff are nice. But do check the hot water and the pillows if you decide to stay in a private room.

Room Tip: Check the hot water and the pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FernandesC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2015

If you're looking for budget accommodation in the Cameron Highlands, this is the place to stay. It's clean, comfortable and basic, and excellent value for money. You can book day tours and treks with Eco Cameron, bus tickets etc from reception. Free tea and coffee and a kitchenette. I recommend buying some bread and jam at the supermarket so that you can make your own breakfast, otherwise it's a short stroll into town where you can grab scones and tea, something this hill station is famous for. This place is suitable for families, backpackers, older travellers... It really caters to anyone looking for affordable accommodation. Book in advance. I was there on a long weekend and lots of Malaysian families dropped by looking for a room but it was booked out.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Britt_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We stayed in for 3 nights at this cozy, clean and convenient place in the heart of Tana Rata with very friendly staff led by host Mr Smith, Manager Mr Jackie and Mr Peter the driver. All of them warmly welcome all guests and give them a lot of necessary information, a lot also is shown in the walls. There is a very nice garden with lots of places to chat and enjoy the sun and green area in front of the guest house. Mossy forest is highly recommended and it is included in half or full day tour and can be booked by staff. Tour also include a beautiful tea plantation with great sight seeing. Rooms and rest of the GH are very clean. We enjoyed this place very much both me and my wife and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hesham429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

As a solo female traveller I felt so welcome and got lots of useful help throughout my 2 night stay. Had the mossy tour recommended and they sorted out my bus to the perhentian Islands. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

This is such a cozy guesthouse, I felt right at home here. There's a nice lounge area with tea and coffee. The rooms have comfy beds and sofas. And the man at the front counter was extremely helpful and friendly. Much better then a couple other places just up the road.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.1 km away
The Mentigi
The Mentigi
#5 of 13 in Tanah Rata
27 reviews
0.1 km away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#8 of 13 in Tanah Rata
347 reviews
0.6 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Father's Guest House
Father's Guest House
#2 of 29 in Tanah Rata
1,020 reviews
0.7 km away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#3 of 29 in Tanah Rata
603 reviews
0.2 km away
CH Travellers Inn
CH Travellers Inn
#8 of 29 in Tanah Rata
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Mentigi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Mentigi Guesthouse

Address: No 8 & 8A, Jalan Mentigi, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range: ₹ 1,542 - ₹ 1,928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eight Mentigi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse Hotel Tanah Rata
8 Mentigi Guesthouse
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing