We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family Holiday Cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bowburn, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heidi H
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Family Holiday Cottage ”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Myself and my 8 year old son stayed here for a week at the end of August 2017.
The garden is fantastic for a boy that loves to kick a ball around, plenty of space and even the farm dogs joined in!!
The cottage was beautiful with plenty of room.
The kitchen had absolutely everything that we needed and was lovely to have a dishwasher with the tablets provided too.
The dining area was great & the table was plenty big enough for 6 to sit.
I cooked every night and every utensil was provided.
The sitting room was very comfortable and cosy, but by no means small.
Both bedrooms had lovely comfy beds and both with en suits baths & shower
Everything worked & was clean.
We were using it for a holiday but also for visiting family & we will definitely be back.
There is plenty of things around for the kids to do within about a 30 minute drive.
There's a co-op in Coxhoe village, about 5 minutes away, which is ideal.
We enjoyed having visits from the farm dogs & chickens!!
You can hear some noise from theA1 when sat in the front garden, but the noise certainly doesn't stop you sleeping.
Perfect Holiday Cottage

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westiekho...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Family space!”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were there for a week and absolutely loved the space we had! We were welcomed by one of the farm dogs, Monty? He loves playing with footballs and there were plenty in our yard. In the morning the friend brood of 5 chicken greets us and our 6 year old grand daughter was absolutely delighted with the close proximity to the farm animals.
The house was well equipped and furnished. Having en suite bathrooms for both bedrooms was great! The location perfect for where we wanted go explore. Even the north east weather cooperated with us! We will keep this place in mind when we next travel that way again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not such a quiet retreat”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovely cottage on a working farm. Well equipped and comfortable..very helpful,especially with us oldies and out electronic stuff.. BUT despite the triple glazing and thick walls, the traffic noise from H .G V, so was unrelenting. It would have been difficult to sit out during good weather. Pitty as it was a superb place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Traffic noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alasdair...
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great short break”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous cottage set on a farm.Very spacious with all the amenities of home.HUGE garden with plenty of room for children and the farm animals an added bonus.Well situated to explore the area.No faults here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daithelif...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Complete and comfortable”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A very pleasant cottage with everything you could need for a break in this part of the world. Of particular interest to some will be the very disabled friendly layout. With a bedroom with an en-suite on the ground floor and seperate self contained bedroom and bathroom upstairs this is ideal not only for someone like me who finds difficulty with stairs on a break with my wife, but also for anyone taking a disabled friend or relative on holiday. Wheelchair access is good except, perhaps, to the bathroom downstairs which may mean reversing in.

well done at this price, na real find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: access for disabled
Liked least: only the weather - but fog not their fault (HaHa)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing