We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Had everything you could need”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bowburn, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsGill-i
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Had everything you could need”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a fantastic stay at The Shed with a large group of adults and two little ones. The property is enormous and still felt spacious when full to capacity. It is extremely well equipped with everything you could need, including a comfortable cot, high chair and some brilliant kids books.
The hot tub was a nice bonus and worth paying a bit extra for.
There is some traffic noise but we found we quickly got used to it. Would definitely recommend The Shed for big groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia-Gr...
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Spectacular Country Cottage”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I booked 'The Shed' for our friends over New Years Eve. As you enter the house it has a lovely big kitchen with a very spacious dinning area. The living room area is massive with large comfortable sofas, a big plasma television, DVDs, Wii, games and books. The bedrooms are lovely, ranging from different sizes. The master bedroom is incredible with an ensuite bathroom, lovely bathrooms in the house too.
The pictures are quite deceiving in regards to where it is, as I was sure it would be in the countryside but its just off the main road which is very loud and you can hear from the rooms at night. Unfortunately the hot tub was unavailable at this time, even though it wasn't being used by anybody else and the price was a lot more expensive than a normal week. The downstairs shower could be replaced as its like a dripping tap.
Overall, amazing house!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GizzyL
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed here with family for my husbands 40th birthday, the place is amazing, you walk through and it just keeps getting better. My son (11) loved the just dance game that was in the provided wii.
We all enjoyed the hot tub which we used every day, (need to book with proprietors separately)!
My mother in law fell head over heels with the gorgeous farm dogs!
And the excellently equipped kitchen was used to full advantage, when we cooked dinner Saturday night and then we all sat round the huge dining table for an amazing family meal.
Only downside was no wifi and extremely rare phone reception!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2015
Thank you for this wonderful review and we are glad that we made your husbands 40th birthday a memorable one. It was nice to hear that your son enjoyed a boogie with the Wii dance game and your mother in-law was entertained by the lovely farm dogs. Reviews like this brighten up our day and we can't wait for your next booking with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisnste...
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with 5 friends. What a lovely, big, comfortable house. Plenty of space, well equipped and nicely decorated.......home from home. Very nice, friendly and helpful owners. Hot tub was a bonus. Would highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.....
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J0J0P
Darlington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just got home from girly weekend at The Shed. It's a fabulous, spacious cottage situated on a working farm. We paid the supplement for the hot tub and it was worth every penny- very relaxing!
The cottage is very spacious, every bedroom having it's own bathroom! Towels were supplied soft, fluffy and smelling gorgeous- better than most hotel towels I've used! Special attention paid to making this home from home - wii console/games, DVD player and DVDs plenty of books and magazines.
I would definatly recommend staying here as well as dining out at The Old Mill where we were served a delicious Sunday lunch!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing