We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
11
11
12
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
11
12
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Very over priced . Far better castles in the area at far more realistic prices .The standard is little better than a youth hostel .We stayed in a tower sweet , it was so basic and badly light ,and in the morning an inclusive breakfast which
you would not want to pay for .There was no wifi ,the main (locked) entrance door door bell doesn't work.Even though we were pre booked there was no one to let us in .Only having searched around the outside of the castle did we find some one . Who for the record new the door bell did not work . I feel that we paid a good £30 more than it was worth for what was so over sold and below an appropriate standard .

Stayed: November 2015
2  Thank Tonymcguirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

A former hunting lodge, this is a unique place to stay. It's a bit out of the way and I wouldn't rate the area around it as overly fascinating, but when do you get the chance to stay in a castle tower? Too cool. Restaraunt was very good.

Room Tip: WiFi does not reach everywhere equally. It's a big old stone castle, so you may have to sit on a stairwell to get a signal.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

It's got potential and with a couple of interventions in decoration and kitchen it could be a nice spot. But now the rooms are tasteless and the food in the restaurant is mediocre. Very dissapointing if you look forward to a stay in a Schloss and you'll end up in a place where there is no love for service and food.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Arriving at the castle is already quite special. The last few 100 meters before arriving you drive through an ancient looking street with cobble stones, a very nice setting. The hotel is very nice but a bit too well rebuilt for my taste, the outside almost looks new. My room was clean, the bathroom small but clean except for some mold in the shower. The walls are not very thick so a coughing neighbor is easy to hear. Bed and pillows are clean and sleep fine. Breakfast is in a very small room and I can imagine that (if the hotel is full) you need to wait your turn. Overall a good price for this accommodation. The restaurant is great by the way!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2014

If you've ever wanted to stay in a 16th century, practically remodeled hunting castle with a moat, this is the place to go. This castle is beautiful, with modern and high-end finishes, and - surprise! - reasonably priced. Yes, ok, you could do something romantic here, but this is a very cool place for people also interested in history. The people who run the castle are very friendly, very professional, and breakfast is great. I was on a trip hunting down history, and for me, it doesn't get any better than this. Highly, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews