We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, homely, well equipped and extremely...”
other travellers have booked this property
The journey is over.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The journey is over.
And relax. Enclosed patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
The journey is over.
And relax.
Enclosed patio.
A stroll down to the beach before dark, watch the sun going down.
Time to make a meal?
Set the table?
Open that bottle of wine
A good nights sleep
Up in the morning, don't forget your wellies!
Dunstanburgh Castle across the bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Denisewie...
1 review
“Clean, homely, well equipped and extremely accomendating to all needs with a baby.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were absolutely delighted with this cottage. There was home-made bread, butter, lemon curd and lemon drizzle cake; all of which were very tasty. There was enough for a cooked breakfast which was highly appreciated as an extra perk.
We were worried with cleaniness with an active baby but it was immaculately clean. It was well presented and homely.
Clare was brilliant at sorting everything we needed for our little girl. A cot, high chair and stair gate were all in place waiting for us. She even was kind enough to post something we forgot!
Clare has thought of everything from information on local restaurants and attractions to kids games, dvds to books and even binoculars for bird watching! The kitchen is well supplied with everything you would ever need. Also everything is high quality not just the cheapest.
It is well situated for the lovely sandy beaches and a quick drive to Alnwick. There are local ammenties near by too. The cottage is situated off the road and didn't hear any noise or traffic.
We had a delightful stay and would stay again if we are visiting the area again or recommended to friends and family.
Thanks for been so helpful Clare!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie369
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable and very well equipped”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is comfortable, warm, clean, and very well equipped with everything you'd need for self catering. Alongside this we were greeted with a generous and delicious welcome pack for our first night. The cottage is in a lovely quiet village and only minutes away from a beautiful beach and other bigger towns with fascinating attractions. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiJoyn...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poppy Cottage Embleton. Nr Alnwick, simply stunning”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As you walk into the property you are welcomed by a cheerful interior that is immaculately clean. A welcome pack of bacon, eggs, mushrooms, lemon curd, lemon drizzle cake, poppy loaf, butter, milk and much needed wine after driving from Manchester awaits. The attention to detail is stunning. Everything has been carefully thought out. Extremely well equipped. The bedrooms are light and airy. My two young daughters loved Poppy Cottage. We thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay near Alnwick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor
Liked least: Pub food next door
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah-hud...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage is clean and well equipped. The location was great, in the lovely village of embleton and a short walk to the beach. Weather was great too! Thank you Clare for the welcome pack, especially the bread and cake which were amazing

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SasBailey...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely thought of everything - beautiful home from home.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Poppy cottage is a little gem and definitely one that we will be recommending to all of our friends and family. This was our first visit to Northumberland and the location could not have been better. The village of Embleton was the perfect mix of everything you need in one place - pubs, a shop, the beach, whilst being away from the hustle and bustle and a perfect base for exploring the beautiful coastline.
Everything had been thought out so well in this cottage and we will find it difficult to stay in another self catering cottage again as we were truly spoiled. From the amazing welcome pack to the Easter eggs left for the children and the dog treats and towel for the dogs. The decor was lovely throughout the property and very well equipped. The cottage was very clean when we arrived and the welcome pack was out of this world. We had a very friendly welcome from the owner and the information left in the cottage was everything we needed to find our way around.
We will be booking our next break at Poppy Cottage in the very near future. Thank you for a lovely break :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing