We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay in a fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property
The journey is over.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The journey is over.
And relax. Enclosed patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
The journey is over.
And relax.
Enclosed patio.
A stroll down to the beach before dark, watch the sun going down.
Time to make a meal?
Set the table?
Open that bottle of wine
A good nights sleep
Up in the morning, don't forget your wellies!
Dunstanburgh Castle across the bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarah-hud...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage is clean and well equipped. The location was great, in the lovely village of embleton and a short walk to the beach. Weather was great too! Thank you Clare for the welcome pack, especially the bread and cake which were amazing

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SasBailey...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely thought of everything - beautiful home from home.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Poppy cottage is a little gem and definitely one that we will be recommending to all of our friends and family. This was our first visit to Northumberland and the location could not have been better. The village of Embleton was the perfect mix of everything you need in one place - pubs, a shop, the beach, whilst being away from the hustle and bustle and a perfect base for exploring the beautiful coastline.
Everything had been thought out so well in this cottage and we will find it difficult to stay in another self catering cottage again as we were truly spoiled. From the amazing welcome pack to the Easter eggs left for the children and the dog treats and towel for the dogs. The decor was lovely throughout the property and very well equipped. The cottage was very clean when we arrived and the welcome pack was out of this world. We had a very friendly welcome from the owner and the information left in the cottage was everything we needed to find our way around.
We will be booking our next break at Poppy Cottage in the very near future. Thank you for a lovely break :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire Y
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This cottage is amazing. Everything you could want and to top it all a welcome pack with homemade bread, lemon drizzle cake, homemade lemon curd and a bottle of red wine and in the fridge enough for English breakfast. Well situated with beach an easy walk, lovely pubs which are dog friendly and main town only 7 miles away. Will definitely be back. Your attention to detail made it so homely and comfortable. Oh Tilly loved her treats as well. Thank you Clare.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain C
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An immaculate cottage with a great location and a personal touch”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We chose Poppy Cottage as a base for exploring the Northumbrian coast with our children (age 2 and 4). We stayed three nights, and were delighted with our stay. Lovely outside and in, conveniently located and reasonably priced.

The welcome pack is charming, including hand-wrapped rustic bread, wine, and ingredients for a cooked breakfast. The kids were particularly impressed with the lemon drizzle cake!

The interior is immaculately decorated with plenty of quirky touches that really make it feel homely. The size is relatively cosy but still feels light and airy and makes great use of the space (and the price was extremely reasonable even in a half-term week.) It's thoroughly well-equipped (e.g. Freeview, Oven, Toaster, Microwave, Coffee maker etc.) and we couldn't think of anything we were missing; the free wireless broadband was particularly welcome (mobile phone reception in this corner of Northumberland is variable.) We've been racking our brains for nitpicks and can't think of any, except that as a mid-terrace we were sometimes conscious that the kids couldn't make too much noise. That certainly didn't put us off and the cottage is very child friendly.

As a jumping off point, Embleton is fantastic: close to any number of small seaside towns, sandy beaches, rock pools, castles, gift shops and Alnwick/Alnwick Garden. In the village itself Poppy Cottage is right beside a local pub, round the corner from the village shop, and five minutes from a good playground. A fifteen minute easy walk takes you to a beautiful, sandy beach with stunning views of Dunstanburgh Castle.

We loved Poppy Cottage, and our kids didn't want to leave. Strongly recommended.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W
Thame
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable, convenient!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly, the welcome pack was outstanding; the best I have ever encountered! Secondly, the cottage itself was great; the beds were comfortable, it was peaceful and quiet, the sitting area was lovely, it was warm and cosy and the decor was tasteful and quirky. Thirdly, the cottage is situated right in the village and we ate in one of the pubs there which was excellent and we could walk to it from Poppy Cottage. We also cooked in the cottage which had enough utensils and plates, bowls, etc. We strolled down to the sandy beach, past the Golf course and had a wonderful walk along the coast. In the village, there was a shop and a playground area for children. Alnwick was close by and other beautiful parts of the Northumberland Coast as well. This was a really lovely place to stay for lots of reasons.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The Welcome Pack and it beings o comfortable and convenient.
Liked least: I liked it all!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, I am delighted you had such a good time. Clare :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing