We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Small but well equipped .”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Snowdrop Cottage -south facing & sheltered.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Snowdrop Cottage -south facing & sheltered.
Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Front of Snowdrop Cottage -south facing & sheltered.
Lounge area
Dining Area
Kitchen area
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
The view looking south from Embleton Bay, with Dunstanburgh Castle in the background.
The view looking north from Embleton Bay, just a stroll up the beach to the village of Low Newton.
The front of Snowdrop Cottage - with a wooden bench and patio table and chairs.
Lounge area
Dining area and Kitchen
Clementines not included
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mylesosmi...
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small but well equipped .”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for the week 4th to 11th July, we were lucky with the weather, only one day of rain so we did not spend a lot of time in the house.It is an end terraced, modernised house.
Downstairs had all you could expect, maybe a wee bit bigger television, the kitchen was well equipped. The sofas comfortable. Upstairs sliding doors gave more space, perhaps the curtains in the bedrooms could have been a darker colour -or even blinds added as it was light late and again light early at this time of year and white curtains allowed light into the bedrooms. It was all very clean. Sited in this village it is very handy for visiting many attractive places, the beach can be accessed down a long lane then crossing the Golf Course, however it is possible to drive down and park before crossing the course, the sand dune beaches are beautiful. The Hotel in front of the house does lovely meals if you do not want to go further afield. The house was very quiet and had a lovely stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lollipop1...
Lancashire, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cosy retreat? Absolutely!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lovely self catering accommodation suitable for two adults and with the second bedroom good for 2 more children or adults. Facilities were great with wifi dvds games books available. The kitchen area was spotless with all the equipment needed - and an oven with separate grill which I've rarely seen - a small thing but appreciated!
Location wise the cottage is in a beautiful area with easy straight forward access to the coast and castles - the main reason for our visit.
The local store was great for bits and pieces but a visit to the main supermarket in alnwick would be advisable if a full food shop was needed.
Communications with the manager ahead of the booking and visit were great - friendly professional and helpful.
Snowdrop Cottage has alot going for it and we would definitely consider booking again if we were to return to that area.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola B
Dronfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location for exploring Northumberland”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This was our first visit to Northumberland but definitely won't be the last. Snowdrop Cottage is a cosy base, with everything you could need. The booking process and check in instructions were faultless and helpful. My husband and two children (12 & 8) loved the location and the beach is exceptional. I would recommend Greys Inn in the village for an excellent pub dinner, warm welcome and local beers. Fifteen minutes away in Alnmouth we caught the train the Edinburgh for the day. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay, but not long enough.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarmerFam...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent cottage with wifi”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a lovely short break at Snowdrop. The cotage suited our family of 4 perfectly. It was clean and equipped to a high standard. I would definetly recommend this property.
The booking process was simple and efficient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wifi - essential as mobile signal was poor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smileypig
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“When can I move in???”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We honestly could not have asked for a more perfect place. Location was ideal and perfect for exploring our favourite beach in Northumberland. Nothing quite takes your breath away as the view which hits you as you walk over the golf course and onto the beach..... I almost don't want to tell people about it so it can remain "my beach".....

The house was clean, tidy and had everything in that you would possibly need. The linen and towels which were provided and the games, DVD’s and books were a lovely touch too turning it from the normal rental to something a little bit special. The bed was lovely and comfy and the bathroom immaculate with a lovely shower. The kitchen had really good facilities and pots and pans etc were all in a good condition, so much so that we cooked both nights of our stay rather than venture out. Something I was glad of after a long walk! :O)

I’ve already recommended it to many of my family and friends and will certainly be returning as it made a most lovely surprise birthday weekend for my partner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the quality of the interior of the house
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing