We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very comfortable and stands in its own isotation.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lily Pond Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lochcarnan, South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
billyfelt...
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“very comfortable and stands in its own isotation.”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

we stayed in the cottage in june and found the cottage perfect for our needs, cosy ,quiet, and spacious.
sandra could'nt have been more helpful and obliging.
i would fully recommend the cottage to all.
thanks sandra

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Glad to hear you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay. See you on your return visit.

Kind regards
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T
1 review
“Ideal for exploring the Uists”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Clean, tidy, comfortable and with everything you could want from a base to explore the islands. Almost central in the island chain made it very handy for exploring - lots of places to walk and a great variety of wildlife to see.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
I am to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna S
Eilean Siar
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well equipped with views to the horizon and the wide open sky”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A very nice house with a wee loch to the front and the sea at the back. Everything you could need is supplied. The house is cosy and comfortable and while there was just the two of us staying, it would be a great place for a family or for three couples. Enclosed garden with sundowner seats to enjoy the sunset while listening to the birds. We saw so many different birds and I'm sure that if I had been at the kitchen window at the right time I would have seen an otter too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Many thanks for your lovely comments. I do believe an otter has been seen from the kitchen window. Hopefully see you next year.
Kind regards
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildlife...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderfully comfortable holiday cottage”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have recently returned from our stay at Lily Pond Cottage and can thoroughly recommend it. The cottage was comfortable, well equipped and clean, with a supermarket not far away and a quiet location. The cottage's location was ideal for exploring the islands, being centrally located, whilst far enough off the main road to be peaceful and undisturbed. The kitchen was well equipped, even with pots of fresh herbs for cooking, the beds were comfortable and wi-fi, TV etc available.
We toured most of the Uists and had a day trip to Barra whilst staying here. We saw short-eared owl and a hen harrier in the fields around the cottage on most days, and saw an amazing variety of wildlife whilst touring round the islands. We were very fortunate to have a week of blue skies and sun, but even if the week had been wet, the cottage was always warm and cosy to come back to. We couldn't recommend it highly enough and would certainly love to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, comfortable cottage, good views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you and hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinclair...
Crawley, West sussex
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage looks small from the outside but when you get inside the space is amazing. We travelled with our 14 year old son and he was able to have his own bedroom and bathroom, effectively his own area of the house. Extremely well equipped, one of the best equipped cottages we have stayed in and we wanted for nothing. Close to supermarkets as well. Very comfortable cottage with lots of space. Sandra was very warm and welcoming even though we kept her on the door step during a down-pour as we didn't hear her knock. Would thoroughly recommend it and would definitely stay there if we were to go back to South Uist. Thank you Sandra

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth and comfort of the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing