We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing facility”

Barlborough Heritage & Visitors Centre
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

We visited Barlborough to do some family history research. We had contacted Tony at the Heritage Centre in advance and when we arrived he was waiting for us with lots of information.
Nothing was too much trouble. We were taken to the churchyard to see an ancestors grave, and to Barlborough Hall, now a school, to take some photographs.
In the Heritage Centre there was lots of information to help people researching the area or just interested in the history of the village.
We spent a very pleasant morning there and are grateful to Tony for his help.
A recommended facility

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank RomanbyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

5 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you are in the area - pay it a visit as it is a wonderful centre and you will learn about the village and surrounds

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank gramps49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

First of all it's free! Obviously a labour of love by Tony and his team. There isn't anything he doesn't know about the area. There are many old maps and records from the late 18th century which pre-date the first national 1841 census.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank John1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A must for anyone who is interested in barlborough.there is plenty to see.one visit just usnt enough! The latest addition is photographs from the local school dating back 50 years.well worth a visit

Date of experience: May 2013
1  Thank admads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Fantastic place loads to see a vast amount of information and photos of the local area and people. We are very interested in our family history and found Tony to be very helpful and friendly.
Well worth a visit, we will definitely be back.

Date of experience: November 2012
3  Thank vonny518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barlborough Heritage & Visitors Centre also viewed

Renishaw, Derbyshire
Barlborough, Chesterfield
 

Been to Barlborough Heritage & Visitors Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing