We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise lodging on a beautiful gem of an island!”
other traveller has booked this property
The Cottage. 2 bed, 2 bath with full kitchen and screened porch !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage. 2 bed, 2 bath with full kitchen and screened porch !
Better here than the Office
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The Cottage. 2 bed, 2 bath with full kitchen and screened porch !
Better here than the Office
Enjoy the Sunsets !
Bedroom
Room to relax in Comfort !
Comfy Living Room Area
Bedroom
Kitchen closeup
Kitchen and Dining areas
Bathroom
Bathroom
Awesome Screened in Porch !!!
View from the Porch
Screened in porch with table for 6 !
Super view from the Porch
Tree Trunk Seating For Two!
Beach Looking North
Beach looking South
Chairs on the Beach
Coconut Grove and Cottage
Entry to the Property
Nice place to Watch a Sunset
Palm Shaded Picnic Area
Path from Cottage to Beach
Secluded spot for Two
Hand-stacked Rock wall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Long Island, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John-SSOA
Sitka, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise lodging on a beautiful gem of an island!”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I wanted my wife to be able to celebrate her 50th birthday in a fun, beautiful, peaceful place, and Long Island and Whymsical Wish Cottage turned out to be the perfect fit.

Long Island is quite off the beaten path, and it was a little difficult to learn about it until I had the good fortune of making contact with George, the owner of Whymsical Wish Cottage. he was a wealth of information about everything on the island and helped us to get lined out on flight options, a rental car, places to explore (too many to do in a week!), and he even helped us arrange for a skiff rental to explore the numerous smaller islands that surround Deadman's Cay. He gave us our privacy to just enjoy the peacefulness of our surroundings but still had a talent for knowing just when to pop by to check and see if we had any questions or needed any help to find anything. His lovely wife Cindy would also stop by to check on us, and she even gave my wife a beautiful gift from the sea as a birthday present.

The accommodations were clean and perfect in every way and the setting is beautiful. We especially liked being able to sit out on the huge screened-in porch in the mornings while enjoying a cup of coffee and in the evenings to watch the sun set over the ocean. The kitchen is very well equipped for times when you want to prepare your own snacks & meals.

The island itself is a gem, surrounded by a gorgeous coastline. We probably walked 5-10 miles ever day on a different beach, and on only a couple of occasions did we see another person or even evidence that people had been there before. The residents of the island are incredibly friendly folks - proud of their home, always open to questions and conversation, and looking for ways to make sure you are enjoying your stay. It is also a pretty easy place for learning how to drive on the other side of the road because there is no reason to drive fast and the roads are pretty much empty of traffic.

I'd go back in a minute!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's a tie - the beauty of the place and the absolute genuine hospitality of the people
Liked least: Having to spend a night in Nassau before getting to the island
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JohnPound...
Athens, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Magical”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

John and Barbara Pounds, Loganville, GA

We needed a secluded vacation away from the busy and hectic life we live. We never had a vacation alone. After much research I contacted George about renting his cottage. We never left the United States and didn't know how how this could be done. The level of service we received before we even left our home for the airport was amazing. George mapped out our entire trip from airlines and hotels, car rentals and possible ideas of what we could do and see once we arrived. I am talking 37 email responses!!!

Once we finally arrived in Long Island for our 10 day stay, George had Presley Pinder (TJs Boat Rental and Fishing Excursions) waiting for us at the airport. Presley waited there for almost 2 hours because of the flight delay from Nassau. He then stopped at the store and waited patiently as we gathered food supplies for our stay.

Upon arriving at our cottage, George and daughter, Jessica, was waiting there to greet us with a smile. They made sure we was comfortable and relaxed to enjoy our first evening alone in many years.

One of the main events of our vacation was the vow renewals that George planned for us. What an awesome evening this was!!! I was able to pick a spot on the property and create a special environment without even having to ask. The Padre came and performed a wonderful ceremony. 13 others were there in attendance. George, his lovely wife, Cindy, her Mother, sisters, and a friend. Presley Pinder and his wife also came. John Osler and his family from Canada was in attendance as well. Jessica, Cindy and Georges' Daughter took pictures of the event and gave them to us. After the ceremony, George opened his home for a special pizza dinner (home-made, of course) and had a special bottle of wine and nice glasses just for my wife and me to celebrate the occasion. It truly was a special and "magical" evening... just as Jessica said it would be.

We have made many new and special friends on our vacation and we never thought it would have been as great as it truly was. Never before have we been treated with such care and thought. George and Cindy didn't just host our vacation stay, but welcomed us as friends. Our thanks and gratitude are extended to George and his family for the care and support we received. If you are in need of an Island vacation, we highly recommend joining the family of Whymmsical Wish!!!

John M Pounds Jr

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Vow Renewal ceremony planned by George Rathgeber
Liked least: Nothing to report.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Reviewed 10 July 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2012
Dawn....thanks so much for the kind words ! We do strive to make sure that ALL of our guests have a great time while here. I'm glad that you, Ed and the kids were able to decompress a bit while enjoying our island. Hurry Back ! There's more to see and do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;