We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“OUR VACATION COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE RELAXING OR...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedroom at the Cottage with King bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom at the Cottage with King bed
Sunset from the Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Bedroom at the Cottage with King bed
Sunset from the Beach
View of the front of the Cottage
configured for 2 Twins
nice living space
Living area of the Cottage with Sofa Bed, sitting area and Satellite TV
Kitchen area of the Cottage.  Doors on the right are for the Bed and Bath.  All full size appliances
Shower in the Bathroom.  Plenty of space to store your toiletries
Laundry Facilities
Hammock for lazy afternoons on the screened in porch!
Sunset Beach - just a short walk down the road
View of the cottage with sundeck and sand beach
Fresh Mixed Greens
view of Dean's Blue Hole from the cove
Panoramic view of Sunset Beach
the Beautiful waters of the Bahamas
a perfect anchorage just off the beach!
Palmirage is located near the bottom of the S in Morris
Blooming hibiscus and sunning area off Cottage
North End of Long Island - the cut at Columbus Point
View from the beach back to where the Kayak trip came from - 1/2 hour paddle thru the mangroves
Columbus Point and Monument - great afternoon Kayak trip!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Long Island, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Shirley H
Redmond, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
“OUR VACATION COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE RELAXING OR BEAUTIFUL!”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The cottage was extremely comfortable and everything that you could possibly want or need was supplied. The beaches are beautiful!!! The people are gracious and the food marvelous!!! You could not ask for a more relaxing beautiful place for a vacation! e

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: we loved the beaches and the people!
Liked least: some bug bites.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
This is what we like to hear! Thank you so much for letting us know you had a great time - both in the Cottage and on Long Island!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullsting...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Sara and Dan welcomed us with open arms for our last minute christmas vacation. Sara and I exchanged emails for a week leading up to the holiday and she couldn't have been quicker to respond or more helpful.

We were so impressed with the cottage, really sociable space, screened in porch, washer dryer, grill, bikes, kayak and the wonderful floating raft- the pictures online dont do it justice!
The property is very private and soooo close to the beach!

A huge amount of effort has gone into Palmirage Cottage, Sara's attention to detail with the decor and the list of things to do on the island is excellent. Sara and Dan were only ever a call away to help us get the most out of Long Island.

Thank you for the delicious banana and coconut bread, the inspiring stories and a wonderful week. Hope to be back!!!!

Ps. If you stay here you have to eat at Marios in Simms, we did by accident and it was the best meal we had on the island-delicious, fresh Bahamian food!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele A
Medford, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have been remiss in not reviewing this wonderful place sooner. Sorry Sara!

The cottage is quite spacious; perfect for 1-2 people. There is a decent sized bedroom with a nice comfy bed. There is a small laundry room area adjoining the bedroom. The kitchen and living room are quite spacious. The kitchen has everything you need:all cookware,utensils,etc.. A nice living room area has a flat screen tv. I actually just watched some DVDs from an electic collection they have. A nice screened in porch is outside and nicely adorned with shells and beach glass.
Sara and her husband were very gracious to me. They are very kind. They invited me to their yearly party(really fun!) They also invited me out with them one evening to a local hangout. They have a lot of knowledge about the area and can give you ideas on things to do plus give practical advice i.e.;what rental car company to use,etc.

The cottage is only about a 5-7 minute walk to the beach(bayside). It's worth walking on;I walked all the way down on one side where the waves were gouging out the rock on the shore and making these cool tunnels/openings.

I'm really glad I found this place. I highly recommend "Palmirage"as a "base camp" for exploring this BEAUTIFUL island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location,quiet
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
And I have been remiss in not thanking you for the wonderful review! So glad everything lived up to your expections!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAM1Manch...
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous peaceful remote”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This cottage is 2 minutes walk from beach. It's the best self catering place we have ever rented. Very clean with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. Washing and drying room was great. Selection of DVDs. A huge bonus was the use of bikes and double canoe- both of which we used several times. We had to physically pull the canoe to the beach- on its little trolley. The screened porch and hammock allows evenings outside without fear of getting bitten.it has wi-fi this was a bit intermittent- and the electric went off a couple of times after a tropical storm- but it just adds to the experience. It's remote location however means nearest bar 3 miles and grocery store 15 minutes drive away. We just stocked up twice in the fortnight with our own food and drink. If you are after a restaurant every night- don't stay here. We were after peace and our own company which is what we got. Gorgeous!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No kettle
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortney S
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family getaway”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Palmirage was a perfect place for our stay on Long Island. We have two boys, 7 and 11. They slept comfortably on the pull out couch and fought over who laid in the hammock on the screened in porch. The A/C worked: we would open all the screened windows when leaving in the morning, the cottage would be warm upon our return in the evening. We would close all the windows and turn on the A/C and in a matter of minutes the entire cottage would be cool. We would turn it off before dinner and just run the ceiling fans for the rest of the night. The kitchen was well equipped with utensils and spices. We cooked our fresh catch for dinner every night on the provided grill. We used the provided cooler to pack picnic lunches to eat while we were out enjoying all the island had to offer. Like other posters, we had trouble with internet and satellite reception. Our vacation was meant to escape all that stuff so it wasn't a bother to us. A selection of DVD's kept the boys entertained when winding down for the night. The screened in porch was perfect to enjoy a morning cup of coffee while planning the day, and, a rum and coke while reflecting on the day's adventures. The beach was a short walk from the cottage but certainly manageable. We called Dan when we had one probelm with a clogged toilet and couldn't find a plunger - two different "friends" came by extending the use of their plunger.

The cottage was a great deal as we spent a lot of money on airfare and extras. A car rental is necessary if you plan to explore all points of the 80 mile long island. The location of the cottage was a benefit as a lot of the island activities are near the north end where the cottage is located. If I did it all over again, I would pack an extra bag of dry foods. Groceries are very expensive and snacks or powdered drink mixes for the boys would have been beneficial.

Long Island checked all our boxes for this vacation. We wanted a relaxing vacation at non-commercialized locale. All the locals we dealt with were generous with their time in explaining their history and culture to our boys. Very grateful to the wonderful Long Islanders!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and of Long Island!! We look forward to being here for your next visit!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 105
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing