We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Stella Maris at Cape Santa Maria, Bahamas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2007

Trip dates Nov.4-9 07. first nite in Nassau at the Wyndham Resort and Casino. (a total and serious dump, over priced, depressing and that is being generous) We flew from Toronto on Westjet arriving 3pm in nassau, no flites out to Stella maris that late so we overnited. Next morning we flew Southern Air, a tinny 18 seat prop plane and landed on the seriously flooded Stella Maris airstrip. Flight was fine. As we flew over Long Island we noticed the heavy damage from Noel, the island was virtually cut off north from south because of water. Arrived at our resort Cape Santa Maria to a visibly shocked owner who smiled nervously and said "Oh!!! WHO are You?? Didnt they call you? We are closed because of the hurricane until thursday (the day before we were to leave. They should have called......"Well I have travelled near and far but this was a first for me. Now for the good part. We stayed in our 12 star villa and were the only guests on the island it seemed. Obviously there was no dining establishment available because the chefs and maids were somewhere upstream. But lovely Wendy simply went over to her own house emptied out the fridge and freezer and set us up with basic provisions for 3 days. Not to mention a choice of fine wines, beer and Bacardi. And never were we charged for this. Where else in the world does a traveler find owners like this? I defy anyone to do better!!!!
Our accommodations were indescribably gorgeous, luxurious, over the top in every way. And the gardeners were all stressed out over the "condition" of the beach". This meant there was some seaweed that had blown up during the hurricane. In most places of the Caribbean it would be standard but this beach is so beautiful as to have been dropped from heaven. Miles upon miles of soft sand, clear water, their website doesnt do it justice. The entire establishment is meticulously run, from maid service to bicycles to towels, to gardening, attention to detail is Chateaux and Relais quality.Thank god it is difficult to get to. We flew back to Nassau with Marty, a local pilot who is handsome, charming, efficient and prefers cash. We were 3 in his Navajo. Great flight too. I will be posting pics soon, they are on my Mac at the moment. If you go tell them the Joffe's from Toronto sent you and remember there is NOTHING to do at nite except to chill and listen to the waves.Cape Santa Maria is a gem, everyone stay away and don't ruin it!!

10  Thank none
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 514 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2007

My boyfriend and I just returned from our amazing stay at Cape Santa Maria, and already we want to go back! We had been looking at pictures and reading wonderful reviews for months before the trip, but nothing truly prepared us for the beauty we encountered when we arrived (though I will mention, the drive from Stella Maris airport to the resort was a bit bumpy and at times it seemed like we were on a road to nowhere!).

As soon as we pulled up, Wendy (one of the managers) was there to greet us. She took us on a tour and filled us in on everything we needed to know to make our stay as relaxing as possible. Our first stop - the crystal clear water. The soft sand, warm, shallow water and gentle tide are unlike anything I had ever experienced. The four miles of white beach and blue water were simply breathtaking.

Since we were there for the end of the season, the resort was uncrowded, and at times we were on the beach or in the water for hours without seeing any other guests. We also lucked out price wise, and got a great deal on our room, plus some goodies like a free 1/2 hour massage and a complimentary bottle of wine.

The club house was very nice, the staff super friendly, and the food quite delicious. The bungalow was well maintained and perfect for a romantic getaway. Although we were only there for a long weekend, it was the perfect amount of time to stay. I would definitely go back again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank BSC0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort from August 1-7, 2007, to celebrate our third anniversary. We knew we wanted to go someplace relaxing with a beautiful beach, so we researched several different places and islands. After reading the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided the Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort on Long Island was just the place we were looking for. We went there expecting to find paradise, and, if possible, what we found was even better than we had imagined! The resort contains approximately 20 bungalows that are literally mere steps from the beach. Each one has a nice screened-in porch in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. The beach was the most amazing sight we had ever seen. The sand was white and felt like powder. The water was a brilliant turquoise color, and when you went in it, it felt just cool enough to cool you off, but warm enough that you could stay in it all day and not get cold. The water was also incredibly clear. While there were other guests staying at the resort, at times my husband and I were the only people on the beach. It was very private and romantic. Another wonderful feature of this resort was the food. There is only the one dining room and bar, and there aren't any other restaurants on the island that are within walking distance. However, the food at the dining room was delicious. There are plenty of choices on the menu for each meal, and everything that my husand and I ordered was amazing. My favorite choice at dinner was the coconut shrimp! A third aspect of this resort that makes it stand out is the staff. Everyone that works at the Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is friendly, always smiling, and always willing to help you in any way. For activities, the resort has a few different options. You can borrow bicycles or sea kayaks. There are also several different fishing excursions you can sign up for. My husband and I are not into fishing, so we did not do any of those. However, the couples we met that did go fishing had wonderful experiences. One day we did rent a car and drove about an hour south to Hamilton's Caves and had a guided tour. That was an incredible sight. We also drove to Dean's Blue Hole and went snorkeling. Beyond that, there is not much else to do on the island. There are not really any areas to go shopping. However, if you are looking for a restful and relaxing vacation, then the Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is the place to go. My husband and I plan on returning!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank sgrodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We had the sincere pleasure of staying three days and nights at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort from August 10-13. It was exactly what we were looking for (quiet, solitude, and relaxing) and was true perfection. The only thing that could be more perfect is to have some hammocks scattered around.

The rest of this are some details and thoughts on the resort (and getting there). It's a bit long.

Logistics (which has nothing to do with the resort, but might be of interest):
We traveled from Buffalo - Nassau with US Airways. Overnight in Nassau at Orange Hill Beach Inn (see review for that hotel) and then flew Pineapple Air to Stella Maris airport. We chose Pineapple Air because it had more early morning flights than Southern Air and we wanted an early morning Friday flight. However, booking with Pineapple Air was a bit of a challenge. Their initial response was "just show up and we should have seats so we'll give them to you". We weren't willing to bet our trip on that so managed to get help directly from Cape Santa Maria. They scanned in the Pineapple Air authorization form and sent it to us by e-mail. We filled in the authorization form and sent it by e-mail to Pineapple Air. Called Pineapple Air a few hours later and were told that the person that checks e-mail wasn't there that day but would be in later that week. After a bit of persistence, they checked e-mail and sent us back confirmation of our flights. From then on it was smooth and was a pleasure. My recommendation is to have Cape Santa Maria e-mail the form to you and then follow up with airlines. Interestingly enough, Southern Air originally told us that even though their website said they had an early Friday flight, they didn't, but when we arrived at Stella Maris, the Southern Air flight was right behind us, so I'm not sure what happened there.

When we flew to Stella Maris from Nassau I sat on the right side of the plane and had a nice view of The Exumas Islands on the way down, close enough to see that there might be other resorts on those islands. On the way back we figured it would be reversed and sat on the left side and didn't see anything.

Getting through security on the way back to US from Nassau was brutal. US Airways announced that we should leave three hours to get through the lines. It took us just over two hours and only because we were early and waited for ticket counter to open. Other people were missing their flights when they had allowed only 1.5 or 2 hours to get through. Just an FYI and, again, no reflection on the resort.

The Resort Layout
We were specifically looking for a quiet resort with nice beaches. We've actually been looking at Cape Santa Maria for 11 years (according to the resort records, that's when they first sent us out information) and it lived up to our expectations of peace and tranquility. The resort has rooms to the north of the beach house (restaurant, bar, lobby, etc) and to the south of the beach house. To the south of the beach house is where they're building the villas, one at a time. There was no construction on the villas on the weekend and I didn't hear complaints from anyone about construction noise on the Friday that we were down there.

Rooms
We were in room 4 which is on the north side, close to the end of the resort. Our room was spacious and bright. We prefer to sleep without AC whenever possible and chose to do so for a couple of nights since we had a bit of a breeze going through the room. It was a bit humid and sticky and we ended up using the AC for one night when it was too hot. AC worked well, but it adds noise though not too loud to sleep. Note that if you choose to sleep with the AC off, you'll sleep with your doors to the bedroom open and people strolling by can see in if you've got your lights on. When the lights are off it's difficult to see in and because we weren't really central to the resort, we didn't worry about it (if they wanted to see us reading in bed, they were welcome to). Most people retired by 10:00 or so. Shampoo, soap, and washcloths are in abundance. There is a blow drier attached to the wall for those whose hair cooperates in humidity. We had two beds and twelve pillows in our room. Mattresses were very comfortable. A small refrigerator was also in the room. We didn't worry about hot water in the shower and never really tested it since we showered in evening after a hot day so I can't comment on the hot water issue but water pressure was sufficient.

We had a couple share the common wall with us the last night and we didn't hear them at all.

Dining
We debated on whether to use the meal plan or not and ended up not using it. Meal prices were in line with other Bahamian restaurants (i.e., probably 50% more expensive than US or Canadian prices). I think it came out a wash for us.

Breakfasts ran $8-12 for basics such as pancakes, eggs, french toast with juice adding another $3. My husband raved about the pancakes and I had the eggs benedict twice.

Lunches were also quite reasonable and generally in the $9-$12 range per plate. We ate BLT, hamburgers, conch burger, salads, quesadillas and club sandwich. Pizzas and general munchies were also on the menu and looked good when presented. The only surprise was with the club sandwich which was the only item on the menu to use processed chicken slices and they added mustard to the sandwich.

There is a bar menu that offers lunch type items throughout the day up to 10:00 at night.

Dinners were a bit more expensive with appetizers running under $10, entrees generally between $22 - $35, and desserts running $6. A good assortment of seafood, beef, and chicken. If you like to have all three dishes, then it's probably worth getting the meal plan, particularly if you like a beverage with the meal. We stuck to water for the most part. The broiled grouper and pepper steaks were amazing. The chilled conch salad had a wonderful flavour. Salads covered a full plate and were fresh and tasty.

Unlike the other small resorts that we've been to in the out islands, the dining isn't communal and there were plenty of two-person tables to sit at. We found the service very pleasant.

The only complaint we had about the restaurant is that we couldn't order from the bar menu for one of us and the restaurant menu for the other and have it served in the restaurant. The bar is six steps down from the restaurant and they walk through the restaurant to the bar. There were a couple of times that we wanted to mix a full dinner meal for one of us with a bar menu item for the other. We didn't push it, just made some gentle inquiries, so it's possible if we had been more insistent that they could have accomodated us. It ultimately didn't impact the trip for us at all. Any other food type accomodations were met easily (such as a plain (instead of caesar) salad with chicken on it ).

Beach
It is as amazing as the photos posted by others and the resort on the site. We've never been to a resort that has clearer water and we finally understood when people say that there are places where the water is "bathwater warm". It was so easy just to get lost watching the water and we probably spent more time in the water than at any other resort we've been to. Make sure to bring an inflatable float and you can spend hours laying in the water letting the current take you oh so gently to the north end of the beach. Inflatables at the resort are $10.

When we were there you could generally see one or two other couples on the beach and one or two couples in the water. We were easily 50 feet between us and anyone else at the beach. There were a number of families at the resort but it didn't feel like the kids over-ran the place at all and it was a treat to watch them discover things on the beach. It was so very peaceful.

There is enough shade at the resort to find shade to sit in. The gazebos on our end got snapped up quickly though one family offered to trade days with us so that we could get some gazebo time. It's not necessary and I found it quite nice to sit in the shade of a palm tree and play with the soft sand with my fingers while reading a book.

We didn't have the energy or the time to go snorkelling. Someone said that there is amazing snorkelling around the far points, but they're a three hour round trip swim (there was one couple that we talked to that did it) or a $60 boat ride. There were a few fish close in the shallows and some of them would come nibble at your toes if you were patient enough. Apparently there are some rays that hang out in knee deep water near the buoy at the north end of the beach though we only found out about them after we'd been out in the sun too long. In that same area there are some upside down jellyfish that look like plants on the bottom, but not many, and very visible.

One other couple walked the entire length of the beach. They said it was wonderful, but wished that they had thought to bring water with them since the point looked so much closer than it was.

Other stuff
Sailing isn't included in the price, but the hobie cat that they've got is in great shape and the sailing is good.

There is a decent library at the resort where you can swap out books to read. The books are basically placed in two large baskets so it's a bit of a hunt and peck system, but if I had known how much they had I wouldn't have loaded my bag with as many books as I did since I easily found books there that I could have read. A broad range of English and non-English languages. A good selection of kids videos to watch in the TV room. Free use of washer and dryer as long as you provide the detergent (also available in gift shop).

Sand flies became an issue on the last day when it had been raining all night and most of the day. The hotel provides at least three different types of bug repellant in each room so there's something for everyone. We generally try not to use it though I wish we had when we tried to have dinner at the bar one night. It's what drove us upstairs to the restaurant. We don't begrudge the hotel the sandflies, they're an issue at every resort we've been to and we give kudos to the resort for having the bug repellant. They're also big at the airport and we finally put repellant on at the airport.

We had two days of very warm sunny weather and one day where it rained most of the night and into the next morning. Weather was hot and humid, just slightly warmer than Toronto in the summer. We stopped going to the out islands in the winter because they were too cool (temps in the high teens in C, or 60s-70s in F) but the manager said that the resort is far enough south that their temperatures are warmer so maybe we'll come back in February some day.

Summary
This resort really is only for people that like to get away and whose definition of luxury is privacy, tranquilty, and beautiful beaches. This is our fourth out island that we've visited and this one met our needs perfectly. We'll be looking for opportunities to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
19  Thank sw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

If you are looking for paradise- look no further! Cape Santa Maria is the destination for you! We just came back from our second visit to the Cape and cannot express how truly amazing this gem of the Bahamas really is. The Cape provides miles of untouched beaches, ice blue water, amazing sea life & superior service and accommodations. As you walk in the door, you are welcomed like a family member --Wendy & Frank set the tone of the resort and provide staff with impeccible concern for your every need.

We enjoyed one of the new Villas at the resort as my family includes two children ages 5 and 3. The Villa has all the comforts of home --The Resort restaurant menu provides a wide range of delicious choices for all tastes.

We enjoyed snorkeling off the Cape beaches, exploring areas of Long Island with Delbert--who is a wealth of island knowledge and secret "finds" for all interests. The Cape arranged for a day of reef fishing as well for our family with the outstanding assistance of Bert and Carson--they managed to ensure that our family and our friends who traveled with us as well all caught more fish than we could ever eat!

The Cape provides the perfect island accommodations for couples or families who are looking to do as much or as little as they are inclined to do in paradise. Our family has shared the best of times together at the Cape--from my 5 year old snorkeling with schools of fish- to my 3 year old finding starfish off the shore as large as a basketball--We have found our island oasis & cannot wait to return next year!

Many thanks to Wendy, Frank, Starlene, Delbert, Bert & Carlson & all the other great friends at the resort who have again given our family the perfect vacation!

6  Thank adh4994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
71.5 km away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
41 reviews
298.4 km away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0 km away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Stella Maris Resort Club
Stella Maris Resort Club
#3 of 5 in Long Island
245 reviews
73.3 km away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
121 reviews
60.2 km away
Greenwich Creek Lodge
Greenwich Creek Lodge
#1 of 5 in Long Island
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas

Address: Galliot Cay, Long Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
Price Range: ₹ 18,406 - ₹ 29,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched... Undiscovered... Barefoot elegance in a Caribbean paradise. Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is unlike any place you have ever experienced. Mile after mile of silky-fine sandy beach melts into the warm turquoise water. With twenty bungalows and a handful of villas steps from the most beautiful beach in the Bahamas, an escape to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Long Island
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort And Villas
Cape Santa Maria Beach Hotel
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing