We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place”
Review of Glenuig Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenuig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenuig Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenuig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The owner of this establishment has no conception of Scottish hospitality. His manner is terrible and customer service is evidently an alien concept to him. Having been to the Inn some years back, I called in for a beer and bite to eat having travelled up from Yorkshire for a short tour around the west coast. Left without purchasing either. His accommodation, food and drink are over priced and since taking over and redeveloping the Glenuig Inn, he has an apparent disregard, if not contempt for its previous local history, atmosphere and hospitality. Establishments like this, run by people like the owner - are not what I think the west coast needs. My advice would be to avoid this place.

Simon

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
50 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    74
    19
    17
    27
See reviews for
52
83
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed in a privately rented cottage next door to the Glenuig. We had a couple of meals here & drinks a few nights. We founfd it most welcoming & the owner very obliging. We had four kids with us & a their grandad who has Parkinsons. The owner was extremely friendly towards us & very knowledgeable about the area even though he was not originally a "local". The prices for food & drink are a tad expensive but you have to keep in mind that there is not another pub for many miles.
Dave, Jenyy Hemsworth n kids from Batley, West Yorkshire.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jennyndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Having read some of the negative reviews I was a little concerned about my visit. I can only say I found the Inn and the owner one of the most pleasant places to stay. The Inn has been extensively refurbished to make a comfortable warm place to stay. The food is all local and well prepared and served. The location needs no help from man, nature makes such a fine job. We were made very welcome and the landlord made time to interact with all his guests. A great example of how hard work and investment can create a first class business. Well done.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Captpringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The coastline around Glenuig and across to the Borrowdale Islands are a tremendous place to visit in a sea kayak. We had a great time sea kayaking and exploring whilst camping in the area. With rain and midgies and a very small tent, cooking was not going to be pleasant so the only option in the area was the whitewashed Glenuig Inn. The old inn interior has been totally refurbished with some nice touches, photos of sea kayaking line the walls and there are 6 real ales to choose from and a great selection of malt whiskies and Scottish gins. Food is served all day which is great for hungry visitors in this remote corner of Scotland.

I agree with the other reports that this is a sterile environment, being newly refurbished, which I suspect will start to wear in once a few years have passed - the patrolling Belgian Shepherd was lovely. Snacks such as wasabi nuts are available, real coffee, and a selection of meals (I had the Lamb Tagine which was delicious and filling). They offer sea kayaking trips according to their large trailer advert.

However, it was surprisingly expensive - beer at 4 quid a pint (possibly resulting in an exodus of locals as the place was quiet), meals are from a tenner (Lamb Tagine was 14 quid), bunkhouse is 25pp, single room 60pn, double 95pn. On saying that it was lovely to have a pint of tasty real ale and not a pint of Tennants, it is nice to have the tempting snack selection and not Golden Wonders, there are home cooked goodies and the food was tasty - so for a one off we were happy enough. Staff were friendly and helpful and the owner chatted away.

The star is the area which is simply lovely, the sea kayaking is great (Arisaig the kayaking mecca is just north too) and the sunset over the islands was stunning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SeaAdventurer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stopped here for lunch, and guess what, it was open and serving food all day .
Arrived at about 2.15 to be greeted by a very cheery and helpful female member of staff.
Watched 2 ladies arrive at a place in Plockton the day before to get the usual glance at the watch ,and then "sorry ". Had a very decent lunch, which was not the cheapest, but I would have to say , in view of the quality, did represent good value. Did not experience any of the nastiness told by other members, maybe they just like a good moan. I can only take the place as I found it, and I was pleasantly surprised. Did not stay, as we were passing through, so could not comment on the accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jimbogan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenuig
8.4 km away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
9.1 km away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
22.1 km away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
75 reviews
9.1 km away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
292 reviews
21.1 km away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenuig Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenuig Inn

Property: Glenuig Inn
Address: Sound of Arisaig, Glenuig PH38 4NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenuig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenuig
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,255 - ₹ 10,040
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Glenuig Hotel Glenuig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing