We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
65
39
23
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
39
23
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounge roomloch nessmunro baggingkitchen and dining areaurquhart castlemain buildingplaces to visitsmall villageexcellent locationother guestsself catering kitchena great place to staywarm welcomedrawn maphosteldrumnadrochitfacilities
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stopped here one night in September and found it to comfortable and friendly. The staff/manager was very helpful, All the facilities are communal and the place was clean throughout. It also had a bar and three separate communal areas

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank E5785MHstephenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkipfmiller, Owner at Loch Ness Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Comfortable and friendly is what we hope that our guests find during their stay at LNB, and we are delighted to hear you found exactly that! It's great to hear you appreciated the cleanliness as our team work hard round the clock to keep everything tidy and clean for our guests.
Happy Travels!
Patrick and Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I stayed in this hostel for two nights and had an amazing time. True you have to walk a bit to get to loch ness, but there are some nice walks which you can start right from the doorstep of the hostel. The breakfast was really nice and the staff and owners very helpfull and friendly right from the minute I walked in.
Again a big thank you to Anastasia and Anouk for showing me around. I would have stayed longer if I had the time.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Janica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkipfmiller, Owner at Loch Ness Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the local area around our hostel. There are indeed numerous walks to be had from our doorstep! We are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful part of the world.
It's nice to hear you enjoyed the breakfast as well. We feel offering an affordable and healthy breakfast is very important for our guests, so many of whom are keen walkers.
Anastasia and Anouk would also like to say thanks!
It was great having you as a part of our little hostel family.
Best wishes and safe travels,
Patrick and Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The staff gave us a lot of tips on what to do in the area. They had a huge blackboard with suggested tours and even some personal tips like visiting the castle when it is already closed, as the locals do ;) Especially the walk to Loch Ness was great, despite it not being the most beautiful or stunning Loch. Kitchen was good, clean and well equipped. There was a bar with a lot of beers and whiskies.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkipfmiller, Owner at Loch Ness Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

It is nice having a castle on the doorstep, isn't it? We're very happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed the bar! We put Scotland first when it comes to our many ales and whiskies... And we know how important refreshments are after a long hike or drive!
We wish you the best in all of your future journeys!
Patrick and Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We came upon this place last minute when we hiked down from Inverness to see Loch Ness. They were able to accommodate my wife and I in a cozy private room for 20 pounds each and my friend in the form for 17.

Clean, as far as hostels go. Nothing noteworthy, but it was friendly and accommodating. It's within walking distance of a small grocery store and a few restaurants and a fantastic coffee shop called Cafe Eighty2. Highly recommend if you're looking for budget accommodation in town.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

You gain access to your room around midday.
When we arrived we struggled to figure out who exactly was running the place as they all just looked like normal guests not staff, they were on devices not really paying attention to the guests.
When they did notice you they gave you a helpful talk about the local area like where to eat/ visit during your stay. Then they took you to your room.
One thing that struck me about our room was that the lock on the door did not work (room 2). Also it was cramped holding 7 people, the bunkbeds had no safety rail to prevent people from falling off and the room REALLY needed a face lift in places like painting the bunks as the paint was peeling off.
The bath rooms in my opinion were appalling as
1. There was no door people could see straight into the bathroom as they walked in.
2. It was mixed gender
3. It was small.
What made matters worse was that we had a man sleeping in our girls dorm room which made it awkward to get changed.
Then there was breakfast. Chaos. Noone knew what they were allowed to eat as when they went to pick something a member of staff would appear out no where to say that's ours! It think that in the future the staff need to set things up so that people know what they can have without awkward moments with the staff.
There is no signal in the hostel so use WhatsApp or something to contact people.
On the bright side they have good WIFI and have lockers to secure your valuables.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews