We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly, helpful and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Ness Backpackers
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I arrived at the hostel without booking ahead, and planned to stay 2 nights. The following night was fully booked however the staff went out of their way to arrange for a bed for me regardless.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and were eager to get to know you. There was a large board covered with the best walks, sights and attractions around, and staff were able to suggest certain activities based on what you like.

The facilities were all very clean and functional. The hostel has a built in bar, and the owner/bartender was clearly very passionate about scottish ales, and could help you choose from a menu of hundreds of different beers and drinks.

The hostel made me feel at home straight away, I made many friends and had a lot of fun. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: All beds are very comfy, so nothing to worry about :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kacarott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkipfmiller, Owner at Loch Ness Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thanks much for the ace review! It was a pleasure having you around for a few days and I know the team will miss remember you for some time to come. Hope you enjoyed lounging by the fire and and the local area. Very happy to hear you enjoyed our little bar. We are indeed passionate about Scottish products and take much pride in the selection we strive to maintain.
You're always welcome back here! Have a great journey ahead!
Patrick and Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stopped here one night in September and found it to comfortable and friendly. The staff/manager was very helpful, All the facilities are communal and the place was clean throughout. It also had a bar and three separate communal areas

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank E5785MHstephenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkipfmiller, Owner at Loch Ness Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Comfortable and friendly is what we hope that our guests find during their stay at LNB, and we are delighted to hear you found exactly that! It's great to hear you appreciated the cleanliness as our team work hard round the clock to keep everything tidy and clean for our guests.
Happy Travels!
Patrick and Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I stayed in this hostel for two nights and had an amazing time. True you have to walk a bit to get to loch ness, but there are some nice walks which you can start right from the doorstep of the hostel. The breakfast was really nice and the staff and owners very helpfull and friendly right from the minute I walked in.
Again a big thank you to Anastasia and Anouk for showing me around. I would have stayed longer if I had the time.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Janica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkipfmiller, Owner at Loch Ness Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the local area around our hostel. There are indeed numerous walks to be had from our doorstep! We are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful part of the world.
It's nice to hear you enjoyed the breakfast as well. We feel offering an affordable and healthy breakfast is very important for our guests, so many of whom are keen walkers.
Anastasia and Anouk would also like to say thanks!
It was great having you as a part of our little hostel family.
Best wishes and safe travels,
Patrick and Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The staff gave us a lot of tips on what to do in the area. They had a huge blackboard with suggested tours and even some personal tips like visiting the castle when it is already closed, as the locals do ;) Especially the walk to Loch Ness was great, despite it not being the most beautiful or stunning Loch. Kitchen was good, clean and well equipped. There was a bar with a lot of beers and whiskies.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkipfmiller, Owner at Loch Ness Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

It is nice having a castle on the doorstep, isn't it? We're very happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed the bar! We put Scotland first when it comes to our many ales and whiskies... And we know how important refreshments are after a long hike or drive!
We wish you the best in all of your future journeys!
Patrick and Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We came upon this place last minute when we hiked down from Inverness to see Loch Ness. They were able to accommodate my wife and I in a cozy private room for 20 pounds each and my friend in the form for 17.

Clean, as far as hostels go. Nothing noteworthy, but it was friendly and accommodating. It's within walking distance of a small grocery store and a few restaurants and a fantastic coffee shop called Cafe Eighty2. Highly recommend if you're looking for budget accommodation in town.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lewiston
1.1 km away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
435 reviews
1.0 km away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
17.9 km away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
113 reviews
23.8 km away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
402 reviews
0.0 km away
The Lochside Hostel, Loch Ness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Backpackers

Address: Coiltie Farm House | Drumnadrochit, East Lewiston IV63 6UJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > East Lewiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in East Lewiston
Price Range: ₹ 1,624 - ₹ 4,287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Backpackers is your Highland home away from home. Owners Patrick and Nikki and their team provide a warm welcome in all weathers, with free tea and coffee, a wood burning stove, a well stocked bar, large guest kitchen and lots of friendly smiles and conversation. The farmhouse itself dates back to the 18th century. You can read about the original owners on the wall in the living room. Nowadays, it retains its charm but has been modernized to ensure that you get a good night's sleep and a nice hot shower in the morning before you head out to explore the spectacular surroundings. Free parking and free wifi. Inverness is just 20 minutes by car or bus. On the Great Glen Way. Ideal location for visiting Urquhart Castle. Breakfast, packed lunches and laundry service are available. Dogs welcome (but please call in advance). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Loch Ness Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing