We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
18
11
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
11
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Contacted several times but never responded to rent. Not sure they are still renting. After 3 emails I moved on to another location. Was very polite in my request. We hope to visit this wonderful country again. Hoping that these owners are ok.

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank Brandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

We visited matapalo after searching for a quiet out of the way place, to chill out at and access manuel Antonio.
After very little research and being advised of this place by somewhere else that was full, we were not disappointed! This area is beautiful! It's isolated and tranquil, you can hear the sea from your room and watch the sunset from the cabinas hammock! The beach is great for surfing and body boarding, if a little strong for swimming. There's also a very cute turtle sanctuary on the beach manned by volunteers.
Rachel and Adam are brilliant hosts, chilled out and knowledgeable and our room was very clean. guava bar and happy lobster closeby served some of the best fish we had in two weeks.
If you want romantic, chilled out, off the beaten track this is amazing!!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank ClaireC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

A most excellent beach and private B&B cabinas. perfect weather all the time. Great jungle. Least tourist and simple location. Easy access. Amazing place to experience relaxation. Run by a couple of incredible people.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveHanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2015 via mobile

For a quiet stay on a beautiful beach this is the place! The rooms are clean and bright with a king size bed and a small fridge and hosts Rachel, Adam, Oso and Duke are warm and accommodating. Dos Palmas is perfectly suited to those who enjoy a bit more of a rustic quality in a stay as things like hot water for your shower are not always available(which isn't necessary in the heat of CR most times). The drive down the bumpy road is worth it to escape the madness of high season and enjoy a vast beach virtually to yourselves. Extras include boogie boards, beach chairs and hammocks and our hosts were constantly providing us with little things we needed such as wine glasses etc. Our one night stay turned in to three!

Stayed: January 2015
Thank SunnygirlC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is the perfect quiet, beautiful beach, right outside your door--lots of sand dollars and drift wood! Rachel and Adam are very attentive, friendly, interesting and knowledgeable about the area. This is not your beach with bars with special mixed drinks, fancy pools and jacuzzis, or even gourmet restaurants (though there is a place nearby with great shrimp, lobster,etc.). This is basic, laid-back beach time--with activities in the area if you want to go after them (whale-watching, horseback riding, etc.).
Our room was basic with a big comfortable bed and a nice hot shower. A little sparsely furnished. But then the veranda has lots of comfortable lounging space. Rachel fixes all the coffee you could want and lots of different fruits for breakfast.

Room Tip: There are two rooms. I think one has more amenities than the other at present. Might want to check this out in advance.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antshrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews