We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
18
11
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
11
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Dos Palmas is a hidden gem on the beaches of Matapalo. Adam and Rachel are wonderful hosts - they have created a place of solitude and peace with their bed and breakfast inn. Please take time off the beaten path and visit their paradise. Black sand beach is right out the front door, rooms are clean and safe, and you can cook with them if you want! We'll go back for sure

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ColoradoWaterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

On a road trip through Costa Rica I needed a place to stay, preferably away from 'touristy' places.
Playa Matapalo on the map looked like it could fit the bill, and finding the nice sign 'Dos Palmas Beach Cabinas' confirmed that I was onto something! Driving onto the property I knew right away that it was all I had hoped to find!
Located right on a gorgeous, unspoiled beach, yet very private and quiet; wildlife everywhere; spacious, cheerful rooms with a fridge; terrific hosts; it's the perfect place to experience real Costa Rica! Rachel and Adam can keep you busy exploring the beautiful area for days, my stay was definitely too short.
Listen to them regarding the 'bugs' though! Mosquitoes don't bother me too much, but there are some other really nasty beasties on the beach, and you don't feel them bite!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were lucky to see white-faced capuchin monkeys roaming around the property the 2 days we stayed there and a sloth resting in a tree nearby.
Rachel and Adam are very welcoming. We shared dinner, good food and talk, with them.
Rooms are clean, they include a fridge.
The road is bumpy to get there but then you are in a calm isolated place, nothing commercial around.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Dos Palmas and had a great time. Rachel and Adam are wonderful hosts and are very familiar with the area. Morning sunrises and evening sunsets are a very dramatic backdrop to this beautiful beach. Adam has engineered a bug mister that allows guests to sit outside and enjoy the view from the veranda without those pesky biting bugs....Loved that!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65KReimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is really great place if you are looking for something outside of the same old hotels you stay in wherever you may be. Due to the remote nature of Dos Palmas you can really relax and focus on the beauty around you. If you are an experienced surfer, you have a very nice break in the back yard...all to yourself.

Room Tip: Both are great
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews