We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic haven of relaxation and stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kittiwake House

Kittiwake House montage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kittiwake House montage
Stunning sea views .... without even getting out of bed! Well stocked kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Kittiwake House montage
Stunning sea views .... without even getting out of bed!
Well stocked kitchen
Courtyard bedroom
Courtyard bedroom.
Kittiwake House has a comfortable and relaxed style
Relax and take in the views!
Family bathroom
Shower in family bathroom
Luxurious freestanding bath
Views to courtyard from first floor landing
Courtyard garden
Courtyard garden
Sunny courtyard garden .... perfect spot for relaxing!
Single bed
Kingsize bed
Master bedroom.  Beautiful views across the Forth towards Isle of May, Bass Rock and Berwick Law
Master bedroom with fabulous sea views
Master bedroom shown with two singles.  Can also be made up as a superkingsize bed.
Pretty front garden
Our guests can expect a warm welcome at Kittiwake
Kittiwake is perfect for a Festive Season escape!
Festive gifts and a cosy fireside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Grant G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Fantastic haven of relaxation and stunning views”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

It's a fab house and has everything you would need. The house is right on the Five coastal path. The owners have thought of everything and the little touches (from Tunnocks tea cakes to wine) and it's really perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2014
Thank you for your feedback ... We want all our guests to feel as though Kittiwake is a home from home for them. We were really touched to hear that your little daughter took her first steps at Kittiwake - lovely memories. We hope to be able to welcome your lovely family again in future x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Valentines Weekend”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Kittiwake House is beautiful; fully stocked, everything you could need for a weekend away just as a couple or with friends. The house was warm, welcoming and so beautifully decorated. The bath and other facilities were brilliant and the lounge was a proper chill-out zone. We packed loads of Prosecco and our walking boots and we had a fantastic valentines weekend together. We were even able to bring our wee Cocker Spaniel puppy Snoops which made it feel like a proper family break. When we arrived we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly, chocolate and some doggy treats. It's all the small things that make the difference!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2014
Oh thank you so much for this review. We agree that Valentines is a lovely weekend to take time out and celebrate. Too often we take important things for granted nowadays. We are convinced time slows down in St Monans which adds to the sense of relaxation. We are equally delighted that Snoops enjoyed the weekend (and the doggy treats!) x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house was amazing but the bathroom topped it off for me
Liked least: Nothing, can't find fault at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Feb 2014
WOW! ... Thank you so much for such wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves on our friendly, personal service for which we have become known and we are so pleased you enjoyed exploring St Monans and making your own discoveries. We are, of course, biaised but so many people agree that the area is very seductive and seems to pull them back again and again. Thank you for the comments regarding the comfort of Kittiwake. We are passionate about design and detail and continue to seek out stylish accessories to help create bright, breezy living spaces that sparkle with individuality. We have the dates you are looking to return and look forward to welcoming you back again!
.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HeyBrothe...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Year”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Spent 4 wonderful nights and days at Kittiwake House celebrating and bringing in the New Year. The house was beautiful and of very high standard with large rooms tastefully decorated with all modern amenities. The main bathroom is amazing with a great shower and a bath to die for great if you want a romantic weekend away. I have been to many holiday homes over the years and I can say that Kittiwake was by far the best value that gave you 5* quality. The village is quiet with a Hotel that does decent food with welcoming locals in the bar. If you get the weather you can walk to Pittenween and Anstruther along the coastal path which cleared the cob webs on New Years day. I would highly recommend the house to couples, families and small groups believe me you won't be disappointed. Thanks Wendy for a great time we really enjoyed ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything but especially the bath, bedrooms and lounge
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2014
We could not be more delighted! Thank you for your feedback, but more importantly we are so pleased you enjoyed such a fantastic start to 2014! As a family, we pride ourselves on our friendly, personal service for which we have become known. It sounds as though you discovered the coastal walk from St Monans to Pittenweem and Anstruther … we also recommend the chain walk near Elie for the amazing geology. We would love to be able to welcome you again … to recapture those feelings that are inspired by the sea and the welcome of St Monans!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilmadole
Lima, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A lovely house in an idyllic setting!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at the amazing Kittiwake house to celebrate Christmas 2013 with our extended family. Even though it was quite windy and cold, typical wintry weather in Scotland which we expected, we had a fabulous time catching up with the family, playing board games and unwrapping our Christmas presents in addition to taking in the sights around. The fireplace in the living room made it warm and cosy, the festive decor and a wonderful Christmas tree gave it a charming atmosphere. The main bathroom was quite large and certainly, the bathtub was definitely inviting! The kitchen was well equipped and had a good dining table.
Having a baby, it was decided that we would have the master bedroom so we were ecstatic! Our window overlooked a stunning view of the sea and harbour. It was quite windy at night and gales of wind did make the windows rumble but the foundations of the house are so strong, we didn't worry!
It was indeed a good choice because our family staying at Kittiwake loved it! Our family included my husband's younger brother and wife who flew down from Singapore and my husband's older brother who flew down from Ukraine.
We managed to have a walk to the windmill, have dinner at a seafood restaurant in Anstruther and drive up to St.Andrews to see the historic university where Will met Kate. It was indeed a holiday to remember.
We should say that the owner was so kind enough to leave us a bottle of sherry and delicious mince pies as well as Tunnock's caramel wafers in a cookie jar which I couldn't resist!
We highly recommend Kittiwake house not only for its magical vibes but also being a discerning and restful place where one can enjoy a holiday with family.
Have to mention my father-in-law and mother-in-law for sorting it out because Christmas 2013 will be memorable because it was our son Josha's first ever Christmas!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Master bedroom with sea view
Liked least: Strong gales of wind making windows shake
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2014
Thank you so very much for this wonderful feedback! The weather was incredibly stormy over Christmas but I am pleased you were able to venture out a little and so glad you found the house cosy too. I didn't realise your family were travelling from so far afield. But it sounds as though you had a good old-fashioned Christmas together and I am so pleased that you have some lovely family memories to take back with you. Please be assured of a warm welcome if you choose to return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing