We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (846)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
512
187
77
28
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
187
77
28
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel haggis full scottish breakfast both nights the main house lovely room long drive two night stay cooked breakfast nooks and crannies stayed for one night small room whole experience park and ride well worth a visit from start to finish carberry tower
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 847 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

Visited with my husband for tea and scones while out for a walk.
Service was a little slow as the place was pretty busy. But the scones were worth the wait. Warmed, crispy on the outside yet soft on the inside. Served with jam and cream. Beautifully presented on a slate platter with swirls of cream topped with fruit. Delicious.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jasi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018 via mobile

Just home from a 2 night stay, was lucky enough to be staying in the royal suite, was a hugh room with a large, very comfortable 4 poster bed and an even bigger modern bathroom with a bath, separate shower, 2 toilets and the most lovely view over the front garden. We ate both evenings in the hotel, fabulous food, great vegetarian options. Had a drink prior to dinner in the small lounge across the corridor, but there were many other rooms that you could sit and enjoy peace and quiet.

All staff very friendly, helpful and polite, nothing too much trouble.

Breakfast too excellent, love that it is freshly cooked, but also loads of fresh fruit and bread, croissants available and again great vegetarian options, with not only vege sausages available, but vege haggis too.

my only criticism would be the lack of a dressing gown in the rooms, but I understand this is being looked at. A very small issue in what was one of the best hotel stays I have had in some time, will definitely be back

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

We agonised over our choice of a Mansion house as a special treat on our 18 day tour of Scotland. We make the perfect choice for us. Service was impeccable by all staff, with special mention to the breakfast staff and dinner waiters - just brilliant. And, the food was as good as we have had anywhere in the world.The included breakfasts were without doubt the best we have ever had.Our Tower room was perfect, with outlook onto the amazing grounds in two directions.A walk around the extensive parklike grounds and garden was delightful. Mansion house was picture perfect set in huge area only a few miles out of Edinburgh, you do need a car. Huge ensuite up a few steps from the large bedroom. The many lounging areas had to be seen to be believed,the period furnishings and bookcases were like being in a museum.
For History buffs, worth checking out the role this House played in Scottish History.
Very special feeling just being allowed onto these premises, and the pricing we thought excellent value for what was offered.

Room tip: If you can afford it, choose a suite, the tower room was excellent with two aspects, just beware there are about 5 steps up to the Ensuite.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IAN richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Excellent suite (huge). Stayed in Princess Margaret suite and the dinner and breakfast were fantastic. Prosecco on arrival. Staff were very friendly and spent the time to chat about history of venue. Very helpful.
Beautiful grounds surrounding hotel perfect for an early morning stroll.
Also early check in and late check out next day meant you could relax in the morning and not have to get up early and rush away.
Overall would definitely recommend and we will be back

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Well as you can tell by my reviews I stay all over the country, my office books the hotel so it's always a a surprise where I end up, well after getting here at 8pm I was stunned at how stunning this place looks just from the outside, the interior is something from the past, suits of armour massive open fires, the rooms are quite large, the bathroom we have is a bath Andy shower, again haven't eaten here but the amount of guests probably says it all to be honest, another place I will stay on a personal level in the future.......oh yeah and the staff are fantastic and so polite

Room tip: Late booking for the best rooms
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank molly24854840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews