We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise 21st”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Lodge Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Broadstone, Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprise 21st”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We spent one night on Thursday 7th June 2012 at this hotel. A party of 10 in five luxury doubles in the lodge part of the hotel. The rooms all had lovely views of the gardens and were all very clean and comfortable. We used the jacuzzi even though it was raining and found it to be clean and a nice touch. This visit was a surprise for our daughter on her 21st as she is studying and living in London. She believed it was just her and her boyfriend staying there for her birthday treat. The hotel staff were very helpful in making sure our surprise wasn't spoiled too soon, even letting us in the 'tradesman' entrance to the lodge so she wouldn't see us arriving! We had a fantastic dinner in the Mary Beale restaurant that evening. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The only downside was the weather which sadly could not be helped, it just means we will have to go back another time and hope the rain keeps away so we can stroll around the fantastic gardens. Perfect venue for a wedding!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linnyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
What a lovely 21st birthday celebration you had.

I am thrilled that it all went so well, and that you had a memorable time !

The best part of working in hotels is helping people to celebrate memorable moments together in their lives, and this certainly ranks among memories to be treasured.

Do come again for the next family celebration and we will try and rustle up some better weather for you all !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    282
    106
    42
    27
See reviews for
211
510
43
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pershore
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is excellently located for those wanting to visit North London or South Hertfordshire. It is quiet and situated in the Beale family’s arboretum, with pleasant gardens and outside seating. The house is Georgian and the décor is calm and attractive. Public rooms are enhanced by portraits, many contemporary with the house and by Mary Beale (or copies of them),which give the building an air of calm grandeur.
The food, in both the bar and the restaurant was very good and pleasantly served, though bar meals could be slow at busy times.
This is a family run hotel and has some idiosyncrasies. The bar menu gives food, wine and some drinks, but there is no list of bar drinks (spirits, vermouths etc). There are no king-size beds, but two twin beds can be made up as one – if you ask. There are ground floor rooms, and very nice they looked too, but they are in annexes a fair walk from the main entrance, so unsuitable for those with walking difficulties. There is a lift in the main building, but this is not mentioned on many web-sites.
Generally the service was friendly and good; management and staff were very helpful when our dinner reservations were mangled. We stayed for five nights, and took advantage of a weekend offer; consequently we were given three separate bookings, which led to some confusion. Chambermaids asked when we would check out (not today or tomorrow). Worse , a receptionist firmly denied that our booking included dinner on two particular nights: I had to go to our room to collect their letter before he would believe me, which did lack style.
There are a number of fine rooms that can be used for functions: weddings, wakes, christenings, bar mitzvah celebrations and for conferences, parties etc, and it seems a popular place for afternoon teas, but things are so managed that these did not impinge upon us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your kind comments following your stay at West Lodge Park and for your constructive criticism, all of which is taken on board.

We will ensure the lift is mentioned more in future, and will try to squeeze some drinks prices onto the Autumn and Winter Food and Drink Menu in the Terrace Bar.

Nearly all our double rooms are equipped with queen sized doubles which are 5' wide which is ample for most people, and as your rightly say, if you want a 6' wide bed, we have plenty of zip and link beds that can be requested. All of our beds by the way are made by Hypnos, who claim to make the most comfortable beds in the world, and are suppliers to the Queen and all the Royal households.

And if there was confusion with your bill, we sincerely apologise for getting it wrong.

Do come again, however, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I recently visited this Hotel for afternoon tea with two of my friends, the staff were most welcoming and attentive and the service was first class. The table was beautifully set and the tea and cakes were scrumptious. After tea we walked around the Arboretum which we could see was obviously well looked after and had such a wonderful variety of Trees.
A lovely time was had by all, such a treat. Many thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed afternoon tea at West Lodge Park.

I can't think of anywhere within easy reach of London where one can enjoy a civilised afternoon tea, followed by a stroll around 35 acres of grounds full of arboricultural interest.

The Beale Arboretum was founded by my grandfather Edward in 1963 and carried on by my father Trevor and now by myself. It is a source of great joy, and now contains two national collections, of Taxodium and Carpinus Betulus, as well as many hundreds of unique specimen trees.

Do come back for another nice afternoon tea, perhaps when summer finally arrives !!

Regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed here for business in April for 4 nights, i picked this hotel as the reviews set it apart from the other hotels in Enfield, on arrival i was certainly impressed by the grounds and the building itself, beautiful!
The staff greeted me in a friendly manner on check in and i made my way up to my room.
The room was quite small but i'm not fussy on things like that, it had a bed, bathroom, small dresser with tea/coffee/bottled water etc
The bed was ridiculously comfortable along with the pillows and the quilt!
My only 2 moans about this hotel are the following
1) The huge green patch of mould on the carpet in my bedroom
I did inform a member of staff but did tell him i didn't want to be moved (i had already settled in) he seemed appologetic enough however when paying 4 star prices i really don't expect to find things like that (picture attatched) i left a note for the manager and never got an explanation - not 4 star standards i'm afraid
2) Breakfast is £18 and is buffet style!!! £18 for breakfast is absolutely ridiculous, i have stayed in 5 star and payed less, if it was cooked to order, salmon, or something fancy i wouldn't mind paying it but that price is crazy!!
All in all these 2 moans really didn't ruin my stay there, they have the best team of staff i have ever come accross, all so friendly and helpful and you get the impression they really like working there - something which you can't pretend i feel
The breakfast moan is only my opinion so it isn't something you can really hold against them as you can go and pick brekfast up somewhere else but the mould patch really shouldn't be there and i actually have given the manager 4 weeks to respond to my card just to give them a chance to explain but never received anything

However would stay again as i'm sure all the rooms aren't like it and the staff are superb!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlote B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay at West Lodge Park.

The new carpet for your room was ordered some weeks ago, but for some reason there is a delay in fitting it - however it should be fitted within the next week.

The breakfast price is not outlandish considering what one gets for the price - and the typical 5 star London hotel price is now in the high twenties, so we consider our £16 price to be good value for money, as you can stoke up for the day, and frankly not eat again until the evening !

I am glad you found the bed so comfortable, as it comes from Hypnos and is a pocket sprung bed, with lots of extra padding !

Do come again soon, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to West Lodge Park.

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed here for a wedding last weekend and we were in a side building in room 71. It was peaceful and out of the way which was perfect for us as we have 3 small children. Our room was huge with a massive king bed a sofa bed and a cot. There was a corridor with our bathroom off and all the facilities you would expect for a hotel like this. We were more than comfortable with loads of space. The staff were very attentive from reception to the guy who took us to our room. The breakfast was also very good. The only thing I would say was...change the manky shower curtain!?! beautiful room and an old stained shower curtain hanging off the rail!! Please change it! Otherwise really cant fault and would return and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thanks for your kind comments following your trip to West Lodge Park with the children.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, which I am sure was in Room 70 rather than 71.

This bedroom in Cedar Lodge used to be my grandparent's bedroom many moons ago when they lived at the hotel.

I have taken note about the shower curtain and a new one is on its way, so thanks for pointing it out.

Do come again soon, and enjoy this wonderful weather !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnet
3.1 km away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
582 reviews
11.8 km away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
654 reviews
9.7 km away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
4.1 km away
Travelodge London Whetstone
Travelodge London Whetstone
#481 of 1,068 in London
367 reviews
13.8 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Property: West Lodge Park Hotel
Address: West Lodge Park Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,223 - ₹ 16,382
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing