We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Food”
Review of Cookhouse & Pub

Cookhouse & Pub
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Ripley
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a couple of nights at the adjacent Premier Inn and ate here in the evenings. The first night we had Grazers as starters which were not great, but the main meal we chose, Tikka Buttered Chicken was very good and a decent portion size too which came with rice, a poppadum and Naan bread. The second night we both had the Giant Haddock and Chips which was very good, the fish was very fresh and tasty. We also had desserts which were good. Staff were friendly and attentive, we didn't have long to wait for the food at all which surprised me after seeing previous reviews. Very reasonably priced. I did however, prefer the previous format of the restaurant, but would eat here again if staying in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lvlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Visited here waited ages to grab a table the staff were really slow with taking orders and long waits during food an drinks very noisy the food was cold and wasn't very appetising wasn't worth the money if your in a rush and want a quick brunch I wouldn't recommend this place.

Thank melanielukanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread_CS, Customer Service at Cookhouse & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hi Melanie,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent brunch experience with us.

We are very to hear about the poor visit you had with us recently due to the slow service you received, poor quality food and the noisy atmosphere in the restaurant. This certainly doesn't sound like the visit we would expect.

We pride ourselves on the great quality of service and food we provide and so it is disappointing to hear you were let down by these issues during your visit. We do work hard to ensure every visit is perfect and so we apologise you were let down on this occasion.

We have ensured this feedback has been passed on to the General Manager to look into with the team and chef so that we can aim to prevent your experiences being repeated going forward.

We are sorry again and hope to welcome you for a better experience in the future.

Kind regards,

Rebecca, Cookhouse & Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Been in for breakfast and the service was great...very good customer service from sian and made us feel very welcome.

Thank sarahcutie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

A friend and I popped in for lunch and a catch-up today and had a really enjoyable experience. We were directed to a window table which had a nice view and immediately we were given a bottle of ice cold water and glasses while we looked at the menu. Our drinks order was taken and served within five minutes by a lovely girl called Amy. We decided on the scampi and chips and waited no longer than 15 minutes to arrive. The meals were hot,tasty and of a good size. Amy came and asked us if everything was ok and if there was anything else we required. Neither of us could manage a pudding but both had coffees.
Keep up the good work Amy you are a credit to your employers.
We will return again soon

Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

We visited the cookhouse and pub recently and had a really lovely visit. We were seated at a table at the bottom of the restaurant which was nice and quiet. Our waiter was really friendly and brought our daughters activity sheets and crayons to keep them them amused. The food came out promptly and was absolutely beautiful. Table service was quick and allowed us to have a lovely family night out. Wonderful, will definitely be returning soon.

Thank RACHEL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cookhouse & Pub also viewed

 
Wirksworth, Derbyshire
 

Been to Cookhouse & Pub? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing