We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cottage met all our requirements and exceeded...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ODP_007
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Homely, Amble great location, mostly good.”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We booked through the owner who advertises this cottage on their own website. It is quite a large terraced house, rather than a cottage, with large sitting room, dining room, bathroom and a tiny kitchen downstairs. Upstairs is another bathroom with shower and three good sized bedrooms. As such useful for a family stay.

When you enter the house it feels like you are staying in a friends house for the week rather than an upmarket holiday rental. It has everything you need, but don't expect a conventional oven - the space for one is taken over by a washing machine / dryer and a dishwasher - probably more use when you are on holiday, and there are two combination micro ovens to make up for this.

I feel the description of the 'garden' is misleading as it has a tiny tiny yard, mostly occupied by wheelie bins. If you want outdoor space then head down to the Harbour instead!

A previous comment is that you could feel the springs in the bed - what I think you feel are the buttons in the mattress which do give the impression of a somewhat lumpy bed, however saying that we slept really very well on the bed - I have a bad back which does not react kindly to a poor bed and it did not give me any jip at all!

Most of the rooms are nicely decorated, but I do think the bathroom and kitchen could do with updating to improve the impression of the house. We thought Amble was a great location, more unspoilt than Seahouses, and it provided us with a great base for touring. I think the house is good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location
Liked least: tired bathroom and kitchen, also slightly grubby
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steco1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient location and the cottage has everything you need but....”
Reviewed 18 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

....the Victorian/gothic style doesn't lend itself to bright and comfortable.

The kingsize mattress needs changing, as feeling its springs in your side was so uncomfortable that we put the duvet on top of the mattress, which helped, and slept with 2 single duvets from the other bedroom. The fusty smell of the bedding was evident for a couple of nights. Some surfaces in the bedroom were quite dusty. Mind you, the house has lots of stuff to dust!

The massive, gothic style, bed footboard(?) is so big that you have to be careful squeezing between it's pointed corners and the wall to get in it. Much better if it were a divan. (and no, I'm not that fat - not now, anyway!). At the other end of the bedroom a very large easy chair prevented easy access to the drawers of the wardrobe and the central mirror of which doubles as a very in-effective dresser, with no stool, as there is no dressing table (or stools) in ANY of the bedrooms so doing your hair is very awkward. (my wife does hers EVERY day....yawn!) The TV up on the bedroom wall was a bit small but OK if you don't mind a cricked neck.

The bathroom is a decent size but the elecric shower's lack of volume is only adequate at best. There are TWO extending shaving mirrors...excellent...I could position them such that my bald bit was clearly visible - first time I've ever easily seen it! :) The towels are on the small side and although there is a radiator in there you can't use it to dry the towels on as its got a shelf on it.

The dining room is a good size, with a big table, as is the lounge, which has a nice open coal effect gas fire, although the decor and heavy drapes to the smallish window made it a bit dark.
The compact kitchen has electric hob and large effective microwave/halogen oven.

All our meals apart from breakfast we had out. Locally, I can highly recommend the food (and wine) at the Wellwood Arms within easy walk. (it also has free wifi). The pub owners also own the recommended Zecca's restaurant on the other side of the street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the lounge fire.
Liked least: the big bed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Reviewed 16 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester
Reviewed 21 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham
Reviewed 9 September 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing