We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our very first trip to the Maldives & not sure what to expect as a family but had a fabulous time.

We stayed in a garden bungalow with open air shower which was beautiful. Arrived by seaplane where we were welcomed personally by a number of staff which was a lovely touch. Our suitcases were all taken care of and sent to our rooms whilst we were provided with drinks and a tour of the resort by a member of staff.

The all inclusive buffet was of a very high standard with chefs also cooking to order within the buffet option. We also sampled the a la carte menu one evening sitting directly on the beach which was very memorable & worth the additional cost. The tea house at the end of the jetty is another special place to go with fantastic views, coffee , cakes & chocolates.

The island itself is reasonably large and frequented by huge fruit bats, henry the heron & rabbits . Turning to the beach, this is gorgeous & we saw mantarays, reef sharks ( vegetarian !!!) , unicorn fish and many other beautiful fish right next to the shore line which kept us busy with our snorkels.
The sunset cruise included in the all inclusive option was another high point where we spotted dolphins playing in the ocean.

There are watersports available , a golf course and I also saw people playing football on a pitch.The spa looked excellent but ran out of time so didn't manage to sample the many treatments.

Entertainment was provided if you wanted it every night in the main bar including cocktail parties, pool golf, DJ, Maldavian dancing etc .There is also a very small selection of shops for gifts & souvenirs.

The main bar and restaurants had sandy floors as did most of the island, so we were able leave our shoes behind from the moment we left the sea plane until we went home which was fun.

The staff were all very helpful during our stay especially the chefs & bar staff who got to know us very well.

Overall, a wonderful place to stay & we would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMChris, Director of Sales at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Andrea,

Warm greetings from the Silver Paradise .... Kuredu is turning silver this year!

Your review makes us very happy that as a first timer to the Maldives, you had a very good holiday with us. Your concluding statement that you will return back without hesitation is the verdict on the holiday we provide to our guests, and rightly all our forces are aimed to achieve this statement from our guests. Thank you very much!

From the review we see that you have well utilised most of the facilities we have to offer, and have left some for your next visit too, like experiencing our spa facilities.

Kuredu has almost two and half kilo meters of lagoon offering practically unlimited thrill snorkeling. Being located at the edge of northern atoll reef, we have the advantage of experiencing marine life in the deep waters of the norther ocean and amazing range of hues of colours in the southern lagoon.

Being one of the larger resorts in the Maldives and retaining about 85% of it in it's natural form, the island has a rich variety of human friendly wild life that are very unique to this part of the world. They do contribute in making our guests' Maldivian experience complete.

We thank you once again for taking time to write this review for us, and it is our hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming again very soon.

Warm regards,
Chris Nargunam
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms and Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,222
    1,131
    261
    75
    55
See reviews for
886
4,965
65
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Imphal, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

stayed for 3 nights May 9-12 2013 in O beach Villa and a one night paid upgrade to the water villa
the reviews at tripAdvisor relally helped me finalize to stay at KUREDU.
it was my first visit to the maldives ,a honeymoon stay and we enjoyed every bit of it.

the kuredu experience started with the awesome seaplane experience,its a 40 minute or so flight and full of fabulous views of the many islands we fly past.keeping the cameras in hand is a must

then came the jovial welcome on arrival , something worth mentioning.though it did took some time while we were shown to our rooms but the wait wasnt a nagging one.

our room was the o beach villa overlying a nice beach with,the only negative was the small sea wall disrupting the view a little plus the sea at our side of the island wasnt too good to venture in

the o beach villas seemed to be at the farthest point from the main reception and the diving center where you gotta go for collecting all the snorkeling and the water sports stuff.

the rooms were cleaned twice a day were and were soberly and beautifully furnished,but the truth is apart from sleeping at night and an afternoon power nap one hardly spends any time in the rooms.
an open shower at the back was a new thing for us.

kuredu as such is a very lively place full of activities at all times and for everyone.
its like for you to choose what you want and to list yourself for the activities well in advance is a must do since the slots fill up fast as it was even in the off season the island was running to full occupancy.

snorkeling at kuredu was excellent fun and for us first timers it offered more than we had expected.
the volleyball with the staff in the evenings was also enjoyable.
we also had a Catamaran Trip which proved quite an experience ,for the strong winds posed a good bit a challenge and made our catamaran capsize once.



but the best thing was that even a midst the rush of the activities happening around and despite there being a lot many rooms and people on the island we were never away from our privacy and personal peace..we always had a good part of beach entirely to ourselves

i must also put in a word for the very courteous and helpful staff at kuredu
and must add that the staff iin the sangu restaurant where the best ,cant say the same about the O restaurant after visiting Sangu.


in all kuredu island so much lived to the expectation of a tranquilizing Maldivian experience

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docrishabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMChris, Director of Sales at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guests,

A very warm greeting from your honeymoon destination in the Indian Ocean.

Congratulations on your wedding and Team Kuredu wishes you both a long blissful life together.

We thank you for choosing us as your honeymoon destination, though it being your very first visit to the Maldives, using the guest reviews as the guiding force. We are indeed very happy that the resort could stand up to your expectations very well and you had a very memorable stay.

As you would have noticed during your stay that Kuredu offers a range of facilities and amenities offering a wide range of options that would help the guests to choose just what they would prefer to have. As a consequence we are able to use the vastness of the island to it's optimum level, yet retaining about 85% in it's natural form.

The 'O' Beach Villas on the north eastern part of the resort is open to the outer ocean of the atoll which has it's reflection on the beach and reef. Though the beach is short, the marine life here are quite amasing. As this part of the island is facing the open ocean outside the atoll, the waves and currents tend to be strong. The wave breakers are therefore are a necessity to protect the resort and the guests who are using this part of the beach.

We thank you once again for your kind review of the holiday had with us. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,
Chris Nargunam
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I returned to Kuredu in June to celebrate our wedding anniversary, after spending our honeymoon there 10 years ago to the day. Whilst very excited, my wife and I had reservations about revisiting this wonderful resort that had given us so many great memories.

We have a policy of never going back, (mainly because the world has so much to see and so little time to see it, but also so as not to potentially taint the wonderful memories we've made). There was no need to worry!

Our abiding memory of Kuredu, aside from its beauty, was the wonderful food and genuine friendliness of the staff. I'm delighted to say that both were as good as we remembered!

In addition, the Resort has seen a surprising number of upgrades over the past 10 years, so the Water Villa's are better equipped and there are more facilities on the Island including free wifi. Mobile phone reception is now also available whilst the new O Resort is a stunning addition. There's even a private air-conditioned reception lounge in Mali whilst you wait for your water plane transfer, including free drinks and Internet access so you can let family know you've arrived safely.

Overall, I can't think of anything a supposed 5 Star resort could offer above and beyond Kuredu in terms of quality and facilities, (other than a bigger price tag).

It's truly amazing the way the staff seem to remember something about you, no matter where you are on this fairly large Island, how many times they have met you and despite there being around 400 other guests at the time we went.

A special thanks to the bar and waiter staff in the Sangu Bar, the reception team in the Sangu reception and the room boy who did such a good job making room 507 look so nice each day. Like last time, the dive school was excellent once again, (I thoroughly recommend a scooter dive).

Sincere thanks to all the staff and management of Kuredu for doing such a wonderful job of preserving the outstanding memories we have of this amazing place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pokervillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMChris, Director of Sales at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to read in your review that your decision to return back to your honeymoon destination after ten years was very much worth it. We must thank you for the confidence with which you made this decision, and we feel satisfied that you were not let down. It is specially noteworthy for us know that you do not chose the same destination twice for very appropriate reasons, yet decided to break this rule in our favour.

We thank you for the observation made that the resort stands well upto the expectations of a five star property. Our efforts to step up our facilities and services would continue as directed by our guests through their feed backs.

We are also happy to note that some of our team members have made a difference to the quality of holiday you had with us through their service rendered. They indeed will be very happy to know of the impact they could make on our guests.

We thank you once again for your kind review and will have the hope of welcoming you again for your next wedding anniversary.

Warm regards,
Chris Nargunam
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

As a solo traveler, I admit that I probably don't fit the typical demographic of visitor to the Maldives, but this has been a destination on my "bucket list" for ages, and since I was sort of in that corner of the globe anyway, I figured it was time to make it happen...

Kuredo is an interesting place. The atoll is large enough that is basically partitioned into several resorts within a resort. My first surprise upon arrival was finding out that I had been upgraded to an overwater villa in the Sangu area. This section of the island over at the very west end is very secluded, one of the adult areas, and seemed very much a place for young honeymooners and couples. It's a bit out of the way, but the regular golf-cart "taxi" service can get you to the main hub of the resort quickly if you'd rather not make the 10 minute walk. The Sandu area restaurant had a very intimate feel with postcard perfect views of the beach that made one inclined to linger. I also have to give a shout out to Samil, one of the grill chefs, whom I think was determined to fatten me up. "Just a small piece" must be secret Kuredo code for "have two or three..." - Foodie Tip: On those lucky days when they serve it, devour the smoked tuna with reckless abandon. It's wonderful.

Another staff member over in Sangu who deserves mention is Amira, one of the reception hostesses, who was just as friendly and helpful as could be. A real star.

Kuredo does have something for everyone, and while you can pre-book activities, there is plenty of flexibility for last-minute planning, but for me, scuba diving was a big draw, and one of the reasons I selected Kuredo. As a heads up for other divers, the mandatory check-out dives are only done in the morning, so make sure to drop in around 9AM and they'll get you taken care of. The center does cater to all skill levels, including beginners, and some thought is clearly given to experience levels when the boat trips are planned. If you are new or out of practice, don't worry, they won't send you out to the sites that feature the express current to Sri Lanka...They offer trips several each day, and it is quite possible to do a two tank trip and be back in time for lunch. This is handy for parties that travel with a mix of divers and non-divers. The bubble blowers can get their fix and you'll still have most of the day with them... Special wave to Alexis, Yves and Veit, all of whom were great.

While my first week was spent at Kuredo, and that was spectacular, the second was spent aboard the resort's liveaboard, the Monsoon. Ok. I'm a diver, so I'm biased, but this exceeded all my expectations. Eat, sleep, dive is one those mantras that's not for everyone, but if it's your cup of tea, Monsoon will take you to some incredible places, and Chris Tricky, the boat manager and dive coordinator is an extraordinary diver who not only has an eye for all kinds of critters, but he also knows exactly how to guide a dive in a manner that gets everyone near maximum time underwater. We had a mixed group on the trip, ranging from a freshly certified diver with fewer than a dozen dives to a couple of old pros who had thousands, and I think its fair to say everyone had a blast. For those worried about such details, yes, the Monsoon is tech friendly, and the dive operation is run very efficiently. Some say it's the increased Nitrogen in the blood, but you'll sleep incredibly soundly until the 7AM wakeup call tells you its time to get wet. Yes, the first dive is before breakfast, and it's a great way to build up an appetite. You get back to the boat with hot cocoa waiting and smell of bacon wafting thru the door. Who could want more?

For the TA folks wondering, yes, this is a place that I will definitely return to in the future...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DerWanderer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMChris, Director of Sales at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

it is a pleasure reading your review made of the holiday had with us early this month. Your review is a great help to the divers intending to visit Maldives as a diving destination.

Splitting the holiday between the resort and Monsoon provides a perfect diving holiday. With this combination, one gets to give extensively the Lhaviyani Atoll and on Monsoon one gets to cover the Baa Atoll, Raa Atoll,. Noonu Atoll and Shaviyani Atoll - five unique northern atolls in all. Being away from the crowded atolls in and around Male', each dive site is an exclusive dive site for our guests.

We are happy that you have thoroughly enjoyed every day with us and have made your mind up to return back to us and repeat the experience.

Team Kuredu thanks you once again for your kind review.

Warm regards,
Chris Nargunam
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Kuredu is a wonderful resort but their customer service, when you get there leaves a little to be desired. Booked in Jan 2013 for three of us, Me and my two kids aged 15 & 17 to stay in a water villa, they were told the age of my kids when we booked. Sometime between booking and us arriving in August they changed their policy and made the area around the water villa's 18's and above but we were never informed. When we arrived after a long journey we were told we could not stay in the water villa and we would either be downgraded and some money returned. We choose to be upgraded to a villa with a pool and they picked the additional cost. What they could not get was that we booked to stay in a water villa and thats all we wanted, no upgrades just being on the water. Had we known of their new policy we would not have gone there. Its such a shame as the island was very nice - they just need to get their act together to tell the travel agents.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMChris, Director of Sales at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings to you from Kuredu Island Resort and Spa,

We thank you for your review of the holiday had with us.

Team Kuredu expresses it's sincere regret for the reasons behind the displeasure you have expressed in the review. It would be important for us to highlight here that all our tour operators have the same contract with the same terms and conditions. We ensure that we do not accept reservations from any of our tour operator who have not accepted our contract by signing on the document. Therefore the resort is legally bound to adhere to the terms with which we have bound ourselves to conduct business. This does not give us any scope to make any exceptions.

Having said that, we wish to assure you that we empathise with your thoughts. As a resort we have offered a complimentary upgrade to Sulthan Villa for the entire stay, which was most preferred by your children as it has a private swimming pool. Our Guest Services Manager has been in touch with you while on the island and has been assured that all's well with your holiday.

We acknowledge that providing the right information at the time of making reservation is critical and hence, we make all efforts to ensure all our tour operators have the same information and they acknowledge them with their stamp and signature.

Kindly do accept our apology one more time and be assured this error has been rectified from the root and almost certain will not occur again.

Thank you.

Warm regards,
Chris Nargunam
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuredu
21.2 km away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
7.7 km away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
26.8 km away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Madhiriguraidhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
4.2 km away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
24.7 km away
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanifushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Property: Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,557 - ₹ 66,932
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. It is 1800 meters long by 325 meters wide, about 57 Hectares (143 acres). Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight. The 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows & 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing