We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab little retreat!”
Lodge with large balcony to view the mountains of Sutherland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge with large balcony to view the mountains of Sutherland
September sunset from the Lodges Jump for joy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Lodge with large balcony to view the mountains of Sutherland
September sunset from the Lodges
Jump for joy
Sango Bay
Local wildlife
Sitting room
Lodge site
Glenmorangie distillery
Bedroom
Duncansby Head cliffs
Can you count the stars?
Kitchen
View from the site
Salmon Leaping Shin Falls
Dornoch beach and sky by Keith Kerr
From the rope bridge
Pony Trekking Brora Beach
The Big Burn, a favourite walk
Royal Dornoch golf course
Winter stag
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rogart, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
EmmaBoo15
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fab little retreat!”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely lodge, really cosy - even in winter! The kitchen was very well equipped and had everything we needed to cook every day. There's a good selection of dvds and board games on site, perfect for those chilly Scottish nights! The electricity allowance was more than enough for us, which included cooking each night, watching films and keeping the place nice and warm. Great value compared to other lodges we have stayed in where we've had a huge electricity bill at the end! Good location for jaunting in the car. Drive to Lochinver is fantastic and delicious pies at the Lochinver Larder! The best part is the view and the tranquility! We were in lodge 5 at the end and even though all the others were occupied we didn't hear or see anyone else the whole time! Warm welcome from Adrian, hope to come back soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2014
Thanks so much for your review and we really appreciate having your feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon and do hope you will be able to spend a little longer with us next time! Kind regards Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvwal
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“highly recommended”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Easy to book online with a follow up phone call from Trude which was a nice personal touch. Lodges are set in the most stunning location and are fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. Trude and Adrian have certainly thought of everything from the comfortable beds to the liquid handsoap, the cling film to the dishwasher tablets, it really is impressive. The dvd collection and board games that you can borrow from the laundry room is another little gem for making our holiday perfect. Highly recommend these lodges, fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2014
Lovely to hear from you and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do try to add those little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible and great to know that you found them useful. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangefar...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Highland Glen Lodges is perfectly situated for a relaxing holiday. It is easy to get to but remote enough to be tranquil. We were welcomed and given excellent instructions on how everything worked and where things were. There was also ample documentation in the lodge that ranged from information about the lodge to leaflets about things to do in the area. While the lodge is somewhat off the beaten track the directions we were given were excellent and we found our way easily.

The location is beautiful with majestic views from the lodge. The lodge had a balcony from which to savour the view and tranquillity. It is far enough from roads that the only sounds that could be heard were sheep bleating. At night it is pitch black outside. This allows one to see the stars clearly, a sight that a city dweller like me rarely sees.

The accommodation itself was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and came with tea and coffee making facilities (and biscuits). Each lodge has a dedicated parking space. The lodges are far enough apart and positioned in such a way that you are unlikely to catch sight or sound of your neighbours.

There is fee wifi at the lodge which was fantastic. I can think of a number of large hotels that don't provide wifi that is free and so easy to connect to.

This is well kept accommodation that is situated in one of the most beautiful parts of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our lodges and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked the lodge. We are fortunate to live in such a beautiful part of Scotland and it is really gratifying to know that you enjoyed exploring the North Highlands of Scotland and we do hope that one day you will return to visit those parts that you did not manage to see.

Kind regards Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in early August 2014 for one week and had a great time. The lodges are spotless, very comfortable, have everything you need and have the most stunning view across the glen to far beyond. It is an amazing view to wake up to each morning. The lodges are in a perfect location to explore Dornoch, Golspie and the Highlands. Adrian and Trude are lovely and always on hand to offer tips and recommendations of places to visit or restaurants to go to.

We have no hesitation in recommending the lodges for a relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your stay at our lodges. We really do like to hear that you all had such a great time and as there is so much to do in the North Highlands, we do look forward to welcoming you back and suggesting a few other places that you may want to explore. Kind regards Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect base to explore the northern highlands.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

With the lodge having fantastic views, perched on the hillside, we found it to be the perfect base to explore the northern highlands. It's central location allowed us to take in all the stunning scenery with most of the roads meeting at Lairg, which is just down the road.
The lodge itself is modern and very comfortable and has all you need, and has that incredible view...
Thank you Adrian and Trude, we had a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our lodges and it is great to know you enjoyed your stay. The lodge's location makes it an ideal base to explore the Northern Highlands and we do hope you will return one day so that we can suggest other little gems for you to visit.
Kind regards Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing