We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic place”
other travellers have booked this property
View from shady tree
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from shady tree
Track to Deloraineshiel Deloraineshiel
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
View from shady tree
Track to Deloraineshiel
Deloraineshiel
Deloraineshiel gate
Approach view
The deck area, ideal for relaxing
The deck, ideal spot for a BBQ
Cosy Living room
Log fire
Dining room
Dining room
Conservatory
Kitchen
Casual Dining Family Kitchen
Downstairs bedroom - Queen
Main Bedroon (Upstairs)
Upstairs bedroom - 2 singles. Additional day bed is also available in this room an can be made up.
Upstairs study/play room/chill out space
Downstairs shower room
Upstairs bathroom
Utility room with freezer, washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board and clothes stand
Blue sky relaxing
Enjoy watching the weather from Deloraineshiel
A view down to Deloraineshiel from Thorniecleuch Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tushielaw, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was the best equipped cottage we have rented for our holiday.
Very clean and tidy, and also the different types of utensils in the fantastic kitchen.
The views are to die for,there are good walks from the cottage ,The open fire pit was fun and after a cold day it was lovely being able to light a log fire in the lounge or the cosy kitchen.
Thank you for the very friendly welcome,
We will be back.
R+m snedden.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sheep. Space. Sunrise. Stunning House. Perfection?”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We loved it!

Really well renovated and refurbished for use as a holiday cottage - very high standards throughout which makes a refreshing change compared with some we have stayed at.

Plenty of hot water and heating available and a good drying area for clothes / welly boots etc makes it easy to stay at no matter what the weather is doing outside.

The downstairs bedroom and shower make a good option for those travelling with family - we put Grandpa downstairs and the rest of us were upstairs. Gave him some child free space!! The kids bedroom has three good sized single beds and was perfect for our three.

Watching the sunrise from the conservatory, stargazing in the darkness, walking up the hill behind to just hear the silence, just some of the things we did.

We were offered to have use of the wi-fi but didn't take them up on the offer - it's really nice to turn the phones off for a few days!

We will most certainly be returning!

I forgot to mention to Mike and Ann when they asked us if there was anything we could think of improving -- it would be that there were only 6 tea / coffee mugs. Would be handy to have a few extra ones..... #coffeeaddicts

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us! You are right, sometimes six of everything just isn't enough! We will put a few more extra coffee mugs in the cupboard, so that you never run out while waiting for the dishwasher to finish! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaBell...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An outstanding cottage in beautiful countryside - heavenly!”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

From booking to farewell, the cottage's owner couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. The cottage is fitted out and equipped superbly and the standards of cleanliness and attention to detail are fantastic. The views from the property are gorgeous, and overall it's perfect for those who love to get away from it all but love their comforts! As well as the beautiful bedrooms, the cottage is very well endowed with several living spaces, so guests can "do their own thing" as well as enjoy communal activities.
We didn't know this area of Scotland at all well but found Deloraineshiel a perfect base for exploring the lovely Scottish Borders.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting reading (and reading and reading) in the lovely warm conservatory.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnofpre...
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
“paradise found”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My wife and I have been traveling to Scotland for a holiday every year since 2002. We always rent a cottage for ourselves and our dog. Several have been okay and a couple were good. This is the first one that is outstanding. Everything about it is perfect for us. The remote location, the secure garden, the lack of light pollution and the well equipped house. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote location
Liked least: The electricity company turning the power off (the owner warned us early on)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midgecard...
Cardigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect place to chill out”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Peace perfect peace. Just us and the sheep and clean Scottish air. A welcome pack and lots of condiments and herbs provided for our stay should we wish to use the amazing kitchen facilities.
If, like me, you are a reader the conservatory is light and comfortable and inviting.
No need for extra layers with two log burners and central heating.
Hawick only 15 minutes away with major super markets and quirky shops.
For rest and recuperation this is hard to beat. Midge McGee

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 154
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing