We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/12/22
Agoda.com$107
Vio.com
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
176
75
24
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
176
75
24
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meringue extensive menu wedding venue ribeye steak short break good size hotel restaurant caravan site food was lovely poached eggs cooked to perfection one night stay scottish borders family room both nights cooked breakfast lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2022 via mobile

Just dropped in for lunch on way from Edinburgh to Kelso. Ideal halfway point for a coffee, lunch or dinner. Had fantastic meal from extensive menu, which was beautifully cooked and prepared. Very warm welcome from friendly staff and dog friendly too! Cannot recommend too highly

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Navigator40584615855
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 February 2022 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night on Saturday 19th of February in room 3, we had a small dog with us too as we were informed it was a ‘dog friendly’ hotel apparently (see later in review).

Firstly, the room was very basic and run down, in desperate need of a makeover and some maintenance. For £110 per night you’d expect a lot more in terms of luxury/standards. The bathroom was stinking of mould/dampness and as I said, needed some work done for sure.

When we checked in, we were shown to our room by presumably the ‘manager’ (if you can call her that), it’s difficult to tell as no staff wear name badges. She wasn’t the happiest and was a women of few words, she informed us that the dog wasn’t allowed on the bed (which is fine, he doesn’t get on the bed anyway).

Later on we ordered room service and ordered food only, the food was Wetherspoons standard at best and I wouldn’t recommend it at all. When ordering the food at the bar my partner was told that she could add it to the card that we booked the room with, which is standard in most hotels these days now that society is going cashless.

In the morning after a very poor breakfast, we went to leave (thinking we were good to go), rudely the same woman that showed us to the room (tall blonde ‘manager’) asked rudely if we were going to pay our food bill from last night. We said that we thought we’d paid it as we were told by the barman last night that we could just bill it to the card we booked the stay with. She explained, this wasn’t the case so we had to pay Cash (thankfully we had some money in the car). She manager said “aww he’s a 17 year old boy” (the bar man last night), my question is 1, why is a 17 year old working behind a bar serving alcohol (he offered us a drink) and 2, why is she putting him down because of his age? As a manager in the leisure industry some of my best staff are young guys and girls. The ‘manager’ also said “that’s not my problem” (that the card couldn’t be billed) and she also accused my partner of being a liar saying “no they never said that last night”.

Breakfast - undercooked streaked bacon, I have never seen streaky bacon used on an English breakfast, it’s usually back bacon. Sausages we clearly poor quality/cheap and the haggis was awful. Overall so greasy.

Dog Friendly - well it isn’t, you’re made to feel different because you have a dog with you. No bowl or any provisions for the dog, yet an extra charge for taking one.

Food - low quality cheap food, chips are horrible thick cut and the rest of the food just screamed Wetherspoons microwave.

Shame, used to be good here, this was our 3rd or 4th time here as a couple and also staying as a family a few times.

We’ll never be back, has it been taken over?

PLEASE reconsider before booking, lots of lovely hotels close by in Gala etc.

Room tip: Avoid at all costs.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 October 2021

The food in the restaurant/bar here is good quality pub food.
The room we stayed in was a bit tired though. Clean enough but very old fashioned décor and furnishings.
The en-suite bathroom was lovely and warm with the radiator on and the towels were soft and fluffy but there was nowhere to put your clothes when you were in the shower (other than a hook on the back of the door).
Breakfast was great with lots of choices and the woman serving us was very friendly.
Overall though, we felt this was overpriced for what it was and will not stay again though we would eat at the restaurant again.

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank djbP3587GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 October 2021

Went to The Lodge today for the first time since the change in owners. Not great the 2 burgers on the order came raw in the middle and the fish batter was greasy and couldn’t be eaten. The Lodge was famous for their meringues for dessert, not any more sadly. Only upside was the company and the polite young lad who served us

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank c_mcgee362
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 October 2021 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch. We both had the Cullen Skink which was delicious. Glad only ordered the small haddock and chips as more than enough. Would definitely return again when passing. Lady who served us was lovely. Could not fault anything and would recommend a visit.

.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews