We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/22
Priceline
$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/12/22
Hotels.com$129
eDreams
Travelocity$129
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
348
86
32
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
348
86
32
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high standard owners and staff walk in shower family room warm welcome roast beef first class food was lovely comfy bed evening meal well worth a visit both nights lovely room couple of nights overnight stay stayed for one night the pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2022 via mobile

Flying out of Edinburgh airport and wanted somewhere to stay to break up the journey / save an early start. Found this hotel online rather by accident. Booked a family room for myself and parents. Very easy to find and parked on the street but later found out there was a car park around the back.
The check in was easy and staff very friendly. Our family room was at the other side of the car park and turned out to be a separate apartment with a double bedroom, a single room and bathroom. All very well decorated and very comfortable. We had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel - I would recommend booking a table as we nearly didn't get a table. Food was lovely and again well decorated room.
We had to order breakfast the night before with expected time required.
We all slept well and was very quiet.
Breakfast was in a different dining area and was all set up ready for us when we arrived. The food was lovely and eggs perfect.
A brilliant stay and would definitely stay again.

Room tip: Book a table at the restaurant to avoid disappointment.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mandy Middleton, General Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2022

Thank you Lindsay, we hope to welcome you agian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2022

Mandy and Alan (the hotel owners) and all of their staff were amazing! They were friendly, helpful and very professional .
The hotel is stunning, our room (room 1 ) was bright, airy, elegant and extremley clean. The room has an impressive ensuite shower room which was thoroughly cleaned by a lovley young lady every day .
Thoughout the hotel beautiful art work is displayed, many by local artist.
The hotel has a very warm and welcoming ambience making you feel at home .
Great meals on the menu, all very tasty and extremley well presented.Service was excellent and timely, all of the waiting staff provided a first class service.
Highly recommended!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank V5879LAjanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mandy Middleton, General Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2022

We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2022

Stayed here for a wedding. The hotel doesn't look much from the outside, but inside it's a very beautifully decorated, charming hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The King room we stayed in was large, had plenty of floor space. The ensuite bathroom was also big, with a spacious walk-in shower. One of the nicest rooms I've stayed in for a long time!

The food in the restaurant was top quality. If you're looking to stay at a hotel in Lauder it has to be the Black Bull, you won't regret it.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 July 2022

This was our first visit to the Black Bull; we got a warm welcome from Paul (I think) at reception on arrival. We had booked a deluxe room and were given room 2. We were shown to the room, and everything explained, a very nice touch.
The room was stunning, very stylishly decorated, and spacious. Extremely comfortable bed. Large walk-in shower. Lovely large fluffy whiter than white towels. Everything was spotless.
Skylight window with automatic opening and blind.

We had drinks at the bar which were quite reasonably priced and bar staff were very attentive and friendly.
We had also booked a meal in – there was a large group in the dining room, so we sat in the front restaurant area – which was very pleasant as it was an exceptionally warm day.
The service from all staff was fantastic and all were very attentive. Although were mostly served by the youngest girl with the ponytail, sorry I didn’t get her name but the service we received was second to none. Her customer service, attentiveness, and attitude to her job all fantastic! Could not sing her praises anymore. She was dealing with lots of tables as it was very busy, but her service never wavered. The food was very appetising and tasty. The roast dinner was out of this world, but I’d be very surprised if anyone manages to finish their plate. Good quality produce and well presented.

Breakfast was served in the dining room, and it was perfect. We’d given our preference sheet the night before, no issue with doing that. Great choice again of cereals, fruits, yogurts, or the hot breakfast is cooked to order. We were again very impressed with the service given.

The decor throughout is of exceptional standard, from the artwork in the bars to the tweed wall covering in the dining room, to the toilets. I certainly wasn’t expecting this when I walked through the door. The ladies’ toilets were immaculate and very well presented.

Having always had a career in customer service, I have a great appreciation for excellent customer service when I see it and knowing full well that people are quicker to complain than to commend, I like to take the time to do so as I know the impact it can have.
Also, well aware that the customer facing people are not the only ones that helped us to have such an enjoyable stay. So, a huge well done to all involved, from room cleaners to kitchen porters.

All in all, we had a marvellous stay and we won’t hesitate to return.

Room tip: All the rooms look great
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dixieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 July 2022 via mobile

Excellent. Generous helpings, extensive menu, friendly service, we'll be back. Nice bar, lounge and fully refurbished dining room........charming host and hostess. Although we didn't stay, saw the new rooms which look very comfortable and are tastefully decorated.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 432stanleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews