We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
373
160
56
21
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
160
56
21
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free laundry lending locker front desk melting pot full size refrigerator a pet friendly hotel king suite business center longer stay small kitchen pleasant stay would highly recommend this hotel outlet mall short drive the room was nice keith destin
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Great hotel, staff is very friendly. The hotel let’s you borrow game boards,, kitchen supplies,, movies,, water toys,, and much more for the beach. I will most definitely recommend this hotel with friends and family. We will be staying here everytime we come to Destin. :)

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank lulu00234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood S, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Lulu,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Candlewood Suites Destin.

We look forward to your return as often as you would like.

We know you would love reduced rates so we are encouraging you to stay with us between the months of September to early November so you can enjoy this.

See you soon!

Cheers,
--
Tamecka Smith
Social Media Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

First let me say I take partial blame for my disappointing hotel stay. We booked reservations only 2 weeks in advance for our visit to Destin so my selection was limited.
Upon check-in we were told that the room included a kitchenette therefore no breakfast was provided and no room service. We were also told there was no maid service but could easily get fresh linens/towels upon request. We had no problem with these comments.

Although we have stayed in many IHG hotels we have never stayed in a Candlewood Suites. We found the room to be very dark and depressing due to one small window, thin walls and ceilings and loud hall traffic. We did enjoy the kitchenette. All kitchen items worked, the utensils & dishes were nice and well kept. It also included clean kitchen towels and hot pads. Hotel staff was very pleasant and attempted to be accommodating.

We typically enjoy relaxing in our room or the hotel common areas at the end of a busy day but this hotel is not designed with that in mind. This is best for those that just need a place to lay your head but not to enjoy the experience.

A couple items to share:
1)A soap bar, with hair attached, from the previous guest was found in the shower.
2) The TV was set to a predetermined volume and couldn't be turned up or down. My husband fell asleep early and I was unable to turn down the volume so I instead turned off the TV so he could sleep.
3) TV had an annoying "LG LED" ad that periodically appeared and bounced around on the sides of the screen.
4) We were awaken our first morning, before 7 am, by the galloping of two dogs in the room above, it sounded very much like a herd of wild stallions. The dogs proceeded to run from one end of the room to the other, back and forth, back and forth, for a period of at least half an hour. Which was then followed by one hour of intense barking. Hotel management informed us they had called the guest and he was returning to the hotel to deal with the barking dogs. As we left the hotel for our day at the beach we asked management how they would be dealing with this problem going forward. They planned to move the dog guest to the first floor. However the next morning we were again greeted by the galloping of dogs. Luckily this lasted a short time but earlier than our desired awakening time. The dogs started barking again but quieted down a couple minutes. Later we learned from hotel management the dog owner promised to apply a "bark" collar which appeared to have worked.
5) False fire alarm went off at least 2 times that we were aware of.
6)Sadly witnessed a family fight down the hall which include door pounding, screaming and running up and down the hallway.

We have never stayed at a Candlewood Suite before and don't know it this is typical or not. After checking out we stayed in a Holiday Inn Express in Fort Whalton which was a delightfully experience.

Picture of bouncing "LG LED" TV attached.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood S, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Hi Shann S,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Candlewood Suites Destin.

We sincerely apologize for the issues you faced while you were with us.

Please be assured that this, by no means, is our normal mode of operations.

Therefore, we will address each of your concerns as follow:
1. While we can react swiftly to any form of dispute at our hotel with the best resolution, unfortunately, we cannot prevent the initiation. If a dispute is detected, we act in due diligence for the most appropriate resolve.
2. There was a power outage on the entire block along the highway 98 which triggered a false alarm. Our team worked to identify the cause and disengage the alarm.
3. We are a pet friendly hotel so we encourage all our guests to ensure that their animals are always supervised and kept as quiet as possible. However, sometimes the animals get overly excited and once we are aware of this we intervene to maintain peace and quiet for all guests.
4. All our television sets are inspected during cleaning of rooms to ensure that they are full functional. At times, guests inadvertently unplug the device or shift the sensors on the television sets, or there is a power outage. When this occur the television requires re-programming for which our maintenance team is always available.
5. All our rooms are fully cleaned and inspected to ensure that we provide you with the best presentation of same.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and would have loved to hear from you while you were still with us so that we could examine the matter and offer the best service recovery for your compensation.

We have since redress all the issues you have highlighted internally to avoid recurrence and to improve our overall brand experience.

We hope that you do not let this encounter deter you from choosing to stay with us in the future. Kindly give us opportunity to serve you better.

If you believe that we can provide further assistance, please do not hesitate to call us.

Regards,
--
Tamecka Smith
Social Media Champion
Email: cwsdestinguestrep@gmail.com
Tel: 85-377-3770

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

They took very great care of us for our wedding Anniversary and the room looked amazing. They were very friendly when we walked in and when they found out it was our wedding Anniversary they did right by me.

Stayed: August 2018
2  Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Impeccable accommodations. Keith and his staff have went above and beyond in taking care of us. We came in with a horror story from another local hotel and we were sympathized with and treated unbelievably well. The hotel is in great condition. It is clean, everything works as it should. I can’t say enough about the service. Anyone should definitely consider this location when looking for a place to stay!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jhudspeth1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Always had a good relationship with the staff. Stayed for 3 months on business. The lending locker let’s you borrow a bunch of stuff (games, cooking tools, beach items, movies, etc) that you would normally have to buy on your own. Room was nice. New internet setup (they updated it during my stay) is excellent.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank RyanB4599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood S, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Hi Ryan B,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us!
Thank you so much for sharing your experience as well.

It is a delight to hear your feedback because our primary goal to satisfy your vacational/stay needs in every way.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Cheers,
--
Tamecka Smith
Social Media Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews