We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
22
7
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
7
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underfloor heating drying room south cottage cosy cottage cook dinner beautiful river your doorstep peaceful location clachaig inn keren signal laundry proximity beds linens pounds facilities
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We stayed in Signal Cottage, having booked it as a B&B. Some time after we booked we got an email from the new owners, introducing themselves and saying that they were introducing a healthier "continental breakfast" in place of a cooked option. I was a little disappointed (cooked breakfasts are a holiday treat) but not too bothered - I had visions of lovely pastries and homemade jam! However, on arrival we were told to help ourselves to cereals from the cupboard in the morning, and make our own toast and coffee. The fruit on offer was a couple of bananas and apples and a wrinkled satsuma. Very underwhelming, and poor value considering there had been no reduction in the price.

However, on the up side, the bed was very large and comfortable, the shower was fine, the location is stunning, and we were able to use the kitchen for self-catering in the evening which was a big plus. The new owners seemed very friendly and nice, and so long as they make it clear on their website that this is effectively self-catering with some free cereals, I would recommend this as a place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank beckygardiner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keren S, Owner at Glencoe Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hi Becky,

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We understand your disappointment.

We will make sure it is clearer on the website regarding the food. We have chosen not to cook breakfast for a variety of reasons but will work on providing something of a treat for future guests.

Cheers
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We spent 3 nights in West Cottage with our 3 children.

Secluded but easy to find, we were met with a warm welcome and a perfect clean, cosy cottage. Weather was suitably Highland, so a great pub a 5 minute walk away was superb. The river directly outside the back door for evening paddling was perfect. And we also took a couple of hours' Rugged Paddleboard tour with Rob on Loch Leven, where the kids loved the many curious seals who followed us.

Overall a perfect spot for a few days in Glencoe, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WhittakerPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We are a family of three persons and stayed in the bunk room, self catering. It's perfect for one night. The proximity of the Clachaig Pub is a good point, no need to cook for the evening meals. Otherwise the room would be too small, and especially the table which is a salon table and not a kitchen table. For breakfast it is OK, may be less for bigger meals. But again, the location is great, in the forest, and near a foot path.And Keren and Rob are really given good explications to come to their place. Helpful.
Great stay !

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hamburg2016708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We stayed in the family room and it was great, the laundry was right next door and we had a little refrigerator to store our stuff in! We also were able to cook dinner because of the microwave in our room! The people were also fantastic. They were very helpful and available for any questions we had! I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Go to Ft. Augustus and visit the Clansman Centre! Also, a cute hike right before Glencoe on the same road as the Glencoe Cottages!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in room 1 in the B&B and would highly recommend it. Comfy beds, excellent continental breakfast which we could get at a time suitable to us. 7 min walk to the clachaig for dinner both nights. Weather wasn't too kind but regardless, it's a beautiful area with limitless options for hiking. Couple of hooks on the door or walls would be useful, but otherwise an excellent place to stay

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lil_lady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews