We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cottage, well situated.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Garelochhead, Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
iainf46
Penrhyndeudraeth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice cottage, well situated.”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Nice cottage fitted to a high standard ideal for a couple. Dougie, the owner, very helpful and welcoming.
Cannot fault the cottage. Location is excellent for touring the west and Argyll, the village has basic facilities but Helensburgh is a 15 min drive and has supermarkets, Boots etc and all you need. Train service from Helensburgh to Glasgow/Edinburgh every 30 mins and very convenient if you wish to go that way.
The access track mentioned by others is a little narrow and steep in places but would only trouble you if you drive a 10 foot wide car so dont be concerned.
One tip: The water pressure is high so if you turn the tap on too far you will need a change of clothes..:-)
Nice play to stay...dont hesitate.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavenG84
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and SO peaceful”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We booked this cottage for a week and were so pleased to have found it. It was the the jewel in the crown for us on our holiday touring Scotland. It was immaculately clean and warm on arrival and there was also a lovely welcome pack of local produce waiting for us. The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard with plenty of CDs, DVDs, books and games to use during your stay. It is located in a wonderfully quiet location and we were delighted when the deer came for a visit (unfortunately they were after the heathers that Dougie had planted). We met Dougie, the owner and he couldn't have been more helpful and is continually working to improve to garden area.
If we ever return to Scotland, there's nowhere else we would choose to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackyfree
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“peaceful and charming cottage”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having read other reviews of this cottage the only thing worrying me was the rough track leading up to the property as I was hiring a car but to my surprise the track has been recently re-done and was no problem getting up. The owner of the property, Dougie was also very nice and helpful, he has also done a lot of work on the garden which you cannot see in the pictures on the sykes website, it has a nice patio with table and chairs and pretty flower beds, a lovely place to sit and admire the view which is great. The cottage itself was very clean, comfortable and well equiped with a lovely welcome pack.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, quiet spot with stunning views across the hillsides through the woodland.”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nestled up a winding steep track between waterfalls and woodland the cottage was a glorious little find. Well equipped and Dougie a very thoughtful host. We received a complimentary basket of local goods, milk, bread and wine. Well thought out in its facilities and very comfortable. We loved this little quiet retreat and will come back to explore further afield as we only got as far as along the loch side as we had a relaxed trip to visit family in nearby Dumbarton. Lots to see and do, with Glasgow a train ride away... We will be back and thank you Dougie. Can't wait to return to see what you have done with the garden as when is is sorted it will be perfect! So peaceful and relaxing.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! We are really pleased that you had a brilliant stay and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannu H
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tidy little cottage with good location to explore west Scotland”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We (three jolly fellows) arrived on Saturday afternoon to this cottage. Fist issue was that we did not dare to climb up the access road with rental Ford Focus Wagon - we were afraid it would get damaged - no grip when climbing slowly and with higher speed the bumps would most likely damage the car.

So we parked the car in a small offroad place about half way to cottage. After couple of days neighbours (local people living close to cottage) knocked our door and complained about our parking saying it is dangerous and adviced to park in the end of Linn Walk. We did not find our parking dangerous, but decided not to disagree. We did park the car there every time after that. No problems after that. Access road does not have any lights so it is a good idea to have a flashlight or something with you when walking the access road.

The cottage itself was nice. Modern equipment, tidy and clean, heating worked nicely, enough towels and bed linen. The WiFi connection worked fine and came in handy, because the mobile network is not great in these areas. In Garelochhead you can find basic things like shop, pub, post office etc. There is a big military naval base in Garelochhead, but that doesn't bother the stay.

Location of cottage is very good when exploring the Loch Lomond area or other nice places in nearby, also Helensburgh is about 7 miles away and there are more shops & restaurants and supermarket like Waitrose. It takes around 45 minutes to drive to Glasgow and the way there is quite straightforward through Helensburgh. We travelled one day also to Oban and Fort William and back to cottage. Other day we travelled to Glenturret (Famous Grouse) and Blair Athol Whisky Distilleries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: The access road
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing