We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ormidale 2018”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
76 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 35
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
770kirsty...
1 review
“Ormidale 2018”
Reviewed 5 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

Just back home after our 10th year visiting Ormidale House and it was fab, fab, fab as usual!!!

We were greeted by Pamela and her hubby, the housekeepers on arrival who attended to our every need throughout our stay - and with a group of 23 women that was no mean feat!

The house was spotless and caters for exactly what we always look for - comfort with a bit of grandeur!

The bedrooms are well presented and the beds are extremely comfortable with the most luxurious bedding. We entertain (perform!) in the drawing room with ‘Ormidale’s Got Talent’, Lip Sync, quizzes and laze about in the TV room to watch our favourite movie. However, our most favourite place in the house is the kitchen as we just love sitting around the kitchen island for a good old blether!

Depending on the good old Scottish weather we explore outside but this year we spent a lot of time on the grounds with Ormidale’s ‘It’s a knockout’. Given the age difference in our group goes from 13 to 73, this was a challenge with a few serious competitors amongst us but the hot tub eased away a few aching pains afterwards!

Although we are just back today from Ormidale 2018, we are already planning for Ormidale 2019 and can’t wait for our next visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2018
Thanks so much for the ongoing custom and the glowing review. We love this tradition and I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackPacke...
1 review
“A grand country house in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 17 October 2018 for a stay in July 2017

Ormidale House is a country house of great character, in a magnificent rural setting, which proved an excellent choice for our family reunion, bringing together cousins from various parts of Britain and North America. There is lovely country to explore, by car or on foot, with several good eating places within an easy drive. The frozen food available from the on site caterers was excellent.
The amenities were good, with barbecue, hot tub, swimming pool, a rather rough tennis court, football field, lawns, trampoline, games room, even if some attention to detail was required in places.
The house was clean, well appointed, if in need of a lick of paint here and there, and the supply of hot water was a little variable at times. However any minor problems encountered were promptly dealt with by the staff on hand.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We didn't have an entirely problem-free season but it is lovely to hear your overall positive feedback. Thank you for your fair assessment and for taking the time to make it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyH212...
1 review
“Lovely big house in the heart of the forrest”
Reviewed 12 October 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed at this house for a week to celebrate my uncle & aunt's wedding. There were many of us (around 20) and it was plenty spacious with different rooms for all sorts of entertaining (games room and the dining area were use most by us and the fire in the games room made it super cosy).

The house was tidy and organised so we were able to access everything we needed to (kitchen was really well equipped with lots of stuff and cooking facilities too).

Overall for a large group looking for a secluded beauty with amazing views, super kind and helpful owner and staff I'd 100% recommend Ormidale!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2018
Thanks so much. What a lovely review. We hope to see you again. Best wishes to all your lovely group.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest8235...
1 review
“Great place for family group, our age range was 4 - 79.”
Reviewed 11 October 2018 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely walks, cycle rides and places to visit. Or you can just relax in hot tub or swim in pool, play snooker, read etc. We found Ormidale house exactly as described and it suited us well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2018
Thanks for the review. I am glad it went so well, and that you found us exactly as described.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelamcl...
Darwin, Australia
1 review
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 11 October 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Wonderful house, lovely staff to deal with. Was clean, tidy and had everything we needed. Staff couldn’t do enough to make us feel welcome and assist.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us - we can never please all the people all the time but it is a pleasure to hear from those who we have looked after well! Cheers x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing