We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house for large family get together!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
75 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 35
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rach M
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect house for large family get together!”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed here in December 2015, for a Christmas weekend away with family. Huge house with lots of character. Big kitchen, perfect for cooking for lots of people with a handy breakfasting area next to the kitchen, and also a grand dining room with a large table perfect for our Christmas dinner. The bedrooms were nice and I think everyone agreed the beds were comfy. Plenty of rooms including a games room and several sitting rooms. Lovely scenery on the drive here and I expect would be a nice place to stay during the summer in Scotland.

I would also recommend driving 25 minutes to nearby Portavadie Marina, where there are amazing leisure facilities, including an outdoor pool, which we braved in December!

I have stayed in other houses like this for family holidays but would definitely recommend this one as it is big enough for 20+ people and has really good facilities. Also not too long to drive for people coming from Edinburgh or Glasgow. The only thing I would say was not up to standard was the ensuite in the bedroom we stayed in, which wasn’t the cleanest and had a carpet which smelled damp. However other than this we all had an amazing few days and I would recommend staying at Ormidale House.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peaches19...
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing break in a property with Plenty of Character”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in December - large family group of mixed ages accompanied by our furry friends. The House is beautiful with great character, as are the sizeable grounds which are great for walking and wandering with the dogs and taking in the views and fresh air.

The property is very spacious with a rustic interior. We had a party of 17 and never felt as though we were lacking in space. Two sitting rooms (one with/one without a TV - open fire in the one without the TV), a games room with an open fire and many other areas ensured there was more than ample room for everyone to relax without stepping on each other’s toes.

The kitchen is huge (and well equipped) which provides more than enough room for prepping meals for a large group. There is a dining table which comfortably sat our entire party and again, there is an open fire in this room which adds to the charm. We had a fantastic family Christmas dinner during our stay.

During our stay we left the grounds and travelled about 30 minutes (maybe less) to a newly opened complex named Portavadie Marina Spa. £12 gives you all day use of the facilities which include an outdoor infinity pool which overlooks Loch Fyne with views to the Isle of Arra. Well worth the trip for those wishing to get out and about during the day.

Travel to and from the area is relatively simple. We took the Ferry from Glasgow on our way to Ormidale but took the scenic route home. I'd recommend the scenic route if heading back in the direction of Glasgow or similar. You won't spend as much in petrol as the ferry costs and the roads are better, not to mention the views. (On the subject of petrol, fill the tank in advance as there aren't many stations around and opening times can be sporadic).

The property certainly has its own quirks and character and although not brand new nor blemish free - it is entirely fitting with what you would expect from a property of this type and period and makes for a comfortable and warm get away in the Scottish countryside.

We are looking at returning at some point this year and would recommend Ormidale House for anyone looking to get away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of petrol facilities (our own fault!)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doreen H
Broxburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing house in a great location”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Picked Ormidale House for a large family weekend break and the house lived up to and beyond every expectation. We decided not to take the ferry to Dunoon, and it was so worth it, the scenic drive was beautiful. Upon arrival we were met by the owner and given a short guided tour around the house. Ormidale House is a grand old house with so many original features, open fires in 3 reception rooms, with ample wood provided, that's if you are happy to disturb the ram who wonders round the grounds and likes to snooze in the wood shed!! Having the space and variety of things to do was great for the group as not everyone wanted to watch the live boxing on sky TV. The kitchen had every possible utensil you could think of and cooking breakfast on the Aga with huge frying pans was all part of the experience. If you're visiting in the winter, bring extra jumpers as it's a big house to heat, but hey , we're in Scotland. Family all wanting to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The group were left to enjoy their weekend and there was no problems with our pets, as we had more than one
Liked least: had hot tub problems
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2016
THANK YOU FOR COMING AND THANKYOU FOR YOUR KIND COMMENTS. YOU WILL ALL BE VERY WELCOME BACK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house, perfect accommodation for large groups”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I visited Ormidale House as part of a large group and upon arrival I was very impressed with the appearance and presentation of the house. It is extremely large and spacious, with many rooms for separate purposes, but the house still manages to maintain a sensible layout, meaning that you can easily find whatever room you are looking for throughout the house without getting lost.

The facilities within the house were also very impressive, and it is clear that everything a large group may need has been considered and included within the house.

As an added bonus, it was very simple and straight-forward to travel there by car, making the holiday less stressful from the start.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulously well equipped house with stacks of character in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Ormidale House was the perfect location to celebrate a significant birthday with a wonderful group of friends. On arrival it was great to explore the house and look at all the unique features, paintings and ornaments.
The large kitchen is very well equipped making it easy to cater for a group. The dining room has a very long table with lots of chairs, the perfect place to serve dinner. A games room with snooker and pool is great for whiling away a rainy afternoon. The jacuzzi and sauna lovely for relaxing.
Whatever the occasion, The Ormidale House is an amazing venue for getting together with friends or family.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing