We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hen weekend”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
119 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 119 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ClaireM45...
1 review
“Hen weekend”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the onsite staff were very helpful.

Was difficult to find accommodation that fitted all 22 of us but it was a great venue for a large group.

Idyllic setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thanks for being so nice about our house and our staff - it's great to get such positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ormidale house”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Fifteen of our family stayed at Ormidale House between 20-23 April this year. there are four properties within this estate to rent. We rented the Mill House which has been beautifully converted.. The Mill House sleeps far more than the 15 that we were, we had more than enough personal space for ourselves and some extra freedom too. The Mill House has been thoughtfully renovated with luxury in mind, the main room is lovely and has everything that a large party needs. The bedrooms ( i have seen that other people have said that they are a bit small), we loved their quirkiness, if you want hotel rooms...then stay at a hotel? this is a beautifully converted Mill House, simple as that. Our family aged between 10-90 years old stayed and we all loved it here, it had a little something special and oldie worldly for all of us, there was of course the pool for the kids, beautiful small walks for the oldies, just enough time for a small sherry, but for the more adventurous of us we had a discovery of a climb/walk behind the Mill through aged forestry that was amazing, the kids were fascinated by the 4ft tall ants nests that we found and the natural beauty, freshness of the wild trees. The children aged 10-15 years made a bridge from stones and discarded bits of wood across the beautiful water fall that travelled pass the Mill....no X Box needed everyone....just a little imagination. The house is positioned so very well for access to Loch Fyne and a few adventures to other beautiful places. we went for our father in laws 90th Birthday and we all had a lovely, relaxing time....For those that were lucky our favorites was the Owls at night...we loved to hear them in the quiet of the night. lovey memories. Holly Boyd

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a lovely, personal review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go709954
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hen Weekend!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Having struggled to find accommodation big enough to accommodate a large hen party, myself and another 3 bridesmaids came across the Ormidale House website and we struck lucky! The accommodation is set in a beautiful location in the west of Scotland with a very scenic and picturesque drive which was made even better by the wonderful sunshine that accompanied our weekend. We stayed in Mill House which comfortably slept 22 people and was equipped with everything we needed over the weekend. The house was spotless upon arrival and was equipped with added extras such as tea, coffee and loo roll which was something we had brought ourselves due to it being self-catering. However, these added extras were a bonus! The staff onsite were there to greet us upon arrival and were very friendly and helpful. They happily answered any queries we had and provided us with help as and when required over the weekend, and they did so with a big smile. They had also warmed up the hot tub for us which was frequently used over the weekend and was a great addition to the house.

Additionally, we booked a catering company - All on Us Catering Service - to cook us a 3 course meal on the Saturday night which meant we could enjoy ourselves and join in with the socialising in the evening. We sourced this catering company through John who kindly recommended them. The catering company arrived at 3pm on Saturday afternoon and ensured that the table was set and they were prepared to cook us a 2 course meal followed by a cheeseboard. The staff were polite, friendly and very professional, and cooked us a delicious meal which was great value for money. If looking to book a catering company for an evening I would highly recommend All on Us Catering Service, you will not be disappointed.

I would highly recommend Ormidale House to anyone looking to book a hen weekend or even a family holiday as the location is brilliant and the staff are excellent. John was extremely helpful, efficient and quick at responding to emails and answered any queries we had about the accommodation. I don’t think we could have picked a better place to host my friend’s hen weekend, as a great weekend was had by all. I must thank the staff again for their hospitality over the weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. And for looking after the house so nicely. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heathermo...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mill House”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I could not say enough nice things about this place, the house it's self was incredible and the stone walls were beautiful! The surrounding scenery was also so beautiful and just the perfect setting. The staff were so helpful and and the booking process was so smooth!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2017
thank you so much. Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stef0487
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a great weekend. The house is very spacious and had plenty of room for us all.

The house is very impressive in it's size and the layout. The downstairs is great for gatherings and the decor is lovely. Its very comfortable. The bedrooms were also great, although they are small it doesn't really matter as there is enough room to sleep and get dressed. Beds are very comfortable and there is plenty of pillows. The bedding etc was clean. The upstairs sitting area, games and utility rooms and the sauna are also good additions.

Would definitely book again for a group.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Thank you for such a positive review. Most guests really appreciate the space and the way we look after them. You looked after the property very nicely and we would love to have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing