We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Girly Weekend”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
108 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wends65
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Far from as described 'on the tin'. Not recommended.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house was described 'on the tin' as a 4 star "WOW factory. In actual fact it was extremely tired, badly maintained and in serious need of a 'face lift'. The information given on the website vastly inflates the quality of the property, which after our first 24 hours, led to those expectations tumbling. We were poorly greeted, not informed of a room or bathroom out of action, exposed to consistently poor fixtures & fittings and equipment which was shabby and broken. The main sofa was shredded and was covered with a blanket, sinks and baths throughout were not draining properly and there were only limited channels on the much vaunted Sky TV. The list was endless. This property was definitely not a WOW factory, more a graveyard of dreams. I would recommend this property for Stag and Hen parties only.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Quality of the entire contents of house and shoebox bedrooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
We have had happy family groups in the Mill House all summer, most of them giving us four or five out of five. The messages from this group of six families were confusingly mixed throughout their stay - some were extremely happy and told my staff everything was fine. Others were apparently constantly finding fault.

I was given a chance to solve this situation by giving them £1,000 as compensation; this I declined to do, as there really wasn't anything wrong with the house or the facility, and it appeared to me that there were some members of the group who had a purely financial motivation for cataloguing our faults and turning really quite small mole-hills into major mountains.

The main problem was that they arrived over an hour early having driven from the South of England; my cleaning team didn't have the chance to finish their cleaning and checking tasks properly as carfuls of tired children and stressed parents unpacked themselves into the house.

Perhaps we should have told them they couldn't come in, but we preferred to let them in to start their holiday. It then seemed to us that they had a pretty good time in hot tub, sauna, and pool, in games cottage and on football pitch and tennis court. We had a problem with one bedroom and gave them the next door two bedroom cottage usually costing an extra £995.

I am sorry that their review doesn't reflect the quality of holiday that it looked as if most of them had. We tried our best to make them all happy, but clearly we didn't succeed. I wish I could have pleased all of these people all of this time. I am glad most of our reviews are more complimentary - and, in our view, fairer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marydoll7...
Alexandria, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Girly Weekend”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here last weekend for 2 nights, 22 females from 20's to 60's. Had a brilliant time. The staff were very helpful and explained everything we needed to know. The rooms although not too big were substantial for a weekend trip away. We also got to use the cottage because of the amount of us staying. We hired the hot tub for our stay and must say was the best part of the weekend lying there in the snow and rain but roasting. Some of the girls used the pool, some went for walks and some went into Dunoon. The taxi cost £40 there and £40 back it did seat 7 people. What a great way for a group of friends/family to spend time together having fun and making great memories. Thinking of going back again later in the year it was that enjoyable. Just make sure you take plenty of food etc with you as there is no shops nearby :)

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
You were a fun group to have and I am glad it went well for you. The hot tub is meant to have a capacity of 7 but it seemed there were sometimes a few more than that in it!!! I am not sure what we could have done to merit 5 star reviews, but maybe you are just very hard to please ladies. Maybe Dunoon wasn't up to coping with you??? Look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for coming.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miasmummy
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing house-clean, warm, spacious & very well equipped-Great for a big crowd.”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

17 of us stayed at The Mill House at the weekend for a girls weekend away. All the girls were blown away by how beautiful the house was when we first arrived. Ian who looks after the house met us within a couple hours of arriving & made us all feel welcome & safe. We cooked the first night & everything we needed was there including 2 fridges, freezers, dishwashers & ovens. There was loads of room for everyone to chill out & relax. The hot tub was great, was very well maintained & stayed warm all weekend. Well worth the £70 extra charge. The bedrooms were all clean with towels & robes. Some of the beds were bunks which were cosy but this is well documented in the house description & like it says-the bedrooms are for sleeping only. The rest of the house has plenty of room for everyone to spread out if they want to. The surrounding area is beautiful and the house is surrounded by trees & a stream. The only thing to be aware of is there are no shops or takeaways within walking or delivery distance so if you plan to be there for the whole weekend you really need to have everything with you. We finished off the weekend with a very relaxed late check out and didn't have to leave until 1pm, which was great for the drivers.
I've already highly recommended this house to several people & would love to come back here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FG007
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice holiday in the mill house ; however....”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Now that we had a chance to reflect on our holiday in the Argyll, here is our feedback:
Many positive points but mainly:
· Iain and Marie: very friendly and reliable. Although the water was off for couple of hours, Iain brought us drinking water to a large party!!
· Spacious cottage and beautiful sceneries. In addition to the bicycles available on site.
· The hot tub is a must (felt like heaven!!) with gas BBQ facilities.

Suggested areas of improvements:

· Communication and organisation: had to send payment details three times and no receipt or confirmation when payment is received.
· MIDGES: be aware if you are a person who gets mosquito bites (repellents, antihistamine cream, antihistamine pills, even steroids needed to a member of our group with more than 100 bites in one body!!)
· Finally: game room and swimming pool. The pool table downstairs (damp and smelly), the table tennis upstairs (not enough room and ball escaping down stairs) and the swimming pool (green stains on wall).

In summary, it’s a very nice place and we would definitely recommend it. We would go there again.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
We are glad that your experience was positive overall, and are very grateful you have taken the time to let us know the few negatives as well. I am sad that anything stopped the holiday from being perfect. The midges vary from season to season and year to year - last year we had a colony of bats that ate them all! Some people react badly to them, and others don't - all we know is that there many worse places in Argyll for them, as we are not particularly cursed!!! We will include more advance warning. We do describe our games cottage as "scruffy and old" on the website. Concerned by your comments on the swimming pool and we will get that put right. We will also rig something up to make the games cottage ball drop a less consistent problem, now that you have mentioned it!!! Our staff team do their best to keep everything tip top and perfect around the year, obviously. So glad you enjoyed the holiday and appreciated their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elspeth H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect venue, rain or shine!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We rented this venue for a large group of friends and family. Prior to the stay the owners were really good at keeping regular contact and answering questions about the venue.
The house itself was perfect for a large group with a seperate sitting room that, had we had children with us, they could have used.
Bedrooms were smaller in size but comfy and, given that we weren't planning on spending much time in them they did the job.
We had use of the hot tub, which again, is great in rain or shine. We also used the swimming pool and the games room outside. Again, both great for our needs.
The facilities were modern and everything that we needed was there, we were self catering for 20 people and even though we brought our own slow cookers with us, they even have a double slow cooker on site. We need not have brought any additional utensils with us as it was really well stocked.
Everyone really enjoyed the stay, it wasn't sunny the whole time we were there but the house and the facilities around it made up for the weather.
There were two staff on grounds who we saw each day, but didn't feel that they were checking up on us and they were relaxed.
Would recommend for future use.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall experience, although our friends added to that!
Liked least: nothing really... it was all very good!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 1,047
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing