We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great 3 days spent in comfort”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
108 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
john c
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great 3 days spent in comfort”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A great service was provided when we arrived, the house was in pristine condition and we were allowed a lot of freedom from the word go. There was plenty to do including a swimming pool, hot tub, and plenty of space with great scenery in the surrounding areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roisin M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Beautiful location and lovely, modern, spacious house, would recommend to anyone who wants a quiet holiday away

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr0ssi
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent trip”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We recently went as a group of 18-20 year old students. We had a great time and the house was excellent, it had everything we needed and great facillities. We particularly enjoyed the hot tubs and the mazey walks in the woods. The downstairs space was perfect for socializing and there was plenty of room upstairs to do your own thing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge downstairs living/kitchen/dining area
Liked least: The deposit arrangements
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew128...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent, but a few improvements could be made.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The Good:

The Mill House was overall, an excellent holiday for our large group. The open plan downstairs level looked fantastic upon entry. Everything was great about that, the living area with the television and full sky package was also excellent. Additionally, there was plenty of storage for 22 people to eat for 4 days and store all their food, which was ideal. All the guests in our group also stated that the beds were very comfortable and the rooms nice and clean. The sauna was a great touch. Also, the location of the mill house was excellent, the grounds were beautiful and the area looked great. The House was amazingly modern and you could tell loads of work has went in to it. It really was lovely to look at you felt you were living in top-end accommodation whilst you were there. Also, we paid a very good price of £1895 for the 4 nights, which between 21 people was a great price- this would definitely make us come back! Generally, the house was 5* and the owners were very accommodating and helpful when we needed something. The second living room located upstairs and the other sitting room downstairs were all excellent locations for people if they wanted some quite time. Overall, the Mill House was excellent and we would say that we would come back.

The Not So Good.
However, there were some areas in which the owner's could make improvements. Firstly, the hot tub. We felt that the hot tub was not maintained well as it lost heat after one day and we were actually told to use the other house's hot tub- thankfully it was not booked. We paid an additional £90 for the maintenance of this hot tub for the four days and we feel that this was not fully exercised. Also, the refrigerators in the houses were not working great. People were keeping stuff in the freezer and it was about as cold as a standard fridge. We had a few milks that went spoiled but it wasn't a big issue whatsoever. The only other problem I could think of which seems minor is that the oven dials and knobs have no markings on them, they have faded, so it is almost impossible to know when the oven or grill is on, or what temperature it is at etc. Finally, the only other problem was the midges, whilst we are totally aware that this is out-with the control of the owner's, there was a terrible amount, the guys in out party tried to have a game of footy in the grounds and it lasted 5 minutes, they were everywhere.


Despite these very minor problems, everyone had and absolutely fantastic time, the owner's could not of been nicer and the house was amazing. It was wonderful, just a few little pointers to make it that wee bit special. The actual house is 5* but those minor little problems were a slight inconvenience. Anyway, stay at Mill House- You'll love it.

N.B- Thanks for letting us stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming yet luxury feel of the house.
Liked least: The poor maintenance of the Hot tub.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thanks for the positive review. We are pleased you think of us as 5 star - which isn't what we ever claim for ourselves!!!! I am glad you appreciated the space and the standards of cleanliness. In terms of the wee reservations you put down, we have had the hot tubs serviced and bought new lids. The oven markings have been re-engraved, and the fridges and freezers replaced. The midges are better than they were as we have a colony of bats eating a million a day (but we cant guarantee they will stay!!) we look forward to welcoming you back - though maybe not at quite the same rock-bottom price!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaMacC...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Hen party weekend July 2013”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Lovely place, plenty of room for us all, great facilities although swimming pool was out of order. Great downstairs area for communal dining and the hot tub was fab, didn't have to leave the estate all weekend. Would love to return!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Pleased you enjoyed it. Swimming pool now open!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 1,053
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing