We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous property in a stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property
Luxury, comfort and style in Eilean Dhu.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury, comfort and style in Eilean Dhu.
Luxury open plan living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Luxury, comfort and style in Eilean Dhu.
Luxury open plan living room
Cosy wood burning stove
Spectacular viewsd from balcony.
Open plan dining for 10 guests
Entrance hall
Luxury king bedroom with ensuite
Luxury king bedroom with ensuite
King bedroom
Twin bedroom
Lovely enclosed gardens with views
Outside enclosed gardens
The famopus Colintraive pub within easy walking distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Colintraive, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
iamwedgie
Maidenhead
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous property in a stunning location”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from spending a long weekend in Colintraive staying at the Eilean Dhu house. It's a lovely property in a great location. Patricia, who also runs the Colintraive Hotel, has done a great job of tastefully furnishing the house and it was a great place for my family to stay whilst in the area for my son's wedding. As we didn't want to cater for ourselves and had other family members staying in the hotel I arranged with Patricia for us to have breakfast at the hotel, but the house is fully equipped and you could very easily have a completely self contained stay in the house. It has 4 bathrooms, so it should be easy to keep yourself clean! There's a TV, PlayStation, WiFi and board games, if you need them. But most of all there are the great views. Watch the sheep, get woken by the sheep, stare past the sheep across the water to Bute. Just lose yourself in the serenity of the area.

We also dined in the hotel a couple of times, see separate reviews.

We felt really welcomed and would not hesitate to go back. It was a special weekend for us as a family and the quality of the accommodation and the warmth of the welcome helped to make that even more so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic upstairs living space
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine D
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect House in a perfect location”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from a long weekend stay to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday, the house was amazing, the living room is upstairs with a great view. The bedrooms are on the ground floor, décor is superb throughout and the enclosed garden makes it safe for children and pets. The colintraive hotel is a minutes walk with amazing food and great staff who couldn't do enough for you, we will certainly be going back to this wee gem !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Eilean Dhu Country House. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie and Iain... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isablue66
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A stunning house”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a weekend here to celebrate my sister's 40th birthday and it was perfect from start to finish. The house was just beautiful, so clean and tastefully decorated. It just had a lovely 'feel' to it. The bedrooms were spacious with gorgeous crisp bed linen and so comfortable. It was an ideal place for the whole family to get together to celebrate this special occassion. The living room area was so roomy, more than enough space for us all to enjoy a boogie! We all enjoyed every second we spent there, we were sad to leave. We also ate at the hotel right next door and the food was delicious. All and all, we found this is a brilliant place to go for our special family get together, a special memory in a special house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Eilean Dhu Country House and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jl21675
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Fantastic stay here for 60th birthday surprise. Beautiful house with breathtaking views. Everything we needed was available - dinner in Hotel one night was excellent. Patricia is a lovely friendly host and nothing was too much trouble - we'll be back next year definitely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed Eilean Dhu and the beautiful surrounds. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrionac...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay - couldn't fault it - exceptional place, food and welcome”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed with my parents, adult children and cousin from New Zealand. A party of 8 in all. For my parents it was a very special trip since they were born and grew up in the village. From the first phone call Patricia the owner couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The house is stunning, warm, comfortable, spacious, immaculately clean and appointed with absolutely everything needed for a great break. We ate dinners in the hotel and can thoroughly recommend it for quality of fresh Scottish seafood and produce, fantastic service, welcome and surroundings. Patricia went to great lengths to make our stay special, rounding up old friends to meet my parents and even recommending and excellent eateries for our journey home to Ayrshire. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location, lovely property, friendly welcome
Liked least: can't fault anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Please spread the word.
Management at Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing