We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A stunning place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bridge cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castledawson, Magherafelt, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Karima G
Isleworth
1 review
“A stunning place to stay! ”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Stayed here with our 4 year old twins. Travelling with twins is difficult however made so much easier by Robin and his lovely family. The cottage is stunning, we loved the aga, fireplace and layout of the bedroom. It felt like home from home. Robin was equally as welcoming and had the fire lit for us each night. His dogs were super friendly and the kids loved every minute of our stay. We will definitely be back again before the year is out.

Thanks for having us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenandChe...
Simcoe, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Robin goes above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable and content. We loved the location for our visit with our only regret we didn't have enough time to enjoy the beautiful gardens and a nightcap in the gazebo. Thank you so much robin for making this trip for our daughter's wedding that much more special. We plan a return visit in the future and will definitely keep this quaint cottage at the top of our list!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was as we could imagine
Liked least: There were no negative points
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I thought we weren't allowed nice things...”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely warm welcome, beautiful garden right beside a river (and bridge) and the cottage itself is done up to a top-notch spec. I thought we weren't allowed nice things in NI?!

I've been to fair few holidays homes around Ireland, and I can safely say this is by far the best. Modern amenities, huge comfortable bed and roaring fire with plenty of fuel. The garden as well is immaculate, with a hidden away glasshouse at the top with riverside views.

Our host, Robin, was very friendly, great craic and provided us with a good deal of local knowledge and history. Have no hesitation is recommending this to anyone. I'm really struggling to find something to improve upon! Sadly it was all too short-lived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
444Ann
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beter than a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay could not have been better! Julie, Robin and Ben made us feel welcomed the moment we came thru the gate. The garden was breath taking beautiful with many paths winding around and leading down to a gazebo that overlooked the river. There was a fire already going when we arrive . The cottage was decorated in the highest standard. The comfortable bed had an electric heater and fine bed linens with piles of pillow. The kitchen had everything need to make fine meals, even a blender. The cottage location was conveniently located to visit all of northern Ireland. The best part of our stay was Robin. We skipped one day of our touring to stay and walk the village and soak up history lessons from Robin, This was the best stay we have had in our 15 years of travel. Thanks Robin for the memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjo-hawke...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I stayed here for a weekend on my anniversary with my boyfriend and we loved it! Cottage is very cosy and Robin is lovely, friendly man! He goes the extra mile for you! Would recommend!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing