We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A History Lesson and Beautiful Grounds!

This place is simply a "must do" if you are in the Fort Morgan peninsula/Gulf Shores area. The fort... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jay B
,
Fairhope, Alabama
Great vacation time!

The hours spent at the fort were very interesting. The view from the top is beautiful. They have a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
469judyd
,
Elizabethtown, United States
via mobile
Read all 851 reviews
  
Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
851 results
Traveller rating
411
311
100
25
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
311
100
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews civil war mobile bay small museum history buff dauphin island self guided tour gulf shores gift shop lots of history great site steep steps entrance fee love history worth the trip two hours great place to visit ferry ride
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 851 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This is a must see for any history buff or veteran. The museum is great, lots of neat exhibits that has something for everyone. You can explore the fort on your own pace.

Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

So much to look at. Has a great view of the gulf and Mobile Bay. Museum/gift shop had a lot of interesting items to look at and learn about.

1  Thank amyfigs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

If you have a few extra hours to kill, go see Ft. Morgan. We happened to be staying nearby and decided to visit. We all enjoyed it including my 9 year old grandson. The tour is self-guided and sometimes it's difficult to figure out what is what, but it's still well preserved and interesting to see.

Views from the top of the fort are awesome as it sits on the water. Wear comfy shoes as there is some climbing.

I do have a question that I can't seem to find an answer to - what were the tracks for?? I'm guessing for carts carrying things but would like to know!

1  Thank AnnieNBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy H, Social Media Coordinator at Fort Morgan State Historic Site, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

The tracks were to deposit a 1600 lb shell into Battery Duportail's magazine. A small narrow-gauge train was used for the process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Only 20 miles from Gulf Shores, this is an easy diversion from the beach if you have a cloudy day. There is also a car ferry from Fort Morgan to Fort Gaines on the other side of Mobile Bay. Fort Gaines is smaller but also worth the trip. Look at the website for Fort Morgan to arrive for a free guided tour (free after paying the entrance fee). The tour of Fort Morgan takes about an hour and looking around the rest of the big fort and its museum takes about another hour (or more). There are remnants of the rails that carried carts of ammunition from the magazine supply to the various cannons. To get to all the cannons, a turntable was used which fit all four wheels of a cart (see pictures)
I was not satisfied by many of the explanations of fort terminology given in any of the several books I referred to, so I wrote my own summary and that typed sheet is with the pictures.
"Tacky Jacks 2" and "Sassy Bass" are good lunch stops on the Fort Morgan road (Route 180).

2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This is a good place to visit while you are on vacation at the beach. It’s a good place to wonder around and explore the different area.

Thank uabericm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews