We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect relaxation all in one place.”

Review of Cae Du

Cottage and patio, with the BBQ handy and out side dining table and chairs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage and patio, with the BBQ handy and out side dining table and chairs
Looking up at the house Bedroom with en-suite, with balcony overlooking the river and woods beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Cottage and patio, with the BBQ handy and out side dining table and chairs
Looking up at the house
Bedroom with en-suite, with balcony overlooking the river and woods beyond
Double bedroom with Queen sized bed
Dining for Twelve
Large country kitchen with adjacent utility room
Entrance Hallway
The larger of the 2 lounges with TV HI FI and WI FI
River beneath the cottage with a riverside walk within the grounds
The riverside walk in the garden
The riverside walk in the garden
The river pool at the bottom of the garden in the winter
The river pool in the Spring
Walking the garden
summer house
Walking The garden
walking the garden
View of Cae Du from the hills above
Autumn view on the coastal path
A winters view from the Snowdon path
A view from the Llandudno cable car
Spring in The National Trusts Bodnant Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maldives1...
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect relaxation all in one place.”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent, well equipped cottage, really appreciated the tea bags, sugar and milk after a long journey from Kent. We were only a group of 6 adults and 2 children so they decided to bedroom hop constantly throughout the holiday, what a lovely privilege.
Grounds are fantastic and well kept by a really nice gardener, who does his best to stay out of your way. We all enjoyed the river, the men for attempting to fish (unsuccessfully) the ladies and children just for boating and fun.
My only frustration is around the fishing, as this is something we believed came with the cottage, we were a bit surprised when we had to pay for a fishing permit, especially since none of us were fishermen and we caught nothing.. My only other concern was the lack of a tumble dryer, considering the typical Welsh weather, this really would have helped.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to make this review, and delighted that you had a good stay. Sorry if the fishing cost was not clear, we do try and make it so on the information given the fishing rights belong to a fishing organiation and not to Cae Du. We will try and make this more obvious. Regard the tumble dryer, we have in its place a dehumidifier, and explain in the information that this can be used for drying cloths, it works well but admittedly not as quick as a tumble dryer. This may be something we add in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous garden”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

It's a lovely, spacious, comfortable house but the best part of our stay was the amazing garden. It's huge! It was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had mainly due to the fact we were totally at ease about the dogs being safely enclosed in such a beautiful space. We were blessed with gorgeous weather and spent most of our stay on the patio enjoying the view and strolling around the gardens and along the riverside walk at the bottom of the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
The weather sometime can be the "icing on the cake" delighted you had a good week, thanks also for the comment on the garden, it has taken us some years to get where we are now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to choose
Liked least: The week went too quickly!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
Thank you fro visiting us again, we are delighted you have another enjoyable stay, thank you again for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jenreb123
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous New Year”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

What a house!!! Twelve members of our family arrived on a very cold evening from various parts of the country to find this beautiful, huge house. On entering it was so warm which was very much appreciated as it was quite frosty outside. Lovely flowers in the hallway too.
We all chose our rooms which were beautifully done and as organiser of the trip and main cook for the week got to have the best bedroom upstairs. It was huge with a fabulous en-suite. After our evening meal we were all so excited for the next day to see the view from the house as we arrived in the dark. My goodness we were not disappointed! Everywhere was frosty white as it had been a bitterly cold night, the river below was breath taking and the scenery was stunning. We couldn't wait to get out to explore with everyone including Maisie our Labrador.
The whole house is very well equipped and beautifully furnished and we wanted for nothing. The weather was kind to us except for one day when it was quite wet and windy and it was spectacular to see the river thundering past at a rapid rate.
It was certainly one of the best family celebrations we have had and we all said we would definitely return next New Year but sadly it has already been booked!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your compliment's on your stay at Cae Du, we are of course delighted, it is so nice to get together with family especially at Christmas and New Year. Thank you for leaving the house so tidy and sorry are booked for next new year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Polly and I are so pleased you found Cae Du to be the right place to stay over Christmas, only sorry you did not get any snow, which if not too much is a lot nicer than rain. Thank you for taking the time to write you kind review.
A very Happy new Year to you and your family too
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;