We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
138
45
10
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
45
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering tasty breakfast an enjoyable stay wonderful view a great stay braai area lapa area one night coffee bar indian ocean on arrival garden route facilities cupboard fridge accommodation establishment
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Ilita Lodge for one night on our way from Cape Town to Knysna. What a hidden gem - the new owners were so friendly and welcoming.

We (family of 2 adults, 3 children) stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment, which was really spacious. 1 double-bed room, 1 twin-bed room and a sofa bed for the third child (in the bedroom). Also a roomy living area, with kitchen, sofas, tv - and a braai outside.

The views were breathtaking and we didn't want to leave to find a restaurant elsewhere, so sat on the lovely hotel terrace for the evening. The kids had a dip in the pool and drank milkshakes. We had delicious wine, then ordered the tasty platters - salami, biltong, pate, local cheeses, olives - perfect. Breakfast was also very good. If we had the opportunity again, we'd definitely stay for longer - it would make a great base to explore places of interest around the Great Brak River area.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank ClaireSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P, Guest Relations Manager at Ilita lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely, detailed review! There is nothing better for us than when guests are able to enjoy Ilita as much as we do. We would love for you to stay with us again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

The lodge is absolutely beautiful, overlooking Groot Brakrivier. The service was very good - the lodge welcomed so well. The cottage/appartment was clean,big and quiet. I really recommend this lodge to spend quality time with friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ugo71549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P, Guest Relations Manager at Ilita lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would reccommend us to others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Michael and Heather has something special going at Illita Lodge. We enjoyed the hospitality and the efforts to ake us feel at home for the few days we stayed over. We loved it and would highly recommend Illita Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jpswart2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P, Guest Relations Manager at Ilita lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2016

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you agree that Ilita just has that 'something special'! One of our main aims is for our guests to feel at home at Ilita Lodge which makes your comment so wonderful! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

The room was super, large, modern, with a (quiet) refrigerator and flat screen TV met vele zenders, lovely view from the balcony, and really good WIFI! The owners and personnel were very friendly and the good breakfast was served in a lovely room with view (with good weather outside). There was just nothing not to like here!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank akerst_616658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Ilita lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. It so good to be able to "get it right"
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Very nice hotel! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The view is amazing. The hotel is located on a hill and is very private. Great breakfast! Nice restaurant with platters and sandwiches. Pool and gym. Very good rate for a double room. Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christianM3892KX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Ilita lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

It was a pleasure to host you. We are constantly doing more to create an even better holiday destination. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews