We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
48
48
11
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
48
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evening meal beautiful village sunday lunch mid wales the pub great food and service old building nice dinner olde world roast beef pie small hotel bank holiday weekend a lovely stay staff were welcoming popular with the locals on arrival
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Talbot Inn for Sunday lunch. An olde worlde, cosy and no doubt historic hostelry in the beautiful village of Berriew. We were greeted by a smiling and friendly young lady behind the bar who served us our drinks and another lady who I would assume to be the landlady was on hand too not only running the lunch but serving as well. I had garlic mushrooms to start and my wife had cauliflower cheddar soup. Very nice indeed. We both had the roast beef for mains with lots of nicely cooked vegetables. No room for desserts, which I must say looked wonderful when we saw other diners eating them!
All in all, a lovely lunch served by friendly, courteous staff in a convivial atmosphere. Will go again. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank saddlersswifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Ordered the Beef and Ale Pie and Lamb Shanks. Both meals very tasty, with loads of vegetables. Hit the spot after hours driving from north Wales, and we both had the flu. Good value fiir mpney as well.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Hoopsmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We always eat here when we visit the lodges at lunch time.
They welcome dogs which is a real boon for us as we have 2 with us .

The food is very good just normal pub fair with lovely fish and chips and a great cottage pie.

Very nice staff who always remember us and are very warm and friendly. the restaurant is very nice and popular with the locals who seem to return there on a regular basis .

Give it a try its well worth a visit

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Donpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Great welcome with pleasant staff. Comfort and clean rooms. Very much enjoyed the breakfast setting up for the day. Great value if eating in, with no chance of you feeling empty. Getting down to brass tacks - a very enjoyable visit and will be returning in the very near future.

Room tip: just enjoy the atmosphere
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

The family often stop off for bar snacks at the Talbot which offer great value for money and are always very nice. It's been quite a while since we had a full meal out however.

My sister and her husband were over from Australia and we were telling them about how nice the local steaks were and decided to have a steak dinner at the Talbot.

Three of us had fillet steak all cooked differently, and two had sirloin. Every steak was cooked to perfection, with a generous portion of vegetables and crispy onion rings. The fresh local meat used was absolutely gorgeous, the Stilton and pepper sauces were very good too. my sister had been in the UK for 5 weeks and she said it was the best meal they had enjoyed since being in the UK.

Sweets are all home made and were really good too.

Waiting staff as always were very attentive and extremely helpful, Thanks Jackie and all the staff for a really nice dinner.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Darrell999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews