We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
18
3
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
3
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the atlantic ocean falling asleep crashing waves grouper fingers the cottages pink sand olga clarke spaced bedroom privacy tranquility miles meals island beach
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We spent a day at the Ocean Dream while staying at Hawk's Nest on Cat Island. Dr. Clarke was a wonderful host and the views are incredible. She cooked us a fantastic Bahamian lunch after we spent the morning enjoying the big Atlantic waves crashing onto the pink sand beach. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean D, General Manager at The Ocean Dream Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you! We're glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

It was the beautiful pictures of the Ocean Dream Beach cottages on a hill overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic Ocean that first caught my attention. And immediately made me interested in booking with Ocean Dream Beach Resort. My husband and I to this day have not regretted choosing them for our perfect getaway in Cat Island.

We were looking for a place where we were able to have privacy, and get away from it all. And we got exactly the type of off the grid, romantic holiday we wanted during our stay. You have to drive down a long dirt road to get the resort, but the incredible views of the lush green hills on one side and the cottages overlooking one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen was definitely worth the drive.

Our air-conditioned cottage was one –bedroom including kitchen, living room and bathroom. We had a back porch that had lounge chairs where we were able to take In the views of the beach. There was a full-service restaurant at the resort where the owner Ms. Olga made sure we were well-taken care of. She made us feel so welcome, and took the time out to make sure we received the personal touch at her resort. Her hospitality was unforgettable. She was ever cheerful and ready to help us or give us tip on where to go and what to do on Cat Island. We even got a complimentary meal when we were leaving. It was our first trip to Cat Island, and thanks to Ms. Olga and her beautiful resort, it will definitely not be our last!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank islanddilly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Would you enjoy falling asleep to and awakening to the sounds of the ocean waves crashing and breaking below you? Are you tired of the hustle and bustle of the city and crave a very relaxed pace? Does the thought of a secluded beach with miles of pink sand appeal to you? If you answered a resounding Yes to all three (3) questions, start packing your bags for the Ocean Dream Resort. You will be pleasantly surprised to discover that there are a total of 6 beach cottages. There are 3 one-bedroom cottages and 3 two-bedroom cottages. They are proportionate in size and distance between each cottage. There is a dirt road that lead to the property that is about a 10 minute drive. The cottages and club house is situated on a very high hill. The owner of this dream retreat is Dr. Olga Clarke. She is the epitome of the famed Bahamian hospitality. Her warm and inviting nature will have you feeling right at home. Especially when she starts adopting you into her family and referring to you as her grandchild. Dr. Clarke or Grammy Olga as I affectionately referred to her during my stay is also quite the chef extraordinaire. She prepared native dishes such as grouper fingers, stew fish and crab soup so be prepared to dine sumptuously with generous island size portion meals. The privacy of the property is ideal for couples, small wedding party, small men, women, marriage, family or staff retreat. If you are seeking to become more attuned with nature or your travel partner/group without the usual daily distractions, then the Ocean Dream Resort in Cat Island is awaiting your arrival.

Room Tip: All of the cottages have an ocean view. However, the one bedroom cottages are closer to the Club House and also closer beach access.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We found ourselves on Cat Island without a place to stay but definitely had some angels looking out for us. We were brought to Ocean Dream by one of them and never looked back. The two-bedroom unit was plenty of space for our family of four to totally relax and unwind. The view and sounds of crashing waves from the ocean-facing bedroom window and from the living area can't be beat!

Olga, our hostess, couldn't have been more accommodating to our situation. She took us in, fed us a true Bahamian meal, and even chauffeured us back to get our rental car. She was charming and a true representative of all the goodness Cat Island has to offer.

Olga's dog even adopted our family for the time we were there allowing us to miss our own canine less.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ginny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

More beachside efficiency cottages than a resort given the lack of amenities. If you are looking to get off the grid, you've found a home with as no internet and limited power (generator and panels, not island power) makes you feel quite rustic and isolated. Accommodations are basic and food is only available if pre-ordered in advance from the helpful all-in-one owner/manager/hostess/cook/repairperson. Keep in mind that this side of the island is also quite windy so you might consider the west or south for more calm. For transportation, you'll definitely need a car. All in all, not the most terrible option ... though there are much better options available on Cat Island for the money.

Room Tip: Test everything in your room as not all amenities work or are maintained.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PinUpBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews