We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dundee Bay Villas(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$ 178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 170
US$ 106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 365
US$ 159
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$ 122
US$ 119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$ 182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dolphin Cove(Freeport)
US$ 210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Channel Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$ 164
US$ 124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/08
US$ 111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 386
US$ 343
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
163
272
160
94
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
272
160
94
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up bargrocery storefree rum punchfull kitchenfish frywelcome centerawesome poolon site restaurantferry ridebon firelaid backrented a carthe resort offersjust returned from a weekjet skiglass bottom boat tourwest end
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We stayed a week at the Taino Beach Marlin. Our one bedroom condo, first floor, near office and pool, exceeded expectations. Very clean, roomy, plenty of towels, stocked kitchen, ok tv reception (great US news channels), no DVD player, no housekeeping. We actually were able to get wifi in our whole condo, as well as on the patio area. The band width is not capable of streaming, and if you try to log on at peak time (in bedroom), you may have trouble. But those were easy work arounds. Hot water was scare Wed around 5pm, but it may have been everyone getting ready to go to Smith's Point for the dinner and music. Otherwise, no problems at all. We actually did not use the pool, but it looked awesome. I would totally recommend the Marlin.
RENT A CAR. Roads are not crowded and it's easy to drive on the left side of the road. City/Island maps are available at the resort, and I did not use my cell navigation at all. There are only a handful of "main roads" so it's hard to get lost. The Taino resort area is VERY quiet. Renting a car and being able to explore at our leisure is what made the trip. I read the reviews and knew to expect a fairly quiet island. Still, it's the most sedate place we've vacationed.
PLACES TO EAT: I loved getting breakfast at Solomon's grocery store each morning (only served Mon-Fri/get there at 7:30 or risk sell outs). Great price, homemade, mix with the local people. Lunch: Banana Bay, Garden of the Groves, Daddy Brown's Conch Shack. Dinner: Flying Fish (very excellent) and at Smith's Point on Wednesday night (great food and music). Really good pizza at Marco's next to Solomon's grocery store.
FAST FOOD: there are several Wendy's, Subways, Burger King, Kentucky Fried, Pollo Tropical.
GROCERIES: Alcohol is very reasonable. Food and toiletries are about 30% to 40% higher here than where I live in upstate NY. Like most grocery stores, there are deals and specials. Solomon's is the main grocery store. There are two Solomon's. Only the one "everyone" goes to has breakfast. Both are really the same, but I like the one that's always recommended best (Seahorse Road). Cost-Less on East Mall Drive is like a Costco or Sam's Club (no membership needed). Save Mor Drugs is the BEST place for toiletries, snacks, anything a Walgreen or CVS would carry (very reasonable prices). It's on East Mall Drive, also. Don't overlook places like Save Mor Drugs for snacks. Better prices than Solomon's. Get the local Freeport News newspaper to see where specials are, especially produce. On that note: I could not find a US newspaper of any sort, anywhere.
SHOPPING: Port Lucaya Marketplace is very touristy. Lots of happy hour specials, jewelry places, small stores with souvenirs. It took me maybe a half day to explore every shop. There are NO "boutique areas" anywhere on the island. Do not expect to "go to the mall" and look around. The International Market is CLOSED. Casinos are CLOSED. Many resorts CLOSED. Town Center is primarily administrative buildings. This is NOT the island on which to "go shopping".
THINGS TO DO: Snorkeling at Paradise Cove. Take your rental care and rent the equipment there. Easy swim, water does warm up as you get closer to reef. We saw two large sea turtles, lots of coral and fish. Easy for kids and adults. If you are not driving and taking the tour bus way, bring a lock to use for the lockers.
Again, if you have a car, go explore the east end of the island. The parks are nice to explore. The beaches are FABULOUS. Waters are turquoise color, very shallow and the sand is powdery. The west end (driving to Paradise Cove) can seem sketchy. In the town of Freeport there is a movie theater with current movies.
Overall, I really enjoyed our trip. It was more "quiet" than I expected, even after reading the various reviews. I would recommend to plan accordingly, especially if you have kids that need to stay busy.

Room Tip: MARLIN building, ground floor, one bedroom condo, near office, facing pool.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caran Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Taino Beach Resort & Clubs, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor posting regarding your experience at Taino Beach Resort and all the great suggestions for other travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

The pool and the beach was great! One of the best we saw. However, the rooms were constructed cheaply and were run down. The hotel staff wasn't always where they said they would be when. For example, we wanted to book an Island Tour and it took us two days to connect with the person who was supposed to book that for us. The rum punch in the lobby was a nice touch! We loved the Grotto Bar and appreciated the Ferry Ride and Grocery Run options.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
2  Thank DaciaBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Taino Beach Resort & Clubs, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for staying at the Taino Beach Resort & Clubs. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We loved this resort, and spent most of our time enjoying the Beach and Lazy River pool. There were some odd things about the unit, but we were very comfortable. We cooked most of our meals and found the kitchen well-supplied. We ate once in the restaurant, and found it very good. Grand Bahama island has suffered some hurricane damage, and the Casino in nearby Port Lacaya was closed, so if you are looking for night life, this is not the place. But if you just want to spend some time in the sun, this is a great resort.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
3  Thank Sheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Taino Beach Resort & Clubs, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post your experiences during your stay with us. We appreciate candid feedback such as yours to help us pinpoint and manage all the details of our amazing little slice of Paradise! Until we see you again in Grand Bahama! Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

this resort is nice and clean and step away from the beach. the rooms are tired but you are there for the beach and the weather not for the room. take the grocery shuttle to get groceries and beverages. you are paying high island prices for groceries and restaurants. the beach bonfire is fun and worth it. i highly recommend smiths fish fry on taino beach on wednesday night. on the same road to the fish fry. there is a mom and pop restaurant called Da Bus Stop that i highly recommend. great food and inexpensive. we took the cave tour and it was a complete dissapointment. there was really nothing to see. the pool is great and shuts down at 6 so the resort is nice and quiet. recommend taking the water shuttle over to port lucaya to shop and zorbas and agave have good but pricey food. there is not much else around the resort, so if you are looking for activity and excitement this is not your resort. if you are looking for a nice hanging out relaxing beach vacation, this resort is for you.

Stayed: March 2018
4  Thank traveljunkie612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Taino Beach Resort & Clubs, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for staying at the Taino Beach Resort & Clubs. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

The staff at Taino Beach are very friendly and helpful. The resort has an incredible pool/grotto area with ample pool chairs and hammocks. The beach is clean with fine white sand. Perfect for walking. The hotel rooms are clean and roomy. We had a basic room with small kitchenette no stove but didn’t need it. Since this is not an all inclusive resort we would suggest bringing some cereals. We brought a box of Cheerios to avoid eating out every morining. Went to the local store and the same box of Cheerios was $12.49! Prices are a lot higher on the island but it’s to be expected since “everything” has to be shipped in. We bought milk OJ bagels spread chips and a few small items. Spent $27 but after a week. Saved probably $100 over eating out for breakfast. Lunches for 2 typically run around $30. We would normally take the water shuttle over to the port lucaya marketplace for dinner. Spent another $100 for dinner on average. The resort had activities but we were too busy running around the island most of the week the rest of the time we just relaxed pool side. Went in early March. The weather was too cold around 70 to really enjoy the water but then we avoided a lot of crowds going then. The grotto offers solid drinks. You get what you pay for with a good happy hour each day from 4-6. Stop by and enjoy. We enjoyed ourselves and had a very relaxing trip. If you are open to seeing the island we recommend asking for Chico as your taxi driver. He offers private tours and will show you parts of the island most tourists don’t go. Well worth it. Enjoy your stay. The island needs more tourists as they are still reeling from the last hurricane. People on the island are very friendly and welcoming. You won’t be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2018
2  Thank Wi2cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Taino Beach Resort & Clubs, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thanks for your Tripadvisor posting, relating to your recent experience here. We appreciate your kind statement regarding the staff.
Thank you for staying at the Taino Beach Resort & Clubs. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews